We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Around Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“All Around Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

By far one of the nicest hotels in the whole state. I've stayed here several times when visiting Anchorage. Located right downtown, it's within easy walking or cab distance from the 5th Avenue Mall and many bars and restaraunts. The hotel itself has superb rooms, the beds are exceptionally comfortable, with great views for the most part.
There is a pool and jacuzzi there, and they offer massage services. The excercise area is nicely equipped and everything is immaculately clean. If you want to stay in comfort, a good location, and have the option to pamper yourself, the Captain Cook is the place to go. You can obviously find cheaper hotels not far away, but be assured you will get service and quality equal to their higher prices if that's what you are looking for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKGirl1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear AKGirl1883,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review of our property and I'm very very pleased to see that you enjoyed the Hotel and your time in Anchorage.
First time I've had a chance to respond to back to back Alaskans. How was your summer in Fairbanks this year? FYI to everyone it's usually warmer up there. We had a great summer down here in Anchorage and I'm glad you had a chance to spend some time with us. We can't wait to have you stay with us again and we both know that winter is on the way!

Fairbanks, AK! Warm in the summer, cold in the winter. You truly get both season at their fullest with temperatures reaching into the 90's on a hot day and -30 or colder on a brisk day.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    693
    213
    63
    44
See reviews for
348
787
69
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

The Captain Cook is one of the priemer hotels in the state. Their rooms are great. Lots of space in each room. The view of the inlet is superb. The food is well prepared and tastes like it should be in a five star restaurant. I will be coming back.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RDWNG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Rory M,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed the room and your dining experience with us. It's always a pleasure to take care of a fellow Alaskan and we hope to see you again!

Big Lake, AK! Probably the most visited recreational lake in Alaska. Big Lake is great for boating, jet skiing, water skiing, wakeboarding, and every other water activity you can think of.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Average average average. We have always stayed at the Westmark and now my company has me staying here. The front desk staff is MUCH friendlier at the Westmark. I heard this from my co-workers and found it to be true when I arrived. The rooms are very standard and could probably use an update pretty soon. If my company was not paying for this hotel, I probably would not stay here at the published rates. However, I did like the fridge in my room and the bed was nice. The windows do open up a little bit, so I did enjoy the fresh air. The traffic is quite loud all night long though.
I did request to have my bed made up because I had a late check out arranged by my company, but this request was disregarded by the staff. I really do not like being in a hotel room without an unmade bed.

Room Tip: This hotel does not provide an airport shuttle. If you need an inexpensive ride catch the 7A people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear MichaelMinneapolis,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and I'm happy to see that you enjoyed the Hotel. We are now tested to provide equal to or better customer service than your previous Hotel. I beleive we are up to the challenge and look forward to having you stay with us again. I hope your flight back to Minneapolis was nice and we can't wait to see you again. If you have a long layover, look me up and I'll take you fishing!

Silver Salmon! It's almost time for the silvers to fill the rivers. They are so fun the catch with almost every fish coming clean out the water and zigging and zagging in every direction.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in advance of a cruise. Its a nice hotel with some classic features and excellent professional staff. The room was clean and comfortable. The only reason I don't rate it higher is because it is quite expensive and I expect more from a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tw3retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear tw3retiree,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I'm very happy to see you enjoyed the Hotel. It sounds like we had everything you needed and I'm excited to see that the staff had such a positive impact on your stay. We all appreciate your comments! We hope to see you return someday, but until then have a great summer in California!

Trout! The trout fishing is becoming amazing at this time of year. With the weather slowly dropping the fish know it's time to eat before winter sets in.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at the Captain Cook at the start of a tour of Alaska, and read that it was the best hotel in Anchorage, so we expected the best in everything. While our room was large and had a view of the water (with buildings), the carpet was stained, which did not give a great impression. We had 2 breakfasts there. One was really good, since it was from a menu; the other was a buffet for our group, which was not that great. A dinner was a group thing as well-so I can't really just the restaurant fairly. But again, nothing superb--hence the middle rating. When everyone says this is a 5-star hotel, I expect great things, and the Cook didn't have what a Fairmont has. Sorry!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnpatrol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear dsmith2beach,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review of our property and we're happy to see that enjoyed your stay. I am sorry we didn't fulfill your expectations and we look foward to correcting the areas that need to be fixed. Have a great summer and we hope to see you return in the future.

The Alaska State Fair! August is the month of our state fair which attracts some pretty good concerts, has great food, and lots of fun for the kids. If you're visiting it's a great way to spend a day!

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a beautiful and impressive hotel. The rooms are very nice. I did not eat at the Captain Cook so I cannot comment on their food. However, the steam room and sauna is second to none. Very impressive indeed. The staff was friendly and efficient. Concierge was quite helpful with a wide array of questions. The beds were luxurious.

Room Tip: There is no AC or at least there wasn't in my room. There wwas a ceiling fan and it was easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ve3yri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Mike C,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I'm happy to see that you enjoyed the time you spent while staying with us. I'm happy to hear that the staff was spot on, the athletic club filled your needs, and that you had a nice nights sleep. Have fun in Canada and we hope to see you return in the future.

Appetizer Run! Instead of the normal sit down in one of the many great restaurants in downtwon Anchorage, try walking to a bunch of places and grabbing some apps. It's a great way to see the town and visit a lot of great food spots.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed a few nights while on a business trip. Good quiet, location in downtown Anchorage. Check-in was smooth. The room was clean, but dated. I only had one meal at the hotel, but it was very good and the service was good as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_Traveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Family_Traveller0,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review of our property which we can share with everyone on Trip Advisor. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and the meal you had at the Hotel. Canada is a gorgeous place and we thank you for visiting us and Alaska!

Alaska Railroad! A great way to see the state. The Alaska Railroad offers relaxing trips to and from multiple locations with routes that are only accessible via the railroad giving their passengers an opportunity to view some remote areas that most won't be able to see.

Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
542 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 73 in Anchorage
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#18 of 73 in Anchorage
1,540 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing