We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical, clean and comfortable place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arctic Adventure Hostel
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Economical, clean and comfortable place!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Having never stayed at hostels before, I was a little skeptic about how the place would turn out to be. But my opinion changed drastically after staying here for just a night! We were a group of three guys (including myself), looking for a place to stay in Anchorage for a night (around mid September in 2012). At less than $25 per night per person, this place was totally worth it! Joseph (the guy who owns the place) was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed to feel comfortable.
Our room had a capacity for three people (there was one separate cot, and a bunk bed). Although it was small, it was spacious enough for three and there was a shelf and a space with hangers below that (for our clothes). The sheets were all very clean, and the bathroom (common/shared) was spotless.
The atmosphere at the hostel was fantastic! We met a lot of people from different nationalities, and it was fun interacting with them. The kitchen was well stocked, and we were free to help ourselves to coffee/food whenever we felt like it.
We liked the place so much that we stayed there again (on our return from Fairbanks). If I visit Anchorage again, this is one place where I would definitely stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theonlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    36
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
46
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very pleasantly surprised what a nice place this was to stay in Anchorage and first time we ever stayed in a hostel. Very economical place for for wife as prices of Anchorage lodging quite pricey overall. Management requests you take off your shoes when walking about the property. Common kitchen area, bathrooms and showers very clean and well kept. Choose single room with double bed for my wife and I. Room small but adequate. Very helpful and polite staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 44statesandcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcticadventure, Owner at Arctic Adventure Hostel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thanks for the kind words and we are happy you enjoyed staying with us during your trip to Alaska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We reached at around 1am yet Tiffany was very nice and helpful. She spent some time with us answering all our questions and generally being very helpful. The rooms, kitchen and bathrooms were clean and cozy. The walls and floors are thin, so one had to be very quiet after hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrinalini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hostel is one of the cleanest I've ever stayed in. Well-stocked kitchen, courteous fellow travelers, and removed from downtown so relatively quiet outside. Stayed in a private triple room. Windows didn't have screens so we suffered a few bug bites but not too bad since it was late in the mosquito season. Overall an excellent hostel experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amalthea1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I booked a private room with a queen bed and was thrilled with the price. The rooms are a decent size with their own TV, and the very clean bathrooms are just across the hall. There is a large kitchen downstairs where you have total freedom to use as you please. The manager was extremely nice and she gave me a diet coke to settle my stomach as I had gotten sick while flying in. I've stayed in hostels all over the world, and this one was one of the most clean, most quiet, and most comfortable. It is also one of very few options in Anchorage to stay below 100$. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors, so be prepared for a few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

First time staying in a hostel. Thanks to trip advisor this was true to all the reviews..great place to stop over in Anchorage..very clean rooms and bathrooms. The caretaker Tiffany is a friendly girl with a fabulous personality. The price is excellent for this area. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Madjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed 3 nights and was provided a comfortable bed with clean linens. The shared bathroom was kept clean and well maintained. Overall, it was a good experience with welcoming staff and a great value compared to hotel prices in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scfivegrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
541 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
334 reviews
Midtown
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Adventure Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Adventure Hostel

Property: Arctic Adventure Hostel
Address: 337 W 33rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503-4706
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Quiet and Comfortable. Free Internet, Cable TV, well stocked 500 square foot kitchen, free storage, large chest freezer to store your fish, linens and towels provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arctic Adventure Hostel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing