We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like European Pension - Very Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows
Ranked #25 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like European Pension - Very Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Lovely location with easy walk to downtown - stayed in junior suite and enjoyed convenience of laundry and kitchen. Quaint with lots of Alaska art. Breakfast was simple but adequate and available in our kitchen - grocery was close with deli. Marge was friendly host and very helpful in planning our sight-seeing experience. For the price, location, homeyness and friendliness I give this a high rating - it was half the price of hotels downtown I researched.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    17
    3
    13
    15
See reviews for
27
17
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Renters might like to know this is more like a spare room in a house, perhaps like something you would rent on AirBnB, not like an inn or any traditional B&B we've stayed at. (Another reviewed called it "non-standard" and that probably fits.)

While overall the facilities seemed more or less clean, the entrance area, kitchen and other visible areas were quite cluttered with personal items. I mean, jam-packed, with tschotchkes and other household items. (If there was a fire, it's possible that your exit could be blocked.) The fridge was jam packed and the kitchen had lots of dishes and other items stacked on counters and sink. There is a cat on the premises and there was an odor in the common areas (though not the room we stayed in), if this is a concern. Not like cat pee, but definitely smelled of pet. The bed was fairly uncomfortable - it seemed like we might have been sleeping in a spare family member's room or something. Beats sleeping at the airport but I easily found a much nicer and more traditional B&B in the area for the same price for several subsequent nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamesWhitcombReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

we stayed in Martys B&B for 2 nights. She is a friendly and helpful Person, the location is convenient to downtown and the muffins she offers for breakfast are great! :)
Marty let us store our bicycles in her garage during our trip to Kenai Peninsula.
We recived nice gifts from Her and her Doughter and useful tips about what to see in Anchorage and we could make there our laundry.. it was a relaxing and pleasent stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnaPeter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because the hotels in town were outrageously priced. Location was good to downtown, but totally non standard to other B&Bs and I've stayed at many. There was no one around and no breakfast in the cluttered kitchen. It was dark and empty at a time when there should have been help and the breakfast I paid for with my night's stay. Found that very odd and disappointing. Furnishings are very old as are the linens. Shared bathroom was OK if you don't have expectations of a hostel like atmosphere. On a positive note when I did meet the owner it was her daughters I saw first. They were very sweet. Wouldn't stay here again though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rubyscharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anvik, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

They walked the careful line of friendly and unobtrusive amazingly well, making us feel like we were friends visiting, while still giving us our space. Even though we arrived at 1:30 AM, they had someone there to greet us and show us around. The yard is overgrown, but it's picturesque in its "Alaska prairie" look. They checked on us to make sure we were doing well and were helpful in every respect. Walking distance to just about everything we needed, and very knowledgeable in what to see or do. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Marge and her daughters welcomed us just as family. WE had the larger of the suites which was two bedrooms,living room and kitchen. We were traveling with bicycles which needed storage and assembling. Her garage was the perfect answer.
This B&B is close to downtown in a very desirable neighborhood, and is also close to the popular coastal trail which we loved to bicycle on. Definitely recommend this for traveling families. Well stocked kitchen for breakfast. Also, there was a washer and dryer for our use.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rorie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this homey bed and breakfast because our hosts were so friendly and we felt like we were part of the family and enjoyed hearing about their upcoming pageant, and competitions. The room was actually a large apartment and very comfortable. Breakfast was available anytime in our kitchen, and we liked have a laundry across the hall. Walking to downtown along the ocean was a treat, and we enjoyed the sight-seeing tips and restaurant recommended by our host. Don't miss the museum. We like the seclusion and quiet of this bed and breakfast and would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Choose the exec suite - it is a big apartment and terrific value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.6 mi away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#38 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#26 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Frenchy's Adventure Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Walkabout Town B&B
Walkabout Town B&B
#11 of 127 in Anchorage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows

Property: Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows
Address: 1401 W 13th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-4258
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home, suites with kitchenettes or rooms tastefully furnished with antiques, reasonably priced, walking distance to downtown and the ocean; secluded eco-friendly downtown Anchorage B&B, recommended for 20+ years for warm Alaskan homestyle friendliness, travel tips and comfortable lodging. Near tourist attractions, downtown shops, Coastal trail - bike, hike, view flowers, birds, sunset; ski and skate at Westchester Lagoon and Kincaid's world-class Nordic ski trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Downtown B&B At Raspberry Meadows Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing