We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party all night whether you like it or not in the land of midnight son”
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 4 July 2012

As part of a Holland America cruise tour package, my daughter and I were booked into the Westmark Anchorage. The lobby and restaurant held such promise as we entered the property. But as we traveled down the hall to our room, you can tell this hotel has had a cheap carpet install over the last 5 years. The property owner has put minimal money into cheap carpeting. It has 20 year old bedspreads and the foam pillows felt just as old. No options for feather pillows (called the front desk). There were cigarette burns in the foam blankets (who uses these anymore). Everything else was at least 20 years old (furniture, re-done bathroom). The towels were some of the lowest quality that I have ever had in a hotel room. There was so much furniture in the room it was hard to maneuver our luggage around the room. The furniture was definitely old with stains and finish coming off of it. The room seemed clean but because of the age of everything, you couldn't help to feel it was dirty and run down. The room was facing the city and was noisy. We could hear young adults partying until 2am and then the garbage trucks at 5am. I have stayed next to airports with less noise than this property. The manager needs to go down to Fairbanks and take a look at the Westmark property down there to see how to re-do his rooms right! I would advise that Holland America boycott this hotel until they upgrade the rooms. You are paying top dollar and there are so many more options convenient to downtown Anchorage!

Room Tip: I would ask to preview a room first; look in the bath tub and try the bed out. Run as fast as you c...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
There are newer reviews for Westmark Anchorage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

We were booked into the Westmark as part of a Gray Line tour package. It's in a good location, and the upper floors have nice views of the city. The rooms themselves are nothing special -- clean and simple. No refrigerator in rooms - this would have been nice. The restaurant downstairs is good, but very pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed one night in June and thank goodness it wasn't more. The room was large, but dusty and dirty and really old. Being the "last frontier" is no excuse for worn out looks, poor upkeep, and unfriendly staff. Lots of noise outside, late at night. This is a Holland America property and tells you a lot about the company.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were just looking for a room and this fit the bill but it fell a bit short of impressive. The room was clean etc but the balcony door wouldn't close completely so it was a bit noisy. The idea of the balcony was nice but from the 4th floor all we saw was some basic city and a mess-o homeless people (including one defecating in the park across the street) so the balcony was not so welcoming. Anchorage itself isn't that impressive to look at so it's not worth paying for a balcony.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lomunchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Had the oppertunity to stay at 5 different Westmark Hotels this past month. It was during a land tour of Alaska my wife and I took, all the people that we delt with was very friendly and eager to help any way they could. Every room we were in had plenty of room and was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigdog650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Room was nice. Bed was comfortable. Traffic noise was heard all night. Ice machine across the hall dropped ice every few minutes. No sleep due to noise. Refrigerator and microwave would be nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganOreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

just returned from a holland america land/sea tour to alaska and the yukon. we stayed at westmark hotels in anchorage,fairbanks,tok,whitehorse,and skagway.the had a common theme:ALL WERE VERY CLEAN AND WELL KEPT.some were newer, some were fancier, but all were well maintained
westmark does and excellent job.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
471 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,575 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
703 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 74 in Anchorage
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £64 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel
Westmark Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing