We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yawn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Average average average. We have always stayed at the Westmark and now my company has me staying here. The front desk staff is MUCH friendlier at the Westmark. I heard this from my co-workers and found it to be true when I arrived. The rooms are very standard and could probably use an update pretty soon. If my company was not paying for this hotel, I probably would not stay here at the published rates. However, I did like the fridge in my room and the bed was nice. The windows do open up a little bit, so I did enjoy the fresh air. The traffic is quite loud all night long though.
I did request to have my bed made up because I had a late check out arranged by my company, but this request was disregarded by the staff. I really do not like being in a hotel room without an unmade bed.

Room Tip: This hotel does not provide an airport shuttle. If you need an inexpensive ride catch the 7A people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear MichaelMinneapolis,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and I'm happy to see that you enjoyed the Hotel. We are now tested to provide equal to or better customer service than your previous Hotel. I beleive we are up to the challenge and look forward to having you stay with us again. I hope your flight back to Minneapolis was nice and we can't wait to see you again. If you have a long layover, look me up and I'll take you fishing!

Silver Salmon! It's almost time for the silvers to fill the rivers. They are so fun the catch with almost every fish coming clean out the water and zigging and zagging in every direction.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in advance of a cruise. Its a nice hotel with some classic features and excellent professional staff. The room was clean and comfortable. The only reason I don't rate it higher is because it is quite expensive and I expect more from a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tw3retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear tw3retiree,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I'm very happy to see you enjoyed the Hotel. It sounds like we had everything you needed and I'm excited to see that the staff had such a positive impact on your stay. We all appreciate your comments! We hope to see you return someday, but until then have a great summer in California!

Trout! The trout fishing is becoming amazing at this time of year. With the weather slowly dropping the fish know it's time to eat before winter sets in.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at the Captain Cook at the start of a tour of Alaska, and read that it was the best hotel in Anchorage, so we expected the best in everything. While our room was large and had a view of the water (with buildings), the carpet was stained, which did not give a great impression. We had 2 breakfasts there. One was really good, since it was from a menu; the other was a buffet for our group, which was not that great. A dinner was a group thing as well-so I can't really just the restaurant fairly. But again, nothing superb--hence the middle rating. When everyone says this is a 5-star hotel, I expect great things, and the Cook didn't have what a Fairmont has. Sorry!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnpatrol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear dsmith2beach,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review of our property and we're happy to see that enjoyed your stay. I am sorry we didn't fulfill your expectations and we look foward to correcting the areas that need to be fixed. Have a great summer and we hope to see you return in the future.

The Alaska State Fair! August is the month of our state fair which attracts some pretty good concerts, has great food, and lots of fun for the kids. If you're visiting it's a great way to spend a day!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a beautiful and impressive hotel. The rooms are very nice. I did not eat at the Captain Cook so I cannot comment on their food. However, the steam room and sauna is second to none. Very impressive indeed. The staff was friendly and efficient. Concierge was quite helpful with a wide array of questions. The beds were luxurious.

Room Tip: There is no AC or at least there wasn't in my room. There wwas a ceiling fan and it was easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ve3yri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Mike C,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I'm happy to see that you enjoyed the time you spent while staying with us. I'm happy to hear that the staff was spot on, the athletic club filled your needs, and that you had a nice nights sleep. Have fun in Canada and we hope to see you return in the future.

Appetizer Run! Instead of the normal sit down in one of the many great restaurants in downtwon Anchorage, try walking to a bunch of places and grabbing some apps. It's a great way to see the town and visit a lot of great food spots.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed a few nights while on a business trip. Good quiet, location in downtown Anchorage. Check-in was smooth. The room was clean, but dated. I only had one meal at the hotel, but it was very good and the service was good as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_Traveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Family_Traveller0,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review of our property which we can share with everyone on Trip Advisor. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and the meal you had at the Hotel. Canada is a gorgeous place and we thank you for visiting us and Alaska!

Alaska Railroad! A great way to see the state. The Alaska Railroad offers relaxing trips to and from multiple locations with routes that are only accessible via the railroad giving their passengers an opportunity to view some remote areas that most won't be able to see.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Needed just a one night stay for a layover (on our way to Homer) and hotel was recommended by someone who works for Alaska Airlines and has stayed many times. We arrived around midnight and were happy to find a friendly face to greet us. Ordered coffee service in the morning and Clarence delivered to our room with a great attitude and friendly customer service. He also provided a little history of the hotel which was very interesting. Overall, hotel is very nicely appointed, staff was very courteous and helpful, room was big enough and had everything we needed. If going back to Anchorage, I would definitely select this hotel over "all" others. Not inexpensive, but definitely worth the money. It was about a 10-15 minute cab ride from the airport ($25 with tip).

Room Tip: You definitely get what you pay for in Anchorage and this is a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Paula P,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're very happy to see you enjoyed your stay. When one of our employees like Clarence stands out amongst everyone and provides exceptional customer service to our guests and its talked about, it really makes us feel like we're doing something right and heading in the proper direction. We'd love to see you return again and have a great summer!

Airport to Hotel! Taxi's ($20 average fare) City Bus (1.75 one way) Private Transfer ($75-$100)
are all ways to get to and from the airport.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Hotel Captain Cook stands over downtown Anchorage, painted a distinctive golden color. The location is perfect for walking to shops & restaurants. The rooms were nicely decorated, and the windows actually open. In Alaska, one does not need AC - you open a window and turn on the floor fan (provided in every room). Captain Cook rooms also have with good bathroom lighting - a special peeve of mine since I wear makeup, and can rarely see what I'm doing in a hotel bathroom. Doormen on duty. Valet parking was overpriced, at $30/day, especially on week-ends when downtown metered parking spaces are free. We were able to find a space within 1/2 block all day on Saturday & Sunday. On a week-day, we would've opted for the self-parking at $20/day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear BellaBike,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our property with the Trip Advisor community. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your room and your stay. For the most part, Alaska doesn't need A/C but on some sunny days it can get hot and thats why we're installing A/C in the entire Hotel. Tower 3 is done already and the rest of the Hotel will be finished by May of 2013! If you need any parking tips just ask Brian the Concierge at concierge@captaincook.com. Find the warmth when you return to NC and have a great summer!

Family! I have family in NC and they always talk about how great Alaska is but I love it there to!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
641 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
121 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
719 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#8 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £118 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing