We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine lodging in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine lodging in a great location”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Hotel Captain Cook stands over downtown Anchorage, painted a distinctive golden color. The location is perfect for walking to shops & restaurants. The rooms were nicely decorated, and the windows actually open. In Alaska, one does not need AC - you open a window and turn on the floor fan (provided in every room). Captain Cook rooms also have with good bathroom lighting - a special peeve of mine since I wear makeup, and can rarely see what I'm doing in a hotel bathroom. Doormen on duty. Valet parking was overpriced, at $30/day, especially on week-ends when downtown metered parking spaces are free. We were able to find a space within 1/2 block all day on Saturday & Sunday. On a week-day, we would've opted for the self-parking at $20/day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear BellaBike,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our property with the Trip Advisor community. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your room and your stay. For the most part, Alaska doesn't need A/C but on some sunny days it can get hot and thats why we're installing A/C in the entire Hotel. Tower 3 is done already and the rest of the Hotel will be finished by May of 2013! If you need any parking tips just ask Brian the Concierge at concierge@captaincook.com. Find the warmth when you return to NC and have a great summer!

Family! I have family in NC and they always talk about how great Alaska is but I love it there to!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    679
    211
    61
    43
See reviews for
337
764
68
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was completely satisfied with the Capt Cook Hotel. This is a portion of another reviewers insight into the Captain Cook with which I did agree. “We stayed here for the first night of the land portion our princess cruise trip. The hotel is right downtown in Anchorage. The staff at check in was good. They gave us good information about leaving the next day and what we would need as far as luggage….. The rooms were average size. The bed was outstanding. The linens were clean and soft. The cover was just the right weight. The shower was better than most you find in a hotel. The room was clean and decorated with a nice Alaska touch”

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rjr4945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear rjr4945,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor. I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay like the previous guest you quoted. Well I guess you're headed back to the East Coast. It's a long flight but pop in those head phones and remember that Alaska wishes you and your family the best and we'll see you again!

Trolley Tours! 1 Hour Tour of the city for $15 can be acquired at the 4th Avenue Visitor's Center. It's a great way to get insight about Anchorage.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed two nights before our Princess Cruisetour, July 17-19, 2012. Party of four (two children ages 7 and 9) so we were given a Junior Suite in the air conditioned tower 3. The room was spacious and very nice. The hotel was located in the middle of downtown, making all of the attractions walkable. We had dinner at the Crow's Nest on the second night and our waiter was a little out of touch. When I asked if there was a kids menu, he just said no. Then I asked if it was possible to split an entree for the kids and he said yes, for a fee. Finally, I extracted out of him information about the bar menu that included a burger or mac and cheese (seafood). He seemed unwilling or inexperienced when it comes to serving children.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocomitchells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear jocomitchells,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review of our property. I'm very happy to see you enjoyed your stay and I will speak to the Crow's Nest Manager and make sure that we are giving all of our guests our 100% undivided attention and the kind of service they deserve. I hope you brought your red ruby slippers being from Kansas because even though you traveled to Alaska I know there's no place like home. I hope to see you return in the future and have great summer!

Fletcher's! Our Italian Restaurant located on the lobby level of Tower 3 has great thin crust pizza!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

In my opinion this is the best hotel in Anchorage. Beautiful clean rooms and a quiet location. Excellent restaurant. Easy walking distance to the railroad. I love it and would more than happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenDunedin_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Karen Dunedin_NZ,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I imagine with the NZ tag you're from New Zealand. We are honored that you chose us after traveling such a long distance. I hope Alaska welcomed you with open arms and have a safe trip back!

Local Music! There are a couple places in downtown Anchorage that offer a live local vibe. Ask our concierge for further info. concierge@captaincook.com

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here one night prior to a land tour. The hotel was clean and elegant. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were clean and updated. Good location. The staff was friendly and kind.The shops had something in every price range.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Sue M,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review of our property and taking the time to share your experience with our Trip Advisor family. I'm very pleased to see that you enjoyed your room and your stay. I bet you're having a great time on your cruise right now exploring Alaska's southeast passage. There are so many gorgeous landscapes and fun towns to visit on the way to Vancouver. Fill that camera and thank you for visiting the state I love!

Juneau, AK! Alaska's captital city since 1906 and home to 31,000+ great Americans.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night at the start of our Princess cruise/tour. The hotel was immaculate and elegant. The service was great and this was a wonderful way to spend the first night of what turned into a very active two week tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibfinetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear ibfinetwo,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're very happy to see that you enjoyed the Hotel. We love it that we were able to provide a nice, relaxing stay before such a packed two week tour. I hope Alaska was everything that you had planned
and have a great summer. Hope to see you again in the future!

Bear Viewing! Lots fo companies offer Bear Viewing and its an amazing way to get up close and fresh with the fuzzy salmon gobblers. If you have any questions or need any assistance please feel free to contact our Concierge Brian Mercereau 1.800.843.1950 or at concierge@captaincook.com.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

After a week of cruise, it was nice to stay in a spaciouse one bedroom suite. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were small and outdated but the overall stay was very nice. The location is very good. My daughter really liked the indoor swimming pool. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCMD71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear NYCMD71,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we value the oppinions of our guests. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and your daughter enjoyed the swimming pool. If there is anything we can do to help make your next stay more comfortable please let us know. See you again!

Sunny Days! The weather has been beautiful here lately and for every guest that is inbound to Anchorage, AK bring more sun with you please. We can't get enough of these gorgeous days with unlimited daylight.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,493 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing