We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5-Star to Us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at the Captain Cook at the start of a tour of Alaska, and read that it was the best hotel in Anchorage, so we expected the best in everything. While our room was large and had a view of the water (with buildings), the carpet was stained, which did not give a great impression. We had 2 breakfasts there. One was really good, since it was from a menu; the other was a buffet for our group, which was not that great. A dinner was a group thing as well-so I can't really just the restaurant fairly. But again, nothing superb--hence the middle rating. When everyone says this is a 5-star hotel, I expect great things, and the Cook didn't have what a Fairmont has. Sorry!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnpatrol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear dsmith2beach,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review of our property and we're happy to see that enjoyed your stay. I am sorry we didn't fulfill your expectations and we look foward to correcting the areas that need to be fixed. Have a great summer and we hope to see you return in the future.

The Alaska State Fair! August is the month of our state fair which attracts some pretty good concerts, has great food, and lots of fun for the kids. If you're visiting it's a great way to spend a day!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Captain Cook
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,456 - 1,462 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a beautiful and impressive hotel. The rooms are very nice. I did not eat at the Captain Cook so I cannot comment on their food. However, the steam room and sauna is second to none. Very impressive indeed. The staff was friendly and efficient. Concierge was quite helpful with a wide array of questions. The beds were luxurious.

Room Tip: There is no AC or at least there wasn't in my room. There wwas a ceiling fan and it was easily...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ve3yri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Mike C,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I'm happy to see that you enjoyed the time you spent while staying with us. I'm happy to hear that the staff was spot on, the athletic club filled your needs, and that you had a nice nights sleep. Have fun in Canada and we hope to see you return in the future.

Appetizer Run! Instead of the normal sit down in one of the many great restaurants in downtwon Anchorage, try walking to a bunch of places and grabbing some apps. It's a great way to see the town and visit a lot of great food spots.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed a few nights while on a business trip. Good quiet, location in downtown Anchorage. Check-in was smooth. The room was clean, but dated. I only had one meal at the hotel, but it was very good and the service was good as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_Traveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Family_Traveller0,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review of our property which we can share with everyone on Trip Advisor. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and the meal you had at the Hotel. Canada is a gorgeous place and we thank you for visiting us and Alaska!

Alaska Railroad! A great way to see the state. The Alaska Railroad offers relaxing trips to and from multiple locations with routes that are only accessible via the railroad giving their passengers an opportunity to view some remote areas that most won't be able to see.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Needed just a one night stay for a layover (on our way to Homer) and hotel was recommended by someone who works for Alaska Airlines and has stayed many times. We arrived around midnight and were happy to find a friendly face to greet us. Ordered coffee service in the morning and Clarence delivered to our room with a great attitude and friendly customer service. He also provided a little history of the hotel which was very interesting. Overall, hotel is very nicely appointed, staff was very courteous and helpful, room was big enough and had everything we needed. If going back to Anchorage, I would definitely select this hotel over "all" others. Not inexpensive, but definitely worth the money. It was about a 10-15 minute cab ride from the airport ($25 with tip).

Room Tip: You definitely get what you pay for in Anchorage and this is a great value.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Paula P,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're very happy to see you enjoyed your stay. When one of our employees like Clarence stands out amongst everyone and provides exceptional customer service to our guests and its talked about, it really makes us feel like we're doing something right and heading in the proper direction. We'd love to see you return again and have a great summer!

Airport to Hotel! Taxi's ($20 average fare) City Bus (1.75 one way) Private Transfer ($75-$100)
are all ways to get to and from the airport.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Hotel Captain Cook stands over downtown Anchorage, painted a distinctive golden color. The location is perfect for walking to shops & restaurants. The rooms were nicely decorated, and the windows actually open. In Alaska, one does not need AC - you open a window and turn on the floor fan (provided in every room). Captain Cook rooms also have with good bathroom lighting - a special peeve of mine since I wear makeup, and can rarely see what I'm doing in a hotel bathroom. Doormen on duty. Valet parking was overpriced, at $30/day, especially on week-ends when downtown metered parking spaces are free. We were able to find a space within 1/2 block all day on Saturday & Sunday. On a week-day, we would've opted for the self-parking at $20/day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear BellaBike,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our property with the Trip Advisor community. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your room and your stay. For the most part, Alaska doesn't need A/C but on some sunny days it can get hot and thats why we're installing A/C in the entire Hotel. Tower 3 is done already and the rest of the Hotel will be finished by May of 2013! If you need any parking tips just ask Brian the Concierge at concierge@captaincook.com. Find the warmth when you return to NC and have a great summer!

Family! I have family in NC and they always talk about how great Alaska is but I love it there to!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was completely satisfied with the Capt Cook Hotel. This is a portion of another reviewers insight into the Captain Cook with which I did agree. “We stayed here for the first night of the land portion our princess cruise trip. The hotel is right downtown in Anchorage. The staff at check in was good. They gave us good information about leaving the next day and what we would need as far as luggage….. The rooms were average size. The bed was outstanding. The linens were clean and soft. The cover was just the right weight. The shower was better than most you find in a hotel. The room was clean and decorated with a nice Alaska touch”

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rjr4945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear rjr4945,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor. I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay like the previous guest you quoted. Well I guess you're headed back to the East Coast. It's a long flight but pop in those head phones and remember that Alaska wishes you and your family the best and we'll see you again!

Trolley Tours! 1 Hour Tour of the city for $15 can be acquired at the 4th Avenue Visitor's Center. It's a great way to get insight about Anchorage.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed two nights before our Princess Cruisetour, July 17-19, 2012. Party of four (two children ages 7 and 9) so we were given a Junior Suite in the air conditioned tower 3. The room was spacious and very nice. The hotel was located in the middle of downtown, making all of the attractions walkable. We had dinner at the Crow's Nest on the second night and our waiter was a little out of touch. When I asked if there was a kids menu, he just said no. Then I asked if it was possible to split an entree for the kids and he said yes, for a fee. Finally, I extracted out of him information about the bar menu that included a burger or mac and cheese (seafood). He seemed unwilling or inexperienced when it comes to serving children.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocomitchells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear jocomitchells,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review of our property. I'm very happy to see you enjoyed your stay and I will speak to the Crow's Nest Manager and make sure that we are giving all of our guests our 100% undivided attention and the kind of service they deserve. I hope you brought your red ruby slippers being from Kansas because even though you traveled to Alaska I know there's no place like home. I hope to see you return in the future and have great summer!

Fletcher's! Our Italian Restaurant located on the lobby level of Tower 3 has great thin crust pizza!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
585 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Hilton Anchorage
#16 of 74 in Anchorage
1,579 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £120 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing