We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay before our cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,228 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Good stay before our cruise”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Captain Cook hotel for 2 nights and when we arrived (since we booked through Princess) it was screwed up some. Princess tends to do that and after all these years of doing this you'd think they had it down pat, well they don't. Our attitude became, just deal with it. The hotel has been redone and is very night, especially since the cost is very high. The location is great with many restaurants, museums and other sites are within walking distance. I used the gym which was wonderful and they did charge me $5. which I felt was OK. They have three towers and it does take a short learning curve to figure out where things are (LOL). They have a few restaurants in the hotel which we did not eat in. As I said they are surrounded by other good places. The hotel turned out to be fine, but when it was time to leave Princess had things screwed up. Buses weren't ready and you would thing this was the first time they every did this.

Room Tip: We were in tower 2 and had a great view from room 0943
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Richard F,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed the Hotel and our staff. We all remember you from your TripAdvisor Tag photo. I think almost all of the staff said, "That guy has the best chops I've ever seen". Major points! I am sorry some things were mixed up with the tour but it was our pleasure to help with making it better. 391 reviews??? Wow, you are a travel monster. I hope one day I can visit as many places as you have. Thank you for spending time in AK and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    657
    206
    61
    42
See reviews for
324
734
66
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cassington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a hotel that seems to specialise in receiving large numbers of guests who are passing through on the way to or from a flight or a cruise. You might expect therefore that their staffing and organisation would allow for that. We arrived as part of a large party to join a land tour, leading on to a cruise. Our rooms were not ready - should not be a problem - but we were given conflicting information about the storage of our luggage, trailing back and forth across the foyer, and then the concierge staff appeared to go AWOL. Next morning, in good time for breakfast but 20 minute wait to be seated, fifteen minutes for coffee to arrive and order taken, another fifteen minutes for food to arrive with clock ticking to booked departure. All in all poor organisation by the management. Individual staff very pleasant, good sized, clean, well equipped roons, pity the service didn't match them

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Nigel A,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I would like to address your concerns.

Our main goal is to help every guest to the fullest and exceed their expectations whether your with a big group or independent. I remember your group specifically because we worked directly with your tour provider to ensure a smooth arrival and departure.

Your group arrived between 1:00 and 1:30 p.m. Our check in time is at 4;00 p.m. and we try to get our guests in early if we can. The only obstacle here was that we were sold out the night before so early check ins on your arrival date weren't available which I apologize about.

All luggage was stored in our Ballroom which was locked after the unload process. Everyone was directed to the Bell/Concierge desk for either delivery or pick up of their luggage later in the day.

Communication is huge and that's something we can always get better at. I will speak with my team and we will use your comments as a training tool. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was looking for a nice hotel for my family (my husband and I and our 60+ year old parents) to stay in at the tail end of our Alaska cruise. My husband prefers hotels to B&B's, and I wanted somewhere local rather than a chain. Hotel Captain Cook was our best bet, and we weren't disappointed! I opted to pay the $30 more (from the Deluxe King and Double rooms) to get the Captain's deck for my family, and it was definitely worth it! The lounge on the Captain's Deck is lovely, with quite a nice spread for the afternoon cocktail hour and the continental style breakfast. Simply having this lounge with its amenities was definitely worth the extra money. Additionally, the staff was incredibly kind to our parents, as we had a full day in Anchorage before catching a redeye flight home. The staff allowed our parents to keep a key to the Captain's Deck lounge in order to rest during the day after touring around a bit. The lounge itself has a fantastic view of the mountains and the sound. Just a great place all around.

The rooms were nicely appointed, and quite large. It was especially nice to shower under the large shower head after those tiny cruise ship showers! Our room had a great view of the sound, and we spent quite some time just looking out the window. I should also note that the location is great - just a few blocks from the visitor's center (if you are coming from a cruise) and right in the middle of town, just minutes from many attractions and a great walking trail along the sound.
The concierge held our luggage for us while we were out for the day and quickly returned it along with taxis to the airport when we asked. We would most certainly stay here again and recommend it. I also recommend a visit to their fine dining restaurant, The Crow's Nest; it is fantastic.

Room Tip: Tower 2, even numbered rooms have lovely views of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank springdove42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear springdove42,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Such a nice review. Where do we start? You touched on so many details so I'll just keep it simple then. What a pleasure to take care of you and your parents. Spreading a warm and comforting welcome across generations is truly memorable. I hope you take a slice of Alaska back with you to Jersey and remember the Captain Cook and all our staff are here whenever you make it back our way. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a Princess group tour. The hotel was good, good location and we had a corner room which overlooked the water which was good. The staff were friendly and helpful with us. We had dinner and breakfast there and both meals were buffet style and had a good variety of food choices. The rooms were clean and comfortable but the hotel is a bit dated as some other reviewers have noted. There is also a small convenience store on site which was handy.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear SalandBrad,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience across such a widely viewed platform. People all over the world visit TripAdvisor and your comments mean everything to us. We look forward to continually updating the property and exceeding your expectations in all aspects of service and courtesy. Have fun down under and we'll see you again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Captain Cook and we had a pleasant experience. We stayed in one of the captain's rooms on the top floors and the benefits of the concierge level were well worth it. Free drinks, snacks, newspapers, and a beautiful view could not be beat. Also, if you're going to park a car overnight, you might as well pay a few more dollars for the room so that the parking becomes complimentary!

The hotel and our room itself were okay, not great. Things were very clean, but seemed to be missing just a little sparkle. The decorations of the hotel and the maps illustrating the events and travels of their namesake was a nice touch, but I left wanting more. A very adequate and pleasant experience, but I left feeling kind of blah.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Tom P,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to provide a "pleasant experience". I love the Captain's Deck, such a good value! The Hotel art work and design are modeled from the voyages of Captain James Cook, a famous English Explorer.
We look forward to your next visit and have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here on our way back from Denali National Park, after a cruise tour on the Crown Princess, and it was a great experience. The room was spacious and very comfortable. There was a mix-up with the beds, but the hotel staff quickly provided us with a roll away bed that was also very comfortable. Everything was very clean, and service was prompt considering how many guests showed up all at once after the cruise tour. Flemings Bar was great and even the little coffe shop had everything we needed. The only downside was how busy it was with many buses ariving and leaving all in the same time frame. That made it a little hectic. Still logistically, the Princess staff handled it well. Overall a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Had a corner room with windows on both walls. The View was amazing looking out into the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear ShannonRV,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We have great relationships with companies including Princess Tours and we're happy to take such good care of our mutual guests. It's nice to see you had the chance to visit Fletcher's and the Cubby and enjoyed their atmospheres. If you ever make it back to Anchorage we'd love to see you again.

Sincerely
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Quotes as being a luxury hotel in Anchorage, this place is extremely dated. Our room had lights that were broken, dirty washcloths in the bathroom on arrival, and uncovered outlets behind the beds. Add in a major Anchorage power outage (not their fault) but no back up generators so the hotel went dark for a few hours and we had to huff it up and down the stairs to be able to leave. Housekeeping staff acted like guests were an inconvenience but rest of the staff were nice. Whale's Tail was decent but a little overpriced. Next time we visit anchorage, we will stay elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Kate N,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I apologize you didn't enjoy your stay.

It's unfortunate that Anchorage experienced a major blackout due the extremely high winds, thus affecting your stay. We have backup generators and they were running smoothly providing the Hotel with emergency power while ML&P worked to get the city back to normalcy.

We never want you to feel that you're an inconvenience to us. It's exactly the opposite. We are blessed and fortunate to have you here. We look forward to your next visit and exceeding your expectations in all aspects of service and courtesy.

Take care and have a great summer.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
1,468 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#24 of 73 in Anchorage
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing