We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room had an awful odor”
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fully booked, couldn't change rooms, needed a place to stay! Room 915 was a very nice large room with balcony but the odor was awful. This is a non smoking hotel but it sure smelled like stale musty cigarette smoke to us and worse. Thank goodness the weather was just cool so we kept the patio door open whenever we returned to the room. Management came and checked and commented, yes, they smelled it too and yes, they had other complaints. We were stuck. All they could do was spray it with a freshener.
All the other aspects of the hotel were very good. Really nice staff (even though they couldn't help us with the odor problem), nice restaurant with a very nice choice of breakfast items. Note: nothing complimentary though. We sure give 2 thumbs up to the fellows in charge of moving luggage. Such a mountain of luggage from all the cruise ship visitors! They worked all day and all night to keep things moving. The rooms were nice and clean. Wonder if the rest smelled?
Because we could get no satisfaction regarding the terrible odor, we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 915! This hotel (as well as the others nearby) had a lot of street noise and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Dabo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I don't have many complaints about the facility, and it is convenient to have a Holland America office at the hotel, but this place is not at all worth the obscene price they charged us which made it the most expensive hotel in Anchorage by a significant margin. The rooms are spacious and clean, but the décor is a bit old and not even close to the standard as the nicest hotel in Anchorage as their nightly price claims. If your trip is connected to Holland America, please note that there are numerous decent hotels within a few blocks of the office at the Westmark Anchorage and there is absolutely no need to stay at this hotel to gain any sort of convenience for the premium price their charges will imply. I assure you there are significantly better hotels in Anchorage that will give you a better experience for a cheaper rate, or a much better experience than this hotel if you want to spend the same amount as the Westmark charges.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The bus taking us into Anchorage from the cruise port was really having trouble getting around Anchorage and seemed to be taking forever to get to our hotel so we ended up getting off and walking a few blocks to the hotel. My first impression was the enormous hole in the exterior wall as we approached it. Perhaps a car crash? Anyway, inside the hotel had a budget feel like an aging city hotel, clean but nothing particularly fancy or elegant. Our room was comfortably enough but the view was of a construction zone. A nice flat screen tv and a good bed and bath. It's owned by Holland America so pretty much all of the guests were from the cruise we just got off. The staff was a bright spot and very helpful during our brief stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DugRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We arrived with a Holland America tour group. Holland America-if you read this, you should look for a different place to host your groups.
This hotel is old, not clean, staff is not that friendly or helpful and many things were wrong in the room. The only plus is that there is a balcony on every room, so I had a good view of the ocean and mountains. The Air Force Base is not far from the hotel, so it was fun watching the planes practice their drills. The hotel is also located near restaurants, bars, and the FBI...haha.
Had I been able to book a hotel elsewhere, I definitely would have. This place needs help. Management needs to get the owners to give them some money for a renovation!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean or mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a trip with Holland America. I have to agree with others that this hotel is very run down; whatever updates have been done to the rooms were minimal at best. Had to wait forever to get up to our room since they only had 2 elevators for over 200 people and only 8 are allowed in an elevator at a time. You could also hear all the city noise most of the night. Not a great first impression for Holland America.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank kaptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here twice as we began our tour and completed it. The first night we had a room right on 5th St and it was noisy all night. Super glad we had earplugs. The next stay we were on the other side and it was much more quiet. As part of our tour, we had a farewell dinner and the kitchen was not prepared for our group. We had placed our dinner orders two days in advance so they would be prepared.... they had to make more salads last min, delaying half of our table, we finally got our salads as most of the room was being served their main course. They brought one plate and then the remaining table waited 20 min longer for their meals, and they were still 1 meal short and had to 'improvise" with a less equivalent replacement. The last person was served their meal when everyone else in the room was eating desert.

Room Tip: stay off 5th st
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We came here after our cruise. It probably would have seemed like a nice hotel, but after a cruise it just seemed dreary. The furniture was nice and seemed new. The room was clean. The only staff member I spoke with was friendly. No fridge in the room, which I like. We did not eat at the hotel, so I do not know what the food was like. Overall ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NMtraveler47042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
719 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
401 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#16 of 74 in Anchorage
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
478 reviews
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £64 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel
Westmark Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing