We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, OH
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent two nights at the Hotel Captain Cook. The first night we got there very late after flying in from Ohio. Check-in was easy and the room was fine. It was a great location to use as a home base as we explored Anchorage before beginning our Land Tour. It was easy to walk around town and pop into the hotel as needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doves8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Doves8,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. What a great review! Providing exactly what our guests need is something we try to do for everyone. Speedy, cheerful checkins with a nice room, and great location, really help our guests get started off on the right foot to their Alaskan vacations. Thank you for visiting from Ohio and we can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    679
    211
    61
    43
See reviews for
337
764
68
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Prior to and after our Denali trip we stayed at Capt Cook's. Beautiful hotel and central location. I've stayed here many times and always look forward to returning. Plenty to see and do ie ; we rented bikes two blocks away and road on a beautiful bike path along the waterfront all the way back to the airport. Watching the busiest seaplane base in the world, is quite a treat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jake B,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Such a nice review. It's always a pleasure to have a positive impact on a guests stay and really show the value. Grabbing some bikes and trekking out to Lake Hood, the world's busiest seaplane base is so fun. There is also a fun bar right by the Lake that you can relax, have a cold drink, and soak in the sun. We can't wait until your next visit!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here after our cruise and had the rooms booked through Princess. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It's very large but didn't seem crowded. The rooms had plenty of space and easily accommodated our 6 suitcases. The bathrooms are a bit small but for only one night it was fine. The location was nice - we were able to walk to restaurants and to the bike rental place for a beautiful ride along the coast. Check-in wasn't until 3pm so you need to kill time after arriving from Whittier if you're coming off a Princess cruise. Overall, a good choice of hotels.

Room Tip: Room on a high floor has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kf17020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear kf17020,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and we're very happy to provide a nice stay after your cruise. Six suitcases? I hope you started with 3 and brought back some Alaskan souvenirs to the family. The coastal trail is a must see for all visitors and be sure to do the downtown walk. Tons of great shops, restaurants, and fun attractions. Take care and we'll see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wethersfield, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our 12-day Alaskan cruise / land tour. This hotel is top-notch. I had read that the rooms were dark and dated, but that could not be further from the truth. Perhaps they were recently renovated, but both rooms my family had were bright and airy and spotless. The hotel is centrally located, and everyone on the staff seemed eager to help and go the extra mile to make sure everything was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear John C,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay.
The Hotel is continuously being updated and we value everyones opinions. Such a pleasure to provide a bright, comfortable stay for you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again if you find your way back to AK from CT.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am used to travel a lot and I am also used to the many hassels coming with booking a hotel.However, our recent experience at the Captain Cook was the worst I ever had in travelling for business or private reasons in the last 10 years. Just recently we finished a two-week trip in Alaska and made a reservation at the Captain Cook for the last night of our stay in the US before going home to Europe. We made all the right reservation steps, provided a credit card and got a confirmation letter well in advance. However, when we wanted to check in on the day of arrival the reception of the Captain Cook told us boldly that they had to cancel our reservation since they are over-booked - alternatively they had already made a reservation for us at a low-quality place across the street. Although we were highly disappointed - the respective manager on-duty did not care at all about our complains and only after a lot of discussions the manager was willing to help us in bringing our stuff and the car to the other place. Here, we found out that the Captain Cook was even failing to ensure our wish to have two beds in the room such that I had to sleep on a primitive rollaway bed at the end of the day. Overall, a highly frustrating experience - and only one thing is for sure: We will never book the Captain Cook again when returning to Alaska next year

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cosmonaut01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Cosmonaut01,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay and I would like to address your comments in a positive way. It is very unfortunate that we had a maintenance issue during your arrival thus taking rooms off market and not available. This is something that we never want to happen but we cannot provide you with a room that is only at 50%. We are more than happy to welcome you back and offer a complimentary night. Please contact me and I will personally take care of your reservations and provide the type of stay we were all hoping for you.

guestservices@captaincook.com

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I had stayed at the Captain Cook when I was a little girl growing up in Kenai. When we were planning a trip to back to Alaska 35 years later I knew the Captain Cook had to be part of our trip. I was not disappointed. The CC was still in great shape. The room was fantastic. We loved walking out the front door to shops, restaurants and bars. I recommend the Captain Cook.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Chris K,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Wonderful review and much appreciated. Such lore! Growing up on the peninsula and visiting when you were a little girl, gaining a sense of wonder that stuck with you, only to come back and have it all be just like you remembered. That's a real story and something we are honored to share with you. Look me up when you plan on coming back and I'll do something extra special for you!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We cheched in July 25, 2014. The front desk assigned the room on 3rd floor.
The downstair makes noise till early morning 2a.m. The nise kept my wife awake all night long. The most redicular thing was the surge a $114 of breakfirst on my bill while I checked out this morning at 5 a.m. And head to Katmai NP. The font desk lady told me that she had not authorith to delete even I yold her that I did not take this breakfirst. My bill remains suspending there and waitng back from Katmai to close.
We checked in lots of hotels united states, no elsewhere has this bad attitude for their custermors. If you were me, you definitely not come back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 466marshalll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter E, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear 466marshall,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. I apologize you didn't enjoy your stay and would like to address your comments in a positive way. Sometimes downtown Anchorage can get noisy and we offer multiple room locations and other amenities to help quite the bustling downtown scene. The breakfast can be easily remedied. Please contact me at guest services@captaincook.com and we'll get this straightened out. Talk to you soon.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,493 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing