We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alaskan Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

A very nice hotel conveniently located. Very helpful and competent staff. We stayed on the 14th floor of tower 3. Large comfortable room, nicely appointed, great bed, with beautiful view of Anchorage and mountains. Nice shops in lobby for souvenirs. Had wonderful halibut and salmon dinners in Fletcher's restaurant and good breakfast in coffee shop. View from Crow's Nest restaurant is awesome (food is a little pricey, paying for the view). Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: Request room in tower 3 - 10th floor and above - Tower one is not air conditioned at this time - sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttandBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear OttandBert,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review. It looks like you enjoyed many aspects of your room and the Hotel. I see that you also had a nice dining experience in Fletchers. Did you have a chance to see the hand pounded copper ceiling? It took 1000 man hours to finish and its exquisite, a true masterpiece.
I hope your 4th of July was fun and we can't wait to see you again some day. Take care!

Famous Quotes! Edgar Allen Poe, "All that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream."

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

Big rooms, clean, great views. Toilets are really, really loud flushing. Bar had terrible service - never got waited on. The accomadations of this hotel are top notch. Super comforatble bed. Decor is really pleasant but dark in bathroom. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyd1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear tracyd1014,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write such an honest review. If the Hotel was nice but you had bad service in the bar then we want to know about it so we can fix it. We know we're not perfect but I promise we're going to strive to be close. If we don't set high goals then we're selling ourselves and the customer short! We hope to see you return in the future. Have fun in Arizona!

Here's to ATV's! A great source of recreational fun, Alaska ATV Adventures with Tim Cook always promises to be a fun excursion with a high likelyhood of seeing wildlife as well.
Get outdoors and see Alaska!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past few years before my journies to the Alaska backcountry. This is a hotel that is on par with great hotels everywhere. The rooms are nice, the beds comfortable, the staff excellent. The hotels restaurants offer all levels of food choice. The wine list at the Crow's Nest is superb.

Room Tip: You can get rooms facing the mountains or the ocean...both offer great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Steven N,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and your constant patronage to our Hotel. We don't always get everything right with every guest but we try to and we're very pleased to see that you had such a good time while staying with us. We hope to see you return in the future and Happy 4th of July!

Here's to guest reviews! Without feedback from our appreciated guests we could not find out what we're doing both right and wrong. We depend on all of you to let us know so we can continue to build a great Hotel. Thank you!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I am in this hotel right now. This is the last night of our Princess excursion as we fly home tomorrow. I had previously read all the reviews and was looking forward to the luxury of a " Preferred Hotel". Our room is so small we can barely walk around our 3 bags. There are three of us which makes it more crowded. We all paid the same price for rhe cruise/excursion. We should have gotten a large enough room to comfortably accomodate 3 people. There were only 2 pillows. I called housekeeping for 2 more and got 1. My grandson took it without realizing we requested two. The bathroom is like a tiny closet, only room for one person at a time and you feel cramped brushing your teeth. I took a shower and had to nearly get on top of the commode to open and shut the door. I wanted to complain when we saw the room and ask to be moved to another room. my husband didnt want the hassel, was tired, and said we could survive one night. Bottom line with this hotel is to look at your room first, don't take a room on a lower floor. Surely don't take room 433 in tower one! Our mini suite on the ship was roomier than this! There are 3 towers so i bet there are many diffrent types and conditions of rooms. Extremely disappointed..Can't sleep for the noise as the window has to be opened to get any air.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room on a higher floor. Ask for a recently refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear californiagypsy1,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we're sorry we didn't meet expectations. The Deluxe Room you stayed in 433 (Tower 2) has 2 Double Sized beds. I understand that you had 3 people in your party and that can definitely make for less room. You also stated that you were in a "Mini Suite" on the cruise. I wish you would have called down so we could have known and taken that chance to place you into a junior suite which might be more comparable to your cruise accommodations. We will take a long look at what we're doing and make the corrections. We'd like to see you return in the future and I hope you have a great summer!

Here's to the 4th of July! Hopefully we all celebrate Independence Day with friends and family, great weather, and be safe!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This place reminded me of the great NE hotels of the 50s that my dad took us to. Huge lobby with classy stores. Help everywhere. Classic old rooms just upgraded enough.
We booked a Jr suite, which was a full suite, in Tower 3. Just staying there was a vacation.
Great food all around the neighborhood.
What a bed!

Room Tip: Splurge. The corner suite-as high as you can get it-facing Denali.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear BobBarnett,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate the review! I have always thought of our Hotel as not being old but timeless. What a cool feeling to travel with your Dad when you we're a young man and draw a comparison from those amazing NE Hotels of the 50's and ours.The Hotel Captain Cook has a classic feel that is updated and holds true. We want all of our guests to not only feel comfortable, relaxed, and pampered but also to feel like they're at a home away from home. It is our pleasure to take care of each and every guest.
Mr. Barnett, I hope you have a great summer and we can't wait to see you again.

Here's to recreation! There are so many great excursions to fill your time in Alaska but don't forget that we have amazing hikes, a beautiful coastal trail, and a downtown that is easily walkable. Contact our Concierge Brian Mercereau at concierge@captaincook.com for tips!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed two nights here before beginning a land tour with Princess. The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and looked recently updated. It was roomy and well planned with extra long counter space. The staff was courteous and attentive and very helpful with all our travel questions. We loved that the hotel is located downtown and within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, the Visitor's Center, and the Anchorage Museum.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandRLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear LandRLouisiana,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your room. How's Louisiana this time of year? I still want to go to New Orleans to try all the great food I've heard so much about. Have a great summer and we hope to see you return in the future.

Here's to the Visitor's Center! Located just 3 short blocks from our Hotel. The Visitor's Center is another source for great information about Anchorage and Alaska.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here for the first night of our princess cruise land protion trip. The hotel is right downtown in Anchorage. The staff at check in was good. They gave us good information about leaving the next day and what we would need as far as luggage. We went up to the crows nest for a view of the city (20th)floor. We wanted to sit at the bar for a drink, unfortunately no seats were available. We did look around and it was a great view. The rooms were average size. The bed was outstanding. The linens were clean and soft. The cover was just the right weight. The shower was better than most you find in a hotel. The room was clean and decorated with a nice Alaska touch.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank marathonman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear marathonman33,,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. I'm excited to see that our staff was helpful and pointed you in the right direction. The Crow's Nest does have gorgeous views and if you get the opportunity to come back, please let me know an I'll personally pick out a table and make you a reservation so you can have the chance to dine with us. Hope to see you return in the future.

Here's to running! There are 5k's every week that start at a local business downtown called Skinny Raven's. If you're a runner and you're interested in tearing up the trails and pavement with the locals we'd love run with you.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
615 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,598 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £126 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing