We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hopefully they aren't done yet.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Hopefully they aren't done yet.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The bus taking us into Anchorage from the cruise port was really having trouble getting around Anchorage and seemed to be taking forever to get to our hotel so we ended up getting off and walking a few blocks to the hotel. My first impression was the enormous hole in the exterior wall as we approached it. Perhaps a car crash? Anyway, inside the hotel had a budget feel like an aging city hotel, clean but nothing particularly fancy or elegant. Our room was comfortably enough but the view was of a construction zone. A nice flat screen tv and a good bed and bath. It's owned by Holland America so pretty much all of the guests were from the cruise we just got off. The staff was a bright spot and very helpful during our brief stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DugRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    215
    235
    125
    61
See reviews for
149
344
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We arrived with a Holland America tour group. Holland America-if you read this, you should look for a different place to host your groups.
This hotel is old, not clean, staff is not that friendly or helpful and many things were wrong in the room. The only plus is that there is a balcony on every room, so I had a good view of the ocean and mountains. The Air Force Base is not far from the hotel, so it was fun watching the planes practice their drills. The hotel is also located near restaurants, bars, and the FBI...haha.
Had I been able to book a hotel elsewhere, I definitely would have. This place needs help. Management needs to get the owners to give them some money for a renovation!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean or mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a trip with Holland America. I have to agree with others that this hotel is very run down; whatever updates have been done to the rooms were minimal at best. Had to wait forever to get up to our room since they only had 2 elevators for over 200 people and only 8 are allowed in an elevator at a time. You could also hear all the city noise most of the night. Not a great first impression for Holland America.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kaptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here twice as we began our tour and completed it. The first night we had a room right on 5th St and it was noisy all night. Super glad we had earplugs. The next stay we were on the other side and it was much more quiet. As part of our tour, we had a farewell dinner and the kitchen was not prepared for our group. We had placed our dinner orders two days in advance so they would be prepared.... they had to make more salads last min, delaying half of our table, we finally got our salads as most of the room was being served their main course. They brought one plate and then the remaining table waited 20 min longer for their meals, and they were still 1 meal short and had to 'improvise" with a less equivalent replacement. The last person was served their meal when everyone else in the room was eating desert.

Room Tip: stay off 5th st
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We came here after our cruise. It probably would have seemed like a nice hotel, but after a cruise it just seemed dreary. The furniture was nice and seemed new. The room was clean. The only staff member I spoke with was friendly. No fridge in the room, which I like. We did not eat at the hotel, so I do not know what the food was like. Overall ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMtraveler47042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

First trip with Holland America and this Anchorage Westmark was a huge disappointment. It has not been updated in YEARS (actually decades). The carpets were rippled, the furniture dirty and scratched and the TV an antique. The bathroom tiles appeared not to have been siliconed since they were ariginally installed. The hallways were very dreary. Holland will not be recommended if they keep this up!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel our room wasn't ready despite they knew when we were coming. After we received the key we went to our room just to find out that bathroom and toilet weren't cleaned. 15 minutes later cleaners arrived cleaned the mess up. I couldn't sleep cos our room was facing major road and we could hear trucks all night long. Hotel needs serious update. We will never ever stay here again .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigFoot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#14 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Property: Westmark Anchorage
Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel
Westmark Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing