We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland but adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Bland but adequate”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We stayed as part of a small package group of English people travelling on a small expedition cruise ship.
Perfectly adequate for our 2 night stay prior to the cruise but would not personally chose.
Caters for the mass tourism market and is obviously the long term choice of the main cruise ship lines, some of which have offices there! As such it was overrun with mainly middle aged / old Americans.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    654
    206
    60
    42
See reviews for
323
730
66
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
frbill92@hotmail.com
Level Contributor
242 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I have made countless trips to Anchorage for business and especially leisure. This was the first time I stayed at the Captain Cook. It was pricey but well worth the money. In the past I've stayed at the Westmark, Sheraton, Hilton--but there is no comparison to this remarkable hotel. Let me highlight a few things I loved. First, I loved the location. it was close to everything. The check-in staff was friendly and accommodating. The Hotel is classy inside from the moment you walk into the lobby. But the rooms are what make this hotel a winner for me. The bathroom decor was attractive and plush. The bed was heavenly. I was on the 11th floor and had a spectacular view of the inlet. The room decor was stylish with a flat screen TV. Like I said, it was a bit spendy, but well worth the extra money if you want to pamper yourself. It's as good as any 5 star hotel I've stayed in for beauty and comfort.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frbill92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I am a frequent business guest at the Captain Cook, I visit 3 times a year. The hotel is a throwback to a time of more unique hotels when the chains were not as ubiquitous. The Captain Cook isn't that pretty from the outside but that which is lacking on the outside is more than made up for on the inside. Great coffee shop in the am, great food in several restaurants in the pm. The rooms are nice not fantastic but always clean and comfortable with nice beds/sheets and good blackout curtains if you visit in the summer. If you can get the VIP floor you have a nice lounge with drinks/snacks and a really great view. Great location for walking around the city and close proximity to some good restaurants if you wish to leave the hotel. The service has always been good and the people friendly. Some of the best native art can be seen in the galleries in the hotel. Expect to pay some big dollars here but the quality is top notch. Even if you don't stay at the Cook its worth a visit for the galleries and lunch at Fletcher's its one the best lunch spots in the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrock3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The Captain Cook is named for the famous british explorer Capt. James Cook who came to Alaska seeking adventure & discovery. The hotel lives up to this legacy by offering guests a comfortable and convenient location from which they can explore and enjoy all that Anchorage has to offer.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank attakula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I love the Captain Cook. It is not a cookie cutter hotel. It has charm and personality. The one thing it doesn't have is air conditioning. That is OK most of the time, hey, it's Alaska. Open windows serve the purpose unless there is a heat wave. However, it is much better to be higher in the hotel in order to avoid the road noise. Most everything is walking distance and the views from the hotel are great. Again - they are better on the upper floors.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexaninAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Enjoyed our stay in Tower B. The concierge was fabulous and obtained a private dining room at Sullivan's Steakhouse for our family of 15 where we had an exceptional meal.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank patgammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed at the Captain Cook Hotel for one night before our train to Seward and cruise ship. Staff was really exceptional, we had room in tower three with great view of city, newly furnished room. Our window did open and we were able to get plenty of fresh air. We never heard any street noise and it was June 20, big celebration in town. We would stay there again upon return to Anchorage. My husband was wanting large screen TV for golf tournament and they opened a closed area so he could watch the match.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
1,468 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing