We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice home, wonderful garden”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice home, wonderful garden”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Moose Gardens for the last night of our 3-weeks-tour. The B&B has a wonderful garden with lots of beautiful flowers, and a great mountain view. We liked the Ivy Room, it was nicely decorated, a very good choice for the price. The breakfast was delicious, with salmon, ham and eggs, pancakes...much more than we could eat. The B&B is at a short distance from the airport and contrary to other people we did not hear any planes.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Konstanze H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at the Moose Gardens two separate days during our trip to Alaska. We stayed in the Ivy room the first night, and then in the Ocean Suite the second night. Considering the extremely affordable prices they charged us, we had a great experience. The hosts were gracious and helpful, and prepared nice breakfasts. They accommodated me as a vegetarian. My husband and I did enjoy the Ocean Suite better, and made use of the jet tub in the large bathroom. The room also had a great view. The Ivy room was acceptable. If I reviewed the two rooms separately, I would give the Ivy room 4 stars and the Ocean suite 5 stars. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, although my husband had a bit of an issue with the bed in the Ivy room. He is 6 ft tall and 240 lbs. The bed didn't quite give the support he needed.

Overall, great stay. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the suites over the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed three nights: 1 in the Bear Suite & 2 in the Bird Suite. If you are a stickler on privacy, the Bear Suite is better. Bathrooms are huge with two sinks. Balconies have beautiful views. The gardens are indescribable -- Marya has a passion for gardening, and it shows! I can't say enough about breakfast. Each morning was a new surprise -- EVERY dish was delicious. Garnett and Selena are great Alaskan chefs! We had to alter our plans due to weather, and Garnett was full of ideas. At this B&B, you feel like you are there as a personal houseguest. The family is 'artsy/craftsy' and there's always something going on. When we visited, they were getting ready for the State Fair. We enjoyed seeing Arnan's entries! If you want 'uppity,' this isn't your place. If you want creature comforts and a homey feel, you'll love it. Great Alaskan hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelover25Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our two stays at Moose Gardens anchored the start and finish of our three week Alaska adventure. Garnett and Marya (aka Sharky) Marrow were great hosts and gave us good local advice at the start of our trip. We stayed in the Bear room which features a king size bed, jacuzzi tub in the en-suite bath, walk-in closet and private balcony. Moose Gardens is located close to the airport, restaurants and a large grocery store where we could purchase the items we didn't want to pack for the start of our trip. Garnett loaned us a cooler that another guest had left behind which was very thoughtful and much appreciated. Garnett and daughter Salena cook incredible breakfasts. Both mornings featured fruit and yogurt parfaits and an egg dish plus pancakes one day, stuffed French toast the next. As a bonus, on our last day we were also served wild salmon patties. It's your fault if you leave hungry. We felt very welcome and will stay at Moose Gardens again if we are fortunate enough to return to Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta,Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I have to start off by saying the hosts Garnett and Sharky were very nice people and good hosts but we didnt enjoy our two nights here. We stayed in the Ocean suite. It is a huge room with a private balcony with incredible views of the mountains.We found the cleanliness of the room was not up to our standards. We found hairs in the shower, urine stains on the toilet bowl, and the jacuzzi tub had some green residue around the jets which was dissapointing as we were looking forward to using it. The house was huge and is filled with all manner of stuffed animals, The one side of the entire stairway is covered in stuffed moose and our room had stuffed sea creatures. Quirky but fun if you like stuffed animals. Our host really pushed for us to have breakfast at 8 am but after travelling around for a few weeks we just wanted to sleep in and opted for 9:30 instead. What we were served was the cold leftovers from 8 am and had to warm up the meal in the microwave. We opted out of breakfast the next morning. The other thing is that although the B&B is very convenient to the airport it is also directly under the flight route for departing flights and they are very loud and will wake you up at different times of the night. Although not terrible it wasnt great. I cant recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

What a great stay! You drive up a long drive that opens to a view of Marya’s beautiful gardens. Our room, the Ocean room, offered plenty or space and comfort. It had a large bath with double sinks. We had a deck with a very pretty view. Take time to catch an Alaska sunrise or sunset on the deck, and walk around the gardens. Marya and Garnett were delightful hosts, warm and friendly, with interesting stories. We were fortunate to meet their daughter, who had a delightful sense of humor. Garnett’s breakfasts were enjoyable - he treated us to many of his homemade Alaska specialties.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_and_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We recently stayed one night in the Bird Room which was large and comfortable with a lovely balcony with a magical view of the mountains.
Lack of WiFi was an inconvenience. Garnett did give us a recommendation for somewhere for an evening meal, namely The Long Branch Saloon, which was a great local experience with great food and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzGreyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
544 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Maria's Creekside B&B
#18 of 127 in Anchorage
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highland Glen Lodge
#15 of 127 in Anchorage
77 reviews
Ingra House
#76 of 127 in Anchorage
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Property: Moose Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6345 W Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, Alaska, Anchorage, AK 99502-3954
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Moose Gardens Bed And Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing