We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for visiting Anchorage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I spent one night at the Captain Cook for a work trip to Anchorage. The location is great for exploring downtown Anchorage. All of the restaurants and shops are a short walk from the hotel. The rooms are a little dated but the hotel is definitely nice for a stay for business or vacation. Beds were comfortable and water pressure strong. There are a lot of shops in the lobby and it has a somewhat pricey restaurant downstairs that I had breakfast in, which was good but not great. It also has a nice bar downstairs that had local craft beers on tap. Overall, a very good choice for staying in Anchorage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnboundTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear UnboundTraveler,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We understand some areas of the Hotel need updating and we have plans to proceed with tackling those projects. We look forward to becoming your preferred choice in Anchorage and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here Pre- Princess Land Tour, and we waited for over an hour for our room to be ready ! Got in at 345 in afternoon and check in was to be 3 PM. We had to keep asking if it was ready and finally it was. Everyone else had their rooms assigned and ready while we waited. (We actually were there quite awhile before the buses started coming in from the airport). Very frustrating. No apologies either. Guess they figured we had no other choice so it didn't matter ! We do not normally stay in a 5 star hotel, so maybe I expected too much ! Missed the continental breakfast of a less expensive hotel. Rooms were a little dated. Hotel was downtown so could look around there in the evening for while. Would we stay here again........No not really.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scrappermom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear scrappermom45,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and I would like to address your concerns in a positive manner. Check in is at 4:00 pm. I apologize we were unable to have a room ready for you no earlier than 3:45 p.m. If we can get our guests to their rooms earlier we definitely try because we understand that people are tired from traveling, looking forward to taking a shower and freshening up, as well as just wanting to settle in. I hope you find great places to stay in the future and if you make it back to Anchorage we'd love to see you return.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I spent one night at the Captain Cook at the conclusion of our cruise/land tour package through Princess Cruise Lines. We were not familiar with this property and it was pre-assigned to us as a part of the transfer package.

What a pleasant surprise! This is a top notch establishment with all of the amenities and elegance of a premium property. Perfectly located close to shopping and a variety of dining options, the Captain Cook was the perfect way to end a 10 day visit to Alaska.

Each and every employee greeted us with a smile and kind greeting. The service was prompt and informative - from check-in to the airport shuttle driver.

The Captain Cook would be a wonderful choice when in Anchorage for business or traveling with the family. Such a nice experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raweekley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear raweekley,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and the time you spent to share it with our TripAdvisor community. We're guest first and we look forward to positively impacting each and visitor. Next time when you visit bring the fam!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first time in Alaska and we were reassured by the way the Hotel reached out to us by email before we left home. I called the day before we flew to Anchorage and requested a nice room with a view. We were given just that: a corner one on the 18th floor with wonderful views west and south.
The room was large and well-equipped: the Starbucks coffee blend for the coffee maker was excellent.
Not knowing the city, we were pleased to find the hotel's downtown location ideal: without a car, we could walk to the main attractions and recommended restaurants.
We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that aspect.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolittle2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear seaviewer39,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Love the review and we're pleased to provide a "Perfect Start to your Vacation". Happy to take care of your request for the high floor. Alaska is gorgeous and who doesn't want to be high up to see it all. We can't always fulfill every request but when we can, and it's this appreciated, it really drives staff moral making it a pleasure to serve. I understand FL is a ways away but AK has so many wondrous places to visit you have to come back. Until then, enjoy life to the fullest!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is in downtown Anchorage and was in walking distance to the Tony Knowles walking/biking trail along with other points of interest. As others have mentioned, the hotel is based on a ship theme and does seem to have many cruise passengers as guests. Many shops are based in the hotel lobby and there seems to be a variety of restaurants available for those who choose not to venture out. Our room was very spacious and included both a refrigerator and safe. Most comfortable beds, a great "rain shower" fixture in the bath, and very quiet. Even though the hotel had many guests, we never waited long for the elevator. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher up your room, the better to see the natural wonders that surround the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear JerMarsh,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your detailed review and we're happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hotel's theme is based on Captain James Cook, a very famous English Explorer, and has been well received by our guests. Whether you're walking, running, biking, or whatever, the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail is a blast and I recommend everyone exploring it. Thank you for saying we have a "Beautiful" hotel and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were meeting my parents at Hotel Captain Cook. We had reservations for two rooms. My parents had travel delays and learned very late that they may not make it into town that day. I asked the desk clerk if they could hold the room for them in the event they made it, but not charge them if they did not arrive. (My husband said they would never do that!). Well, guess what? Because they were not fully booked that night, they did exactly as I requested! My parents did not arrive until the next day. They were not charged, despite less than 24 hour notice. In addition to that, the door man was great. He was polite and helpful. He also refilled my reusable water bottle with fresh icky water. Everyone was great. I would stay again. By the way, no need to pay $24/day for valet parking. there is plenty of street parking. Meters are free from 6:00pm until 9:00am.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Tracy W,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Your review was a pleasure to read. Exceeding our guests expectations in all aspects of service and courtesy is our goal. I'm happy to see that you were able to meet up with your parents and ended up sharing a great experience together. If you make it back up this way from Austin we'd love another opportunity to take care of you. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It's almost like being in another era as soon as you walk in the door of the Captain Cook. My traveling companions and I were debating how old it was based on the decor, the design, and the overall feel, and couldn't decide, so we finally asked a bellboy. I had said mid-60s, my companions said mid-70s, and as it turns out, we were both right since the towers were built at different times!

We stayed here as part of a package, just like pretty much everyone else at the hotel, but it was a pleasant stay. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet, with very good curtains to block the midnight sun. The staff were courteous and helpful and the doormen had excellent restaurant recommendations. Snow City Cafe really is the best breakfast in Anchorage.

We didn't see enough of Anchorage, which seems like a fascinating city. Maybe we'll come back and stay at the Captain Cook again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trigeekgirl236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear trigeekgirl236,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your nice review and we're pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Happy to see our staff were helpful and courteous and recommended a great restaurant. Come back and soak up some more of Anchorage, there's lots to do, We'll see you again!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
633 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
1,180 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
116 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £121 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing