We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more from a luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Expected more from a luxury hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As a business traveler, I never stay in luxury hotels, so I'm spoiled by my regular places I know and love - the Hilton chain. We only stayed here since the room was cheaper than any of the Hilton's, but there were a few things I found lacking. For one, no sliding glass entry doors, so you have to maneuver your luggage through tall, heavy manual doors, which is not easy to do. Two, the wi-fi was extremely slooooooow and painful to use. Three, only one pillow on the beds?? Come on, everyone needs at least two, right? Four, the bed was too soft. It may have been a pillow top or had a thick pad on it, but it did not make for a good night's sleep. The location was great, as were the views from our floor, but I will definitely be sticking to my tried and true hotels the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Jen G,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and right a review. The front doors are not sliding but we do have a doorman and valet staff to help with arrival and departure. The Wifi has been recently upgraded, and each room with a king bed has 4 pillows. Were you staying in a room with double beds? Happy to see you enjoyed the views. Colorado and Alaska are both lucky to have fantastic mountain ranges and we're pleased to be able to provide a since of home for you while you stayed with us. I know you're a Hilton patron but you're part of our family now, so whenever you travel back we'd love to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    637
    202
    59
    42
See reviews for
319
711
66
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Best staff in the whole state!! Friendly, professional, very "can do" and willing to make your stay the best no matter how long you are there! Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great food, excellent room service and great location! We live in the area and like to come into town once every month or so. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We love Tower 3 for the view, but Tower 1 is great also!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lv2traval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Lv2traval,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. What a nice review. It' always a pleasure to provide an outstanding stay and hear that the staff left such a good impression on you. We are guest first and can't wait to see you again. Take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed there as part of our tour company, We were put into a room with city view & next to the lift, This was a bad choice of room, As i was that tied still from all the tavel we have completed in the last 2 days, we feel asleep, We have breakfast at the hotel, they were great with the service & food was very big, Which help us with our long trip of the day off to the wildness, if i knew where i was staying, i would choose a better room than this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cboswell35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear cboswell35,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and sharing your 2013 experience with us. We are currently in the process of finishing upgrading the elevators. Some travelers like yourself are very light sleepers and we understand that any noise can be disruptive and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Our goal is provide the best possible stays for everyone and exceeding our guest expectations is paramount. When you travel back to Anchorage please send me an email so I can hand pick your room. Take care and I hope to visit Australia someday, bucket list!!!

guestservices@captaincook.com

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I spent the weekend at cpt. cook, was great, love it there! The atmosphere in my opinion, is classy, liked the patagonia store in the lobby area, loved the womans athletic club, crows nest upstairs is wonderful as always, the parking guy is cool, i like the free wifi ...Thanks to the captain!!

Room Tip: any view is good at the cpt.! go to the crows nest at the top, can see everything in town :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Meredith A,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. The '"classy" comment is well received. The theme and layout of the Hotel is warm and welcoming with an atmosphere designed to create a very comfortable setting for all visitors. We can't wait to see you again and take care.

p.s. Summer is almost here, endless sunshine!!!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We only stayed here for two nights when we arrived in Anchorage after midnight last summer as part of our Princess Cruisetour. Very nice rooms, and the hotel is in a great location. We walked around Anchorage the next day--a very nice, low-key city, and hiked along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which was enjoyable. We had dinner at the Crow's Nest which was excellent, and breakfast in the morning at their cafe was excellent.

Nice hotel in a great location with great dining. So glad we booked our tour to start in Anchorage because I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireflymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear fireflymd,

Thank you staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Last summer the weather played a great part in welcoming guests to Anchorage. We set records with temperatures and sunny days and I hope that all 2014 visitors will be lucky to share the same warm (haha no pun intended) welcome. If you travel back to Anchorage we'd love to see you again. Take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great services, great food!! Ate at the Crow's Nest; had a spectacular view and amazing food!! Roe was the waitress, super nice!! Fletcher's; excellent Bloody Marys by Deb!! Then at the Whale's Tale; great food and lots of whine!!! All was outstanding!! 1st Class all the way!! Must go again...and again!!!!

Room Tip: Went with the Captain's Deck suite...Awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Bryan W,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review. Providing a comfortable stay with great amenities is one thing but hitting a high point with service is another. Taking care of our guests is the foundation that built our Hotel and we will always be guest first. Thanks for mentioning Roe. She's a total sweetie and an asset to both the Crow's Nest and the Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again and we can't wait to recreate another great stay.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here a full week, and could NOT have had a better experience.

From the moment we checked in with the attentive front-desk staff, through every encounter with the gracious door men, every great meal at "Fletcher's" restaurant, every night spent in their quiet, clean, comfortable room, until we checked out 6 nights later, we were NEVER disappointed. Parking - no problem. Location - just right. Amenities - they have them.
Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamieb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear jamieb50,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. It's so rewarding hearing that you enjoyed everything about the Hotel and that the staff took such good care of you. We're all excited about your great comments and we look forward to sharing another memorable stay with you in the future. Side note, not sure if you're a basketball fan but OKC has a great team and they're really fun to watch. Have fun in Oklahoma and we'll see you again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing