We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, clean and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
181 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“comfortable, clean and central”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

we stayed overnight on a cruise land tour in the Captain Cook hotel. Check in was fast. We were located in Tower 3, room 771. Had a nice view, clean very comfortable beds, overall VERY clean hotel. The room is a bit dated, particularly the bathroom. OVerall nice but the rooms close to the elevator pass the weights and all night it sounded as if roller skates were going up and down the wall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomSonntag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Tom Sonntag,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Having a clean room and a clean Hotel is something we pride ourselves on and we can't wait to see all future guests enjoy our Hotel and have a relaxing stay. We hope to see you return in the future.

Here's to cleanliness! Clean rooms are the number #1 concern of guests when traveling to far away places.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    657
    206
    61
    42
See reviews for
324
734
66
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at the Captain Cook Hotel at the end of a Princess Cruise Tour. In the middle of downtown Anchorage, the hotel seemed to be older in style and nondescript. However, the large room in Tower 1 was newly decorated and quite impressive. The staff was helpful with suggestions and airport transportation. We ate dinner in an upscale restaurant named Fletchers, on the premises. As part of a package, the hotel exceeded my expectations, however, if the price is high, keep looking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear jfoote,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate the review and we're happy to see that you enjoyed the room and the service our staff provided. You're obviously a seasoned traveler and your word is highly regarded in the travel industry. Posting pictures also deserves a big thanks and we hope to see you return in the future.

Here's to seeing the world! Alaska is a far away place from almost everywhere but what it holds is spectacular.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
323 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Very nice stay. Our corner room had a great view. I cannot figure out how they keep the massive amount of cruise luggage straight. Would have liked to stay another night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrigley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Wrigley48,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate the review and we're glad to see that you wished you could have stayed another night (us too!). The Bell Staff at The Hotel Captain Cook is very seasoned with tons of experience and they try their best to handle all the luggage in an efficient manner. We hope to see you return in the future.

Here's to mixed weather! With all the sunny days we've had so far, I'm actually happy to see some rain because our state is notorious for forest fires and the rain will help keep them down.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The hotel accommodations were outstanding and we had a beautiful view of the harbor. Perhaps the best feature of this hotel was the professional service they provide. Everyone, from the supervisor to the door man was courteous, considerate and proud of their jobs. Either this is a result of good training or excellent hiring practices. If we return to Anchorage, we will certainly make reservations at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: rooms with a view of the harbor also allow a chance to see the outstanding sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamagoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear mamagoos,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate the great review. We are always excited to see that your room was great, the view was nice and so on but when the Service of the Staff stands out atop everything else it really makes us feel like we're doing something right. We are happy to see that you plan on returning and we can't wait to see you again.

Here's to Customer Service! The Hotel Captain Cook prides itself on providing top notch customer service and we can't wait for all of our future guests to have a wonderful, relaxed,
experience.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We were lucky enough to request and receive a water view, corner room here on the 15th floor. I took photos of the room, it was very lovely. The BEST part of the one night stay was the fantastic king mattress with a wonderful pillow top. I actually lifted up the sheets and mattress pad to check out the brand of mattress so I could get one back home! Nice, classy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rncarol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear CAROL13LongIsland_NY,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate the great review. I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed the view from your room and that you bed was very comfortable. I'm also going to purchase the beds we place in the rooms because ithey're so comfortable. Well, have fun and enjoy your summer in NY and we can't wait to see you again!

Here's to comfort! The beds in The Hotel Captain Cook are amazing. If anyone wants to know what kind they are please feel free to call the Hotel at 1.800.843.1950 and ask for Hunter.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Mangaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I've stayed at all the big hotels in downtown Anchorage and the Captain Cook is the best. It is a little dated but overall the ammenties, rooms, and restaurants are the best downtown. The hotel does a great job with conferences as well. The lobby is a long wrap around hall with two restaurants and several gift shops with various items. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's not cheap, especially in the summer, but it is worth it if you are staying downtown.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear AKair,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you ranking us #1 in Downtown Anchorage. I'm glad you enjoyed your conference and we hope to see you return in the future.

Here's to Alaska Airlines! AK Air has more flights than any airlines to and from Alaska and is one of the main reasons that all of our guests get a chance to experience this great state and all of its splendor.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The hotel is in the perfect location for spending time in Anchorage. In downtown, near the water and close to good food and shopping in the city. I stay at this hotel on a regular basis and find it to be consistent and quiet and all around competent. The rooms are large with great views of the city, bay and mountains and I've always found the hotel to be clean. While it's an older property it seems well maintained and air conditioning has been added to one of the towers.
The internet service can be wonky and unstable which is frustrating but it is complimentary which is a nice touch.
Overall, a good choice when you visit Anchorage.

Room Tip: Tower 3 has air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassTravelF00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear PassTravelF00l,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate all your constant patronage and it's really nice that you took the time to write such an honest review. We hope to see you return in the future!

Here's to sunny days! April was great, May was spotty, but June has been awesome for sunshine. Let's all hope the rest of the summer ends up amazing.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
1,468 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#24 of 73 in Anchorage
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing