We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as portrayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows
Ranked #22 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This B & B is not up to the standards of other B & B's we have enjoyed. My husband and I stayed in the lower level studio suite for three nights in June 2012. The website photo is misleading and outdated--the yard presently is totally overgrown and unkempt. Calling it an "Alaskan Prairie" does not excuse it. The lower entrance is dank and dark. We give credit for newer carpeting in the unit, but the furnishings are old, worn out and cluttered. The bed crammed into the corner smelled musty. It was depressing. The kitchenette is not usable in a practical sense. The breakfast offered was store purchased muffins presented in a tin (when was it last washed?), a few yogurts and a couple of unappealing apples. Instant coffee and powdered creamer showed expired dates by a couple years. The bathroom shower is newer and clean but the fixtures of the tiny sink are badly corroded. There is no place to set personal items without fear that they will fall onto the toilet plunger and the towels leave something to be desired. In addition the T.V. didn't work and the advertised fireplace sported a post-it note not to use it...only one of many post-it notes. We couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Adobe133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights at "Raspberry Meadows". We loved the sweet smell of flowers outside. The first night was in the Master--a rather small "eclecticly decorated" room where we shared a bath. The next night we moved to the basement in a lovely, spacious 2 bedroom unit, which was well worth the extra money. The beds were comfortable & everything we needed was conveniently there. We appreciated the instant oatmeal & hot chocolate packets--although there were also some muffins, cereal, etc. also. Marty was very friendly & helpful. Her two daughters, Annie & Beth, were very sweet. The location was perfect. In the evening we walked to the coastal trail & enjoyed the gorgeous weather (we're from Arizona!) & views. When I return to Alaska, I'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the 2 bedroom unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwynrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

i usually don't like to give bad reviews, but i must on this one, house smelled of cat urine, booked room 6 months in advance, ran my cc through upon making reservation, then did not have the room and private bath we were suppose to have. breakfast was in dark kitchen, milk had expired three weeks earlier, no contact with owner after check in, stuff just piled every place, very cluttered and dark. sorry to say had hard time finding place very much overgrown ( said to be natural)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three days at "Raspberry Meadows". Marty and her family are friendly, helpful hosts. Our walks in the lovely neighborhood and on the coastal trail were a great break from the plane, train and bus travel of our vacation. The nearby market provided some delicious meals when we weren't in the mood for a restaurant, yet downtown is not far away if one is ready for dinner out. We enjoyed relaxing in the comfortable living room with its view of the flowers in the meadow-like front yard. The apartment was clean and comfortable and we appreciated all the information about the area that was provided. I will certainly try to book Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows when I visit Anchorage again!

Room Tip: We upgraded from the studio to the two bedroom apartment and felt the small extra cost was well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed at Marty's B&B for 6 days and it was wonderful. The house is set in a safe and quiet suburb, so you'll get a good night sleep. The room was roomy and clean. Very near to costal trail and the lagoon. Great for exercising before heading out doing touristy things. Will definitely come back :).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We enjoyed our grand visit with this family which was very helpful with helping us find activities in the area. Beth was our little tour guide giving us all the helpful hints and perhaps will be a pen pal for our niece. The location is super since we enjoy jogging on the ocean trail. Our room was clean and very reasonably priced with lots of literature and felt very homey. Since I am visiting the US as a student, I want to stay with families and learn more about the culture. We were able to use the free internet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mario f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Wonderful room with fireplace, art, kitchen, laundry. Walked on ocean to downtown. Very nice views. Good trail for jogging. Wonderful host family ´very helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
14.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
31.8 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,164 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,913 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows

Address: 1401 W 13th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-4258
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £123 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home, suites with kitchenettes or rooms tastefully furnished with antiques, reasonably priced, walking distance to downtown and the ocean; secluded eco-friendly downtown Anchorage B&B, recommended for 20+ years for warm Alaskan homestyle friendliness, travel tips and comfortable lodging. Near tourist attractions, downtown shops, Coastal trail - bike, hike, view flowers, birds, sunset; ski and skate at Westchester Lagoon and Kincaid's world-class Nordic ski trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Downtown B&B At Raspberry Meadows Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing