We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for romantic getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was our last hotel stop before getting our flight back home and was booked through Princess. We had no complaints whatsoever. Room was great, service was good and staff was friendly. We didn't have food included however we had dinner at Fletchers' once and they had good food and service.

Overall it was a good hotel and I would recommend it for a nice romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oRi_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    633
    201
    59
    41
See reviews for
311
704
66
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

I've stayed here several times as well as the Millennium. I loved the Cook as there are several restaurants and shops in the facility. The site was clean, wonderful service and location.

Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DianaBWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

No 'leisure' rooms for tour to 'hold over'
Saw the wonderful GOv. Palin though! LOL.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank nitemare530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

I spent three nights in Tower C, and must say I was uncomfortable. This tower is far from the lobby, and the walk to the lobby was a little frightening when a person shambled in an unlocked door and asked for money. I said I had none and kept going. There are several entrances to the hotel, and only the one at the lobby had security, and this one not in the early morning hours.

I hope there is more security during the summer months.

The hallway carpeting was badly stained, and there were a couple of stain marks on the carpeting in my room.

My room was very, very clean - except for the stains on the carpet. The bedding was nice, and I slept well. There were plenty of towels, although no towel bars. How was I to comply with the request to go green by hanging my towels if I didn't want them changed if there was nowhere to hang towels?

I will say that the staff of the hotel is wonderful. Everyone was very kind, very helpful, and eager to help however they could. I do understand that the rooms are being remodeled, and I had an old room.

I don't think the walls are very thick, either. There was somebody snoring like crazy in the room next to mine the last night, and that was impossible! So impossible that I checked out very early.

I would recommend the hotel, but not the tower where I stayed. The view was incredible, though.

Because of the need to remodel the tower, I question the four stars.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimzmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

Both my husband and I have lived in Alaska for 30 years plus. He travels often on business trips and have stayed in many different hotels. Captian Cook is still one of our favorite places to stay. The hotel is classic, the location is superb. What makes the Cook a step above is the amenties in the room and the service.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funinthesunak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

The hotel was great. Good food, beautiful views and within walking distance of shops and cafe's. Room was very clean but you need to open the window to move the air. The room can become warn. We opened the door to the hall to ventilate the room and bring in cooler air.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOPLIN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

This hotel in downtown Anchorage provided a comfortable and enjoyable home away from home; rooms were very well appointed, clean, comfortable and great views of the city

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MOTRAVELERJoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Property: The Hotel Captain Cook
Address: 939 W 5th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel
The Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing