We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and elegant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable and elegant.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We loved our stay in the Hotel Captain Cook. The room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of Cook Inlet, and the staff was always pleasant and polite. If you stay, be sure to visit the Crow's Nest Lounge and Restaurant on the top of the hotel for beautiful views. We saw the sunset from there on a clear evening and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear RoamerLosAngeles,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and it's such a pleasure to be able to provide a memorable stay. The great comments about the staff and the time you spent in the Crow's Nest really resonate across the Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again and sharing another wonderful experience. Take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    658
    207
    61
    42
See reviews for
325
736
66
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

The Captain Cook is a nice hotel hanging on to its former glory. Very clean with all the services expected, friendly helpfull staff, large rooms, comfortable king size beds, adequate furnishings, good location downtown adjacent to good restaraunts, gift shopping, and sea views. Value on par with what you receive although parking and health club fees jack up the rate significantly.

Elevator upgrading causing frustrating wait times up and down at the time of my visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear PDHouston,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have many updates coming soon and we continually reinvest in the property to stay current. Parking in downtown Anchorage can be pricey but we offer it complimentary with our Packages which also offer breakfast credits and complimentary Athletic Club use. If you'd like to find out more about our packages please feel free to contact me so I can share some information guestservices@captaincook.com. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and have fun in Houston!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here on a recent trip, and fortunately I wasn't paying the bill, so I can't comment on the overall value of the hotel for the price. What I can tell you is that the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff is exceptional. The location is very good for doing anything you'd like in downtown Anchorage. The shops in the lobby area have just about anything you could want as a souvenir. I want to return to Anchorage soon, and would definitely consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: I think the views from Towers 1 and 2 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Beth1874,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review. It's always so nice to see you enjoyed everything about the Hotel and that our staff was helpful. We train to exceed our guests expectations and we look forward to continuing to do so. We'll see you again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

One representative gave my family an upgrade because we are both Army and Airforce (18years) out of appreciation. When we checked in all hell broke out because she did that for us, front desk clerk (Michael) was very rude, unprofessional, it was embarassing! He told us he would let it go this one time (like we authorized ourselves) that it won't happen again. Not a kid-friendly hotel, also recieved bad service from Fletchers. They could not get a simple burger correct it was brought back several times and when asked to speak to a manager he never came over! I was intrigued about the Captain Cook Hotel but not anymore! My first experience of this hotel was not an impressive one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Nicole0202,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. I apologize you didn't enjoy your stay. We offer complimentary upgrades based on availability and for special circumstances. I provided training to Michael and also the lady who provided the upgrade. We want to make sure our guests never perceive us as rude because that isn't what were here for. We're here to help make your stay and enjoyable as possible. We can all learn from this and I look forward to exceeding you expectations during your next stay. I can be reached either by phone 1.907.343.2249 or by email guestservices@captaincook.com. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We wanted a weekend get away in Anchorage and enjoy the city experience. The Captain Cook welcomed us at the door, parked our vehicle and took good care of us all weekend. The staff was very pleasant at all times, the rooms were clean and well kept. The food was very good as well! We certainly will do this again with The Captain Cook!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Robert S,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor community. Exceeding our guests expectations in all aspects of service and courtesy is our goal. We look forward to sharing another great weekend with you in the future. Take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I am a flight attendant and I stay everywhere. The hotel captain cook is definitely one of my all time favorites. The rooms are clean and I like the decor. The staff is nice, the wifi works, the location is great, the gym is awesome, and the beds and pillows are the best. If you plan on staying downtown anchorage I definitely recommend the hotel captain cook!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsterbearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Monsterbearman,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your wonderful review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Being such an experienced traveler you know Hotels inside and out. It's so rewarding to hear such good things from someone who sees so many sites and places around the country. We challenge ourselves daily to never be content with our product and continually provide training to all staff and update the Hotel with capital projects to ensure we are current. We look forward to seeing you next time around and stop in and find me, I'd love to say Hi!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My stay was lovely in every way - room, service (by everyone!) but particularly the "Healthy Heart" lunch at Fletchers....salmon, asparagus, and tomatoes...it was so tasty I ordered it the three days I was there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sawinsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear sawinsor,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor community. It's always so nice to see you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We are really pushing our Heart Healthy choices and I'm happy to see you loved the salmon, asparagus, and tomatoes dish. Thank you for the great comments about the staff and we can't wait to see you again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,469 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#24 of 73 in Anchorage
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing