We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do everything WELL.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They do everything WELL.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here a full week, and could NOT have had a better experience.

From the moment we checked in with the attentive front-desk staff, through every encounter with the gracious door men, every great meal at "Fletcher's" restaurant, every night spent in their quiet, clean, comfortable room, until we checked out 6 nights later, we were NEVER disappointed. Parking - no problem. Location - just right. Amenities - they have them.
Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamieb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear jamieb50,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. It's so rewarding hearing that you enjoyed everything about the Hotel and that the staff took such good care of you. We're all excited about your great comments and we look forward to sharing another memorable stay with you in the future. Side note, not sure if you're a basketball fan but OKC has a great team and they're really fun to watch. Have fun in Oklahoma and we'll see you again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    679
    211
    61
    43
See reviews for
337
764
68
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Could not expect any better service at Hotel Captain Cook. Greetings from the Doormen, guest service reps at the desk make you feel important and welcoming. Stayed many times and will continue to be guest..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Jim B,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. It's a pleasure to consistently provide great service to you and we will always strive to exceed your expectations. From all of us at The Hotel Captain Cook thank you and we can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful!! The beds were comfy and our view of the Prince William Sound was amazing. The athletic club is a nice extra and my whole family enjoyed the pool. The only downside is the parking... I don't like to pay for parking! The hotel is in a great location to the mall and great eateries! Next time We are in Anchorage it will be a toss up between Captain Cook and the Embassy Suites.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We are excited about the review and it's nice to see you enjoyed your stay. Parking can be expensive because the it's owned by either the city or private parking authorities. I would like to offer some info about the packages we have. Our room packages have complimentary self parking, a daily breakfast credit and more. These packages are very well received by our guests and exploring that option in the future might be right up your alley. If you want to reach out to me to gain more info I'd be happy to take the time to reserve the best possible booking for you. Talk to you soon and take care!

guestservices@captaincook.com

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The beds are comfortable, they are military friendly. I didn't spent a lot of time here because I was down for the weekend but it's a nice place to put your head. Parking isn't much during the week because the streets are small. So pay 20 at the parking garage a day wasn't cool.

The pool was always crowded and I assume it was because of the kid times but that's not a big deal.

Didn't eat at the restaurant cause it was mad $$$$$$$$$$ so I'd assume it was awesome.

All in all I liked it

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear TripAdviror Member,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. The Military is part of our family and we're very happy to extend a warm welcome to all our service men and women for protecting the great country we all love. We look forward to seeing you again. Summer is almost here!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Upon check-in I found a messy room with extra sheets and towels throughout, left on window ledges and the television stand. Room showed obvious wear and tear. Restaurant food and service still great, but the hotel is longer the grande dame of Alaska hotels.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pactravel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Pactravel67,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay. Room cleanliness is paramount in creating a wonderful experience and we missed our mark. We will take a look at our practices and train all parties to ensure this does not repeat. Please send me an email so we can speak further. Thank you and I look forward to talking with you soon.

guestservices@catpaincook.com

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nome, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

As most parents would agree..when staying in a hotel, all kids want to do is go to the pool. My 6yo wanted to go to the pool today, but the only time kids are allowed in the pool today (Saturday) is between 2-7pm (AFTER we have to check out). So at 9am, I called a lady at the Athletic Club. She said the pool was not busy and to go ahead and bring my daughter to the pool. We went to the locker room, got our swimsuits on, and then another lady came up to us and said my daughter absolutely could not go into the pool, no exceptions. As we were getting kicked out and walking out of the athletic club door, another lady, her young daughter, and mother were also getting the boot. The grandmother was telling the attendant how "disappointing" it was that the little girl was not allowed in the pool. Basically, I would not suggest this hotel if you're staying with kids. Or else, you'll be scheduling your activities (shopping, dining, etc.) around the pool's limited hours for children. We normally stay at The Captain Cook 2-3 times per year, but now, we'll find a different hotel that's more kid-friendly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank nomealaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear nomealaska,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We apologize about the designated times for swimming in the Athletic Club. We have water aerobics classes, lap pool swimming, and other activities that need a schedule to provide ample time for guests to participate in those programs. We also have designated swimming hours for the kiddos so they can have a blast in the pool. We will take a look at this because we never want anyone to get turned away because it's not designated time for swimming. Thank you again for letting us know. Take care and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As a former long-term resident of Anchorage I am quite familiar with the Hotel Captain Cook – known simply as "The Cook" by many locals. It has enjoyed a long-standing reputation as Anchorage's most upscale hotel. It is large, conveniently located right downtown, nicely appointed (although largely unchanged for decades), and is clearly visible in any skyline shot of Anchorage. The views of the city, the inlet and the mountains are very good from most rooms, depending which of the three towers you are in.

In a recent late-winter stay I found The Cook pleasant in most ways. And thanks to an earlier price promotion that I took advantage of, the rates were very competitive with the other major hotels in town. During the peak tourist summer season hotel rates can be quite high, like most hotels in Anchorage.

Disappointing, however, was the level of service at the mid-size breakfast restaurant just off the lobby where many guests start their day. The hard-working wait staff was clearly overwhelmed by the number of tables they were assigned. As a result, simple breakfast orders were taken slowly and the food came even slower. A guest should expect better of a deluxe hotel with food and drink rates that are inflated to begin with.

The rooms are quite nice, although not exceptional. Like the rest of the hotel, things seem a little dated but still upscale, clean and attractive. The use of heavy, dark woods and a ship-like theme (in honor of namesake Captain Cook who explored the region) feels substantial and inviting.

You'll like The Cook, but let's hope management does a better job staffing and scheduling. And expect large crowds in the summer when large tour operators and cruise ships lodge tourists here by the busload.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in either of the two tallest towers. The third, shortest tower may have some obstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWbasecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear NWBasecamp,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Having been a former long term resident and knowing the history of the Hotel it is nice to see that you have followed us for some time. The common phrase "The Cook" is definitely well used by the locals and it's an identifiable label for this Anchorage Landmark. If anyone was to ever find themselves lost in the downtown area or suffering from too much intake via the local food vendors, grab a local and say, "Hey, how do I get to The Cook?" I know the friendly Anchorage patrons will guide you with ease. I apologize about the service you received during breakfast. We have recently had a change in management. The staff works so hard and I look forward to seeing the new Manager provide the type of leadership we all want. We'll see you again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,493 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing