We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We stay with this hotel as a package deal and when we got there we was trying to find somewhere to eat and I went down and ask the grey line tour group that is located in the hotel and the suggested the hotel bar & grill boy was that a bad mistake went over and stand for 5 minutes and I finally ask one of the girls that work there if I could order and take the food back upstairs to the room and she took me that I had to wait for a server, had 2 of them pass me and never ask if I needed to be seated or to take a order NOTHING, which I am glad because I went back to the desk and ask the girl if there was any good place close by and she told me about a pizza place if you like pizza this is the place for you it is called UNCLE JOE's PIZZERIA and it is the best I every tasted, went there the last day that I was in Achorage also..
The only other problem we had was we wanted to leave some of our luggage in their storage so we called down to storage and they said they would send a guy up to our room with stuff that we need to put on our suitcases, the guy didn't know what he was doing and we would ask him question and he wouldn't know the answers and when we got back to the hotel 3 days later, the poor guy that had to find the suitcases took him a bit because the guy who took them dowm didn't do his job right......
The room was clean and it was a nice view if you are higher up..

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2008

I stayed at the Westmark for an overnight before departing to Whittier for a cruise. The hotel is in a great central location! One block from the Eaton Center mall and lot's of great restaurants, bars and shops withing walking distance. If you are there on the weekend, there is a great flea market a few blocks from the hotel.

The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. It could use a little cosmetic work, but that's about it. Each room has a small walkout balcony. We were on the 7th floor facing north and friends were on the same side on the 3rd floor. They said that it started getting noisy about 600am when the Airport Bus would park and idle it's engine, but higher up, we heard nothing.

Check the website constantly for their rates. I originally got a web special for $129 per night, but one day I happened to see the same rate now at $89!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

At $181/night, we expected much more from the Westmark.
*Room not ready, had to come back
*Asked for a good restaurant while we waited...never even mentioned their own
*Trash can full upon check in
*Poor lighting
*Had to ask for coffee two of three days
*Never replaced shampoo/soap
*3rd floor room looked out on Youth Shelter
*Had to pay for parking
*No offer on part of front desk to compensate
*Phoned hotel upon return regarding parking fee ($24) and told Orbitz was to fault

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank classicstitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Arrived from London after a 20 hour journey late in the evening. We got a great greeting and allocated a room overlooking 5th Ave. Room was fine, although traffic noise was a little intrusive. Room and beds were clean and the bed comfortable. Although there were several cruise tours using the hotel at the same time, it was quiet inside the hotel.

Within easy walking distance, just across the road, is a microbrewery, the Glacier Brewery, that serves good food.

Five minutes away on foot, on 3rd Ave is Snow City, a good place for breakfast. Warning, it can get very busy!

The hotel is located in the middle of downtown Anchorage, so all amenities are close to hand. My only minor complaint was that we had to pay for parking in the hotel carpark.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

Our forced stay at the Westmark was part of the land package after a cruise booked with Holland America Line. We were excited to be in Anchorage but when we got to our room, across from the cleaning teams headquarters, we were so disappointed. The noise from the workers lasted well into after dinner time. The room had unusual oders that we couldn't place because there were so many different ones. The sliding door to the outside was rusted shut, we managed to get it opened a bit then we couldn't get it closed using extreme force. The outside noise from downtotown celebrations was provided by constant revvving Harley's going up and down the adjacent streets until 1 AM. The room next door was a high school graduation party that went on until we passed out asleep from exhaustion. We were so glad when the morning arrived and we could leave. Of course it was silent by then. If you get a good price, it is in a good location but insist on a room above the 12th floor if you stay there. Friends stayed that high up and had none of our encounters.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rattler93a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

The price was right $79 a night, so one could be a bit forgiving.

Be careful when showering if you are sensitive to temps. Every time during our 6 night stay, even thou I set the water temp prior to entering the shower it would very suddenly change from cold to almost scalding during my shower.

Constant noise from outside thru the balcony sliding door that did not close tightly.

Not much view on the 4th floor, room 410, so ask for a room higher up to get a view & hopefully less noise.

Bartender, front desk, bellman were all wonderful! Very helpful.

Breakfast & lunch ok, but dinner was not good. We tried several other places within walking distance that were better.

Bed was hard, Lots of pillows.
No fridge or microwave, Coffee pot in the room.
In room Wi-Fi was very nice & easy to use.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2007

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#25 of 74 in Anchorage
400 reviews
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
Hilton Anchorage
#16 of 74 in Anchorage
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
715 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £71 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel
Westmark Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing