We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved this hotel - Princess Cruises put us here after we got off their Alaskan cruiseship, and everything about it was perfect. Staff was terrific, friendly, very accommodating; food in the hotel was outstandingly good (great bar/atmosphere too!), even the small shop Rosita's was fairly priced and I found something special there (and I am not a shopper!). Room was lovely with a super comfy bed, great linens and pillows. Housekeeping/bell staff above and beyond. Would definitely stay here again. Location allows you to walk all over downtown Anchorage. Exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICKY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear VickyLakeGirl,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We're glad you loved the Hotel! Always nice to hear that the staff was terrific and we were ready to help with your every need. I'm glad you thought the Hotel was beautiful and all the amenities were available to help make your stay great. There's more to see so come back anytime!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    633
    201
    59
    41
See reviews for
310
704
66
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed here one night through a cruise tour. I was expecting to stay at a nationally known chain, but found this property to be very acceptable. The Captain Cook is a large hotel in the downtown area. It is walking distance to many attractions and restaurants in the area. There is a gift shop for mementos, toiletries, and clothing. We did not eat at the restaurant there, but did have room service deliver. The concierge and the bus driver who dropped us at the hotel recommended a restaurant for breakfast, but it was too busy to catch our scheduled bus departure. The doorman recommended a small eatery one block away which was not crowded and quick. The room was clean and spacious. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear David D,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Great review. Sometimes it gets busy during breakfast hours with everyone wanting to start their day off right by having a full meal. Glad to see our staff was able to point you in the right direction to dine and be on time for your cruise schedule.
Have fun in Lakeville and if you're ever back in AK we'd love to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
231 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a large hotel centrally located in Anchorage. It has several restaurants and the rooms are quite nice. They include coffee, which us always a plus.

There are numerous shops on the sprawling lobby.

We enjoyed our stay at Captain Cook's.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdeppman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Jdeppman,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and it's always an pleasure to provide a great stay for our valued guests. Complimentary in room coffee is just one of the many amenities that we offer. We can't wait to see you again and take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed one night post cruise. Everything was fine except since we had booked it through Princess Cruise, we did not have access to the fitness facility without paying extra. For the amount we paid for the hotel, that was very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassachusettsMona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear MassachusettsMona,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. The Athletic Club has a guest fee if it's not already complimentary with your room. I hope you had a chance to use it because our guests love it. Thank you for visiting Alaska and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed in the Capt Cook twice during a recent trip to Alaska and on both occasions found it to be an excellent base from which to explore the city of Anchorage.
The hotel seemed larger than I remembered it from my last visit in the early 90's but it still seemed friendly. The place is getting old but only shows it in a few small places.
The rooms are large and comfortable, well appointed and clean.
The staff, especially those on the concierge desks are very friendly and helpful.
The bars and restaurants are all excellent and the little coffee shop is very good too.
There are plenty of shops too, the outdoor wear place also carries a decent selection of fishing gear including salmon flies.
The hotel serves an excellent, if a little pricey, breakfast and serves such for a decent length of time - last service at weekends is 11am.
4th Avenue wasn't as run down as I remembered from last time, in fact the immediate area around the hotel has quite a few decent bars, restaurants and such and is full of gift shops and tourist traps. The hotel has a taxi rank and it was rare to wait more than a couple of minutes for a cab.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which are too close to the lifts/elevators - these are old and noisy. I stayed in room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMcMurray_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear TMcMurray_12,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your nice review and it's great to see you after so long. The Hotel hasn't grown in size since the 90's but it has upgraded in multiple areas and we continue to train in providing great customer service. Hopefully we'll see you before another 20+ years goes by but if we don't we promise to stay the course and keep challenging ourselves to always look for ways to increase our guests overall experience. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
326 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

So I have stayed at this hotel many times, but this was my first return in over a year. This hotel had always lacked air conditioning which made summer stays miserable, however I was pleasantly surprised to find that AC was added recently. My room stayed very cool. The inside of this hotel is always very clean, and the staff is always super friendly. This is by far the best hotel in Anchorage. Recently, changes have been made outside of the building as well, new grass, waterfall etc... wonderful looking landscaping has improved the appearance of the hotel. Beds are very comfortable and the curtains keep the rooms dark, even when there is like 21 hours of daylight!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Jarod M,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and returning to see the new updates. We recently finished the 3rd phase of the Air Conditioning Project in early May of this year thus adding A/C to all rooms. It has proven to provide a much more comfortable stay with our guests during the summer months. The outside aesthetic landscaping project has added a gorgeous touch to the overall appearance of the Hotel and has received wide spread compliments from both our guests and local residents. We have many more updates scheduled and we look forward to continuing to provide great stays and relaxing accommodations. We'll see you again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
386 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

As most things in Anchorage - and understandably so - you pay a lot for what you get, but in this case, you get a lot. We stayed for two nights on the Captain's Deck, and the extra amenities ( lounge access, with extensive breakfast and hors d's, free gym access, ...) justify the extra expense. Good location. The crow's nest is a superb restaurant.

Room Tip: captain's deck rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Travel_Jan95,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. What a stellar review. We are always finding ways to provide more value to all of our guests and the Captain's Deck and Crow's Nest shine again. With all the added amenities of the Captain's Deck and ambiance and experience of a fine Northwest Restaurant main staging your Captain Cook stay it is a true pleasure to take care of your every need. Have fun in Belgium and we'll see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing