We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arctic Adventure Hostel
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and spent the day in Anchorage. This is a great hostel! It was clean and comfortable. Before entering, you needed to take off your shoes, this was nice because it didn't track mud and other debris through the house, and kept the noise level down since people weren't tromping though in heavy hiking boots. :-) The owner was nice and very helpful. It's very conveniently located to everything. When we go back to Alaska next year, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcball2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcticadventure, Owner at Arctic Adventure Hostel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay here and I look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    36
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
45
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Rooms were clean and comfortable, bathrooms were spotless. Friendly owner is a great source of advice on Alaskan travel destinations, as well as activities in and around Anchorage. No problems for him to organise a taxi, or store stuff between stays. Within walking distance of downtown. Close to Wal-Mart's (supermarket) and REI (outdoor store), making resupply for the next leg of your adventure easy. Lots of take away restaurants nearby. This hostel is great value for money and highly recommended.

Room Tip: You will need to get a taxi from Anchorage airport, approximately $15. Check out the huge Barnes and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcticadventure, Owner at Arctic Adventure Hostel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay Matt and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hostel came highly recommended and it was easy to see why. A great price with clean and comfortable rooms to get over jet lag, spotless kitchen and bathrooms and a large and diverse "free food" shelf, secure bicycle storage and a friendly owner who clearly takes pride in his hostel. I would certainly stay here again the next time I am in Anchorage and have recommended it to people who plan to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Arctic is conveniently located two blocks from Walmart where you can pick up anything you may have forgotten. My family and I stayed here at the start of our trip and it was helpful to talk to Jeff and other travelers to gather some ideas. The bathrooms, room and interior are super clean. You have to take shoes off before entering the building which helps to keep it clean. I loved the huge kitchen where you can sit and hang out comfortably. Linens and towel are provided. Jeff was attentive and really helpful. I would recommend artic to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SportTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I spent a total of 5 nights here and was very happy with the room and the helpfulness of the staff. The hostel was always clean and well managed with good wifi. I walked everywhere and the airport is a reasonably priced taxi fare away

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks. It was our home base for 2 weeks of touring throughout Alaska. The rate was affordable. The room was sparse, but functional. The bed was comfortable. The hostel was exceptionally clean. The rules are posted. 2 large refridgerators are available for your food. Washers and dryers are available and for a reasonable price. The bathrooms have a shower, toilet and sink and were always clean. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, stove, oven, microwave, sink, etc. Tiffany did a fabulous job. Joseph was very hospitable. The hostel is centrally located in Anchorage and bus lines are within a block. There is a Walmart within 2 blocks. Restaurants are nearby. I highly recommend the Artic Adventure Hostel to anyone who is looking for a hostel environment in Anchorage.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal...depending on the number in your party...and affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USNavyVet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I started my long trip in Alaska in this hostel and I've always done here. Despite being cheap, it's clean, quiet, nice, neat, and convenient parking. The kitchen is spectacular. Thanks to Tiffany and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountainclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#7 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Adventure Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Adventure Hostel

Property: Arctic Adventure Hostel
Address: 337 W 33rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503-4706
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Quiet and Comfortable. Free Internet, Cable TV, well stocked 500 square foot kitchen, free storage, large chest freezer to store your fish, linens and towels provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Arctic Adventure Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arctic Adventure Hostel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing