We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Captain Cook
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Voyager Inn(Anchorage)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Westmark Anchorage(Anchorage)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Historic Anchorage Hotel(Anchorage)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,941)
Filter reviews
1,941 results
Traveller rating
876
725
225
67
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
725
225
67
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe crow's nestprincess cruisecaptain's deckwhale's tailathletic clubdowntown anchoragejunior suiteland tourcorner roomnice hoteltop floorluxury hotelsnow city caferestaurants and shopscruise linebit datedroom was spacious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,233 - 1,238 of 1,941 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. By far, this is the best hotel experience we have had in Alaska! The staff is friendly, professional and knowledgeable. The room was great. The hotel has four excellent restaurants to choose from. We highly recommend this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Junior suite with a view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowbear17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Snowbear17,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. What a nice review. It's always a pleasure to receive such high remarks. We love to take care of our locals and come visit us again sometime during the cold Fairbanks winter months and enjoy some relaxation and comfort. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for our last night in Alaska after our cruise/ tour. Very clean and comfortable, the beds were great and nice robes were provided. Shopping (trading posts to galleries) and restraunts ( pubs to 5 Star )are within walking distance. Not sure on the prices as it was included in the package.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Stephanie W,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and it's nice to see you enjoyed your stay. Checking out the surrounding areas is fun and there are some really cool spots just walking distance from the Hotel. Hope you had a great time in AK and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Although a little pricey during high season, this is an awesome place to stay in Anchorage. The staff's attention to detail was impressive. They were willing to go above and beyond to make our stay fantastic, including making sure when we checked in/out of the hotel to go on side adventures, that we got the same room and same level of hospitality.

I don't know about breakfast at the cook, as we just woke up and walked to Snow City Cafe, about a block away - prioritize this.

We did spend plenty of time in the restaurants, from the one on the top (amazing views), to tasting wine in the wine bar area, and of course, Fletcher's was a blast. Sit at the bar, and have great conversation with other travelers, as well as the bartender.

And although I didn't come to Alaska to sleep in a bed, the beds are AMAZING.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMHTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear LMHTravels,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Excellent review. Always nice to see you enjoyed the full Hotel experience. When our staff performs at a high level and goes above and beyond to positively impact your stay is truly meaningful. Snow City is great (heart attack on a plate with 2 eggs over easy) is heaven. The view you had from your room was crazy. We can't wait to see you again and provide another fantastic stay. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here at the end of a Alaska cruise/tour. Great location downtown near most everything. Restaurants, coffee shops, parks and shopping are all within a short walk. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent with varied menu. Hotel is three towers, so getting your bearings can be a slight issue, but all the staff was very helpful. Will definitely go back on my next Alaskan adventure.

Room Tip: Three towers, the higher the better the view of the city and river.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Robert L,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience with all our TripAdvisor friends. Providing great stays for our valued guests is something we try very hard at. Plush amenities and helpful service really make for a nice stay. Glad to see you explored the surrounding areas and enjoyed downtown Anchorage. We'll see you again during your next Alaskan adventure.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to yummy, fun restaurants and has lots of charm. There are also bars, restaurants, and shops in the hotel itself. The area around the hotel is nice and you can easily walk to the ocean for beautiful views. Sleep was quiet and comfortable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyliz802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear ladyliz802,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. I love it when our guests venture out in downtown Anchorage and take in the local scene. The various restaurants, art galleries, museums, and site seeing attractions make it easy to plan a fun leisure day. We look forward to your next visit and in the mean time enjoy life!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews