We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holland America”
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Holland America”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First trip with Holland America and this Anchorage Westmark was a huge disappointment. It has not been updated in YEARS (actually decades). The carpets were rippled, the furniture dirty and scratched and the TV an antique. The bathroom tiles appeared not to have been siliconed since they were ariginally installed. The hallways were very dreary. Holland will not be recommended if they keep this up!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    220
    237
    125
    61
See reviews for
152
347
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel our room wasn't ready despite they knew when we were coming. After we received the key we went to our room just to find out that bathroom and toilet weren't cleaned. 15 minutes later cleaners arrived cleaned the mess up. I couldn't sleep cos our room was facing major road and we could hear trucks all night long. Hotel needs serious update. We will never ever stay here again .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigFoot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great views of the bay area from our room. We were located in downtown Anchorage. We were really close to restaurants and shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful. Check out Fat Ptarmagin pizza which is only a few blocks away. Would recommend this hotel! The suite was huge.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the bay if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
186 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as the first part of a landbased/cruise with Holland America. It is a basic hotel with spacious rooms. Beds are a bit hard. Rooms were clean and staff was friendly. Holland America and Princess tour desk was located on the main floor which was convenient.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PAdives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First leg of an 18 day Holland America adventure. Arrived around 1:00 AM and we were shown to a second floor room over-looking the front parking lot. Nice comfortable room. However...there was a lot of street noise all night and early in the morning we were awakened by the cleaning staff. Seems they use the room across the hall for their morning meetings (laughing, joking, talking loudly). We complained to the front desk and were moved to a room on the 3rd floor with apologies for the disturbance. We loved the location and were within walking distance to everything we wanted to do. Yes, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The Westmark is OK with fine service people. This was our first portion of a land/cruise of Alaska. The building appears renovated, but considerable aging was seen in our room. We utilized the bar at night and had a breakfast buffet in the morning. Food at the buffet was quite good and service in both places was quite good. When it comes to electronics, this hotel is lacking. The TV is old and, although you can connect to the wifi easily, we have seen faster speeds from a dial up. Very difficult to access anything on the internet. Beds were way too soft and the bathroom needed a thorough cleaning. The location is nice for exploring downtown, but overall we were not impressed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dimmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was are first overnight for our Alaska land and cruise with Holland America. We found the layout of the room to be very nice and the place was clean. The hotel does have some areas getting remodeled but our area was very nice. It still has an older TV but we never turned it on anyway. We had too much fun exploring Anchorage Downtown for the one day we would be there.

Room Tip: The room we had overlooked 6th St. and was across from the Glacier Brewing House restaurant and loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Property: Westmark Anchorage
Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel
Westmark Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing