We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel-great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Only had one night in Anchorage. Enjoyed stay. Rooms weren't fancy but large and comfortable. Hotel is large and contains three restaurants and several shops. We enjoyed an amazing breakfast there with excellent service. I had the smoked salmon scramble and my husband had reindeer sausage. Both were delicious.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Melinda J,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your nice review and its great to see you enjoyed your short stay with us. The Hotel has 5 restaurants and also room service which all vary in time to compliment each other and provide different dining experiences throughout the day for all guests. I love the Cafe's (Breakfast Restaurant) menu. I'm right there on board with your opinion about the salmon scramble, dare I say yum! Come see us again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Captain Cook
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautifully appointed hotel located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska. Close to the heart of the city. Superb rooms with plenty of room to move around and relax before going out. Located near many restaurants shops. We were impressed by the hospitality shown to us during our stay. Recommend this hotel if you are staying in Anchorage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1001Randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear 1001Randy,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Such a nice review. I love reading comments about the Hotel being nice and the staff ready and able to help. We try very hard to provide great stays and top notch service and when it all comes together it's just special. I hope you find amazing accommodations where ever you travel and we look forward to recreating your experience next time you're in town.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were booked into this hotel by Princess for the first night of our tour. The doorman, Andy, was fantastic...so helpful and friendly as were other employees. This is a luxury hotel with beautiful, well kept public areas, however, our room was so small there was barely room for our luggage, the chair was broken down and the rug was stained. The bedding and towels were good quality and the location was good if you want to stay downtown. For our one night stay, it was acceptable but I wouldn't want to stay there longer than that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choicegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear choicegirl,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you sharing your review with our TripAdvisor community. I was very happy to see that Andy made such a good impression on you. I am sorry that there wasn't enough room for you to move around comfortably with your luggage. Most of our guests usually think there is plenty of space but traveling all the way from India I can only imagine how many bags you had. I hope you loved Alaska and I look forward to making it to India one day. Thank you for visiting us.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at this Hotel through a Princess Cruise....it was such a treat! Beautiful, spacious room, great selection of restaurants to choose from and great wait staff. Would definitely stay again when in Anchorage.

Room Tip: From what other travelers in our group, all rooms were great
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Susan E,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see we're your "Diamond in the Rough". Spacious rooms, multiple dining options, and helpful staff are paramount in providing an amazing stay. Anytime you're Anchorage we'd love to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nicest hotel in anchorage. Good restaurants and bar. Actually anchorage is really not much but surrounding areas are very nice. Good location, easy to get around in the city, walking distance of everything

Room Tip: Best hotel in the city
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Devlin1,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Short, sweet, great review. Our goal is to always provide a great stay for all our guests and we pleased to see we hit the mark. Love the pic in your tag. Don't forget about AK when you're in NY!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for four nights in August 2013 at the Captain Cook. Our room had a nice view on the sea (unfortunately the weather was not great for most of the time). Breakfast was very good (if a tad pricey).Location is central to most dining within easy walking distance. Can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenatoBruni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear RenatoBruni,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and its so nice be a "Great Hotel in great location". It sounds like you loved everything. My only concern was the weather. Must have been during the rainy days we had. Next time give me a heads up and I'll turn on my weather machine (only on special occasions) and dial up some sunshine so you can have a gorgeous view of the Cook Inlet. Stay strong in the Bronx and we'll see you again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have done a lot of travel over the years and I am leery when it comes to staying in vintage hotels, but Captain Cook in Anchorage was FANTASTIC! The hotels is located right off the water, blocks away from a great running path if your a runner like myself. It is blocks away from the Alaskan RailRoad station and downtown shopping area. We had a car, but walked every where when we were in the city limits.

If your looking for places to eat, I recommend:
- Snow City Cafe for breakfast
- Simon @ Seafort's Seafood for dinner

Room Tip: Room facing the water
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photoplyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Photoplyr,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Perfect review! I love seeing how adventurous guests describe our Hotel. With the location providing so many options for sight seeing, exercising, perusing the downtown scene, and a very solid base camp to launch your Alaskan Adventure, you can't go wrong. If you're undecided on your direction our Concierge have extensive knowledge of the local and surrounding areas and they love inspiring our guests to get out and see something amazing. It was a pleasure, take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
585 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Hilton Anchorage
#16 of 74 in Anchorage
1,580 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £120 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing