We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We couldn't beat the location. It was in the middle of downtown, close to restaurants and shops. It was perfect.

The staff was extremely helpful and even helped us by singing happy birthday to our friend at her room. They were great.

The rooms were a good size but the decor is outdated and the beds were older, sagging and seemed to be full size rather than queen. They were clean and everything worked fine. They just need an update to a more current style.

Breakfast is not included but there is a restaurant on site which was reasonable and had a friendly staff. Parking was a bit confusing...there are two lots and depending on where you parked you needed a different voucher for the dashboard of the car. It was confusing when arriving at 2AM after a day of travel. Luckily we didn't get a ticket.

I would stay here again in the future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Akd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Akd2013

Thank you for your great comments on our Team here at the Hotel and on your stay, yes the parking is a little awkward, as we now use the Diamond parking lot that is connected to us and have an arrangement with them that allows us to have parking available for all of our guests at one price, but we do have to have a different color ticket for their parking spots, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    215
    234
    125
    60
See reviews for
149
343
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Fantastic location; an easy walk to any downtown destination. After reading some reviews here I was a bit anxious about the hotel but it was very nice! My room was on the 12th floor and was recently refurbished with a brand new bed including head board. The rest of the furniture was dated and scuffed up but was kept very clean. All in all a very pleasant place to spend a week for the Iditarod festivities. The only issue I had was the ice machine in the hallway. For the first 4 nights of my visit it wasn't turned on. For the later portion of the week it was started up and it took 36 hours for it to cycle up and fill with ice. I had No rest during that time. Once it was full I never noticed it again, thank goodness! Everyone at the front desk was extremely helpful and I only have good things to say about all the staff including the room cleaning lady, the front desk, the porter and the kitchen staff. Everyone was accommodating, friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Get on the top floors (12-14) and face north. It is quieter up there from the street noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carols01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Carols01

I am so sorry the ice machine was a problem while you were here! I have spoken to our Chief Engineer to understand what the issue was and make sure that it does not happen again, I am however delighted that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the team at the Fornt Desk, hope to see you here again soon.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We found this hotel to be conveniently located at a reasonably short distance from both Ted Stevens airport and the university. It also allowed us to get a feel of the city itself since it is located in the downtown area of Anchorage. Plenty of decent places to walk to and grab a bite, some touristy shopping located nearby.

Room Tip: 1. Other reviewers are quite correct about choosing rooms away from the busy street below. I was ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Lisa S

S osorry about the parking mix up, glad we took care of it right away! we are alomst connected to the public parking so it can get a bit confusing!, I will make sure all of our Front Desk people explain it better as we go forward, thank you so much for your lind words and for staying with us, we recognize that you have many choices in Anchorage and we are delighted you stayed with us, we hope we get to see you again soon.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I found the hotel to be everything I needed and then some. Having come up on a red eye, I was able, with carol's help, to get a room upon checking at 7am. Very grateful for that. A bonus was the top floor and view of the Cook inlet . Each evening and morning brought rosey views of the mountains lining the Inlet.
Room was comfortable, clean with free internet.
Laurie C.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurievc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Laurievc

I am so glad Carol was able to get you into a room early, we are always happy to do so when ever we can, as we know many of our Guests travel through the night to get here, I have taken that ovenight flight from Hawaii on more than one occasion. We are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo

Kevin Batters

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a room for or anniversary, witch falls the same time as furrondy downtown anchorage. When we showed up the only parking that was left was $50 for 16hrs and front desk gave us a free 24hr parking pass, our room was not available so the upgraded us to a king suite. Very friendly helpful staff. Thank you Roy. Room 1118

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear HHenly

First of all again a happy Anniversary to you both and a big thank you for choosing the Westmark Anchorage to help celebrate the occasion. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us so much and took the time to let us know. We hope it is not another year before we have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you again and look forward to seeing you soon.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hi, I found the Westmark a comfortable, friendly place to stay in downtown Anchorage. The restaurant was an easy place to eat and had great food. Rooms were clean and staff friendly.
Tony and Carol at the front desk were great with questions.

Room Tip: Top floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Laurie R

What better way to start the day than to read your email commending Carol and Tony at our Front Desk and saying how much you enjoyed your visit with us! It is such a pleasure to know that guests that stay with us enjoy themselves and are willing to share the experience with us. We look forward to having you return and stay with us again soon.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at this property with our grand daughter and were in town for the Fur Rondy. The staff at this hotel and I mean ALL of the staff are just wonderful people and make you so welcome and make sure you have what you need for your stay. I would highly reccomend this hotel.good location. good rates and the best thing is the staff...Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaNee072707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear LaNee072707

LaNee, you have made my day! how great is it to read a wonderfull letter such as yours! I will be posting your email on our Guest comment board for all of our team to read,as well as passing on your remarks to all of the Front Desk people you mentioned. I do hope you will be coming back to stay with us soon.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#15 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Property: Westmark Anchorage
Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel
Westmark Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing