We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb view and great restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb view and great restaurants”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel's higher floors give you a breath taking view of the snow capped mountains in the distance. I stayed on the 17th floor. On the 20th floor is a 5 star restaurant, which is pricey ($50 per head) but well worth it for a one off, just to take in the stunning view. There are two other restaurants in the hotel, which are much cheaper! There is an English themed pub selling evening meals, and another place for breakfast. Breakfast includes reindeer sausage. Staff were exceptionally polite and helpful, and give you a free map. There is wi-fi, which was well connected. Hotel is ideally situated in downtown. Avoid staying during the Alaskan winter, when temperatures can fall to minus 25 degrees celsius.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors facing the mountains for a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuroraCeltica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear FuroraCeltica,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and we're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and dining experiences. Manchester? Awesome Soccer...I mean futbol team.... We hope that you have a great winter season and we'd love to see you again in the future if you ever return.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    632
    200
    59
    41
See reviews for
310
704
66
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My condolences if you're assigned floor seven tower number one, welcome to steerage class. Dirty stained carpets in entire hallway, lamp shade fell off, room too hot, was told by front desk to open window-did that. Bring ear plugs, the wind will suck your curtains out the window and you are left to endure them whipping and flapping against the glass, with bonus round-the-clock road noise from below. Was told there were no more rooms which forced me to suffer it out. No airport shuttle, $20 parking- never again.

Room Tip: stay away from tower one until refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flygrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear flygrls,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. You gave us a lot of feedback on things that you weren't pleased with and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. We will use this as an opportunity to make corrections. Once again thank you and I hope you find great places to travel to in the future.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Princess Cruise - this was the best hotel we stayed in- breakfast brilliant , food brilliant room brilliant . Great bed , great facilities great people , felt really friendly rather than pretend friendly

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lil144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Lil144,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. It's a great review, you win! Very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided authentic customer service and not the the fake kind. You were a 'brilliant" guest and we'd love to see you in the future.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I recently stayed on the top floor of the Captain Cook Hotel in Anchorage. The staff were lovely and the facilities were top class. We had a fabulous view of the city and the bay from our lounge room. I would definately recommend this hotel and the tourist area of Anchorage is great. We went to the Visitor Centre and had to go through security at the entrance; we thought this was a bit strange but learned afterwards that they are situated in the FBI building.

Room Tip: You get a key for the elevator for the top two floors as they are more exclusive. The price is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear nantucketbabe,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. I applaud your review. It's hard to bring a smile to readers faces when writing a review and after reading the FBI Security part it had me. We're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to see you return in the future.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights,everything you need is here, bang in the middle of Anchorage, best bar in town Fletchers, awesome barman called Chris, all my family loved this Hotel, Faultless!!!!!!!!!!! Aussie

Room Tip: Get at least a junior suite, fantastic, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear kevin l,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to write fun review to share with our TripAdvisor community. Happy to see that Chris had such a good impact on your dining experience in Fletcher's and if you're ever back up to Anchorage from the way "Down Under" we'd love to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seward, Alaska, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Captain Cook while attending a fall conference. The staff was efficient and welcoming, the room was incredibly comfortable. Very fun, I'd go again in a heartbeat!

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Cindy C,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your nice review and we're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I travel to Anchorage for business a few times per year--I have always hesitated to stay at the Captain Cook--because I had heard it was out dated. Having stayed at several other properties in Anchorage-I opted this year to stay the the Captain Cook.
I will definitely return.
Yes the hotel could use a little 'fluffing' and revitalizing--however, the rooms are solid, well laid out and immaculately clean. This isn't a swanky boutique hotel in a chic trendy downtown scene.
But, The captain cook has very attentive staff, 4 great options to eat at for dinners right at the hotel and walking distance to many of Anchorage's great new restaurants. For business or leisure travel I would book here again...and likely will.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear HorseDiva,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel with our TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to see that you gave us a chance and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you return next time your in Anchorage.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
422 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
446 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing