We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room in ANC”
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Room in ANC”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Westmark offers a decent room in a great location for a high price. We have visited Alaska 8 times, and stayed all over the state, usually in nice cabins/rental homes that cost about the same as this standard hotel room. Whatever the market will bear, as they say. If you look around Anchorage, you will find that this rate is in line with what others charge for similar accomodations, so you can't really fault Westmark. Just be prepared for a little "sticker shock" when booking a decent room in Alaska's biggest city.

The room was unspectacular, but very clean and suited our purposes for 1 night. The best feature is that it is directly across the street from Glacier Brewhouse, a MUST for dinner and/or drinks when in town. It's a very comfortable walk to Snow City Cafe (the BEST breakfast), and all the gift shops and boutiques. The staff is very professional and couteous.

Room Tip: Try to stay on one of the top floors. It will give you a nice view, and you'll be above the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndependentTravelAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    229
    258
    135
    70
See reviews for
162
378
40
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Clean. The reason my pregnant wife and I knew that it was clean is because is smelled like a janitor's closet in our room. (Smelled like cleaning products, like mildew remover)

Price: Should be no more than $99
a night instead of triple that cost.

Renovations: I always laugh when I see a 1980s "tube" television in a room. That's all you need to know. The carpet, decor, furniture and so on follow suit.

Very hospitable staff. I hope they are earning a lot of money or profit sharing.



Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeanHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was part of our Holland America land/sea package, so my tips below are mainly for those cruising:
• Good room, good service, good food. Not luxury, but well enough appointed. Helpful Holland America staff – well organized and directed.
• Take a cab instead of the transfer or one of the airport shuttle services. Five of us shared a minivan with luggage for $24 which included a healthy tip
• Tip – if you are doing the land excursion first, pack one bag with cruise stuff that you won’t need in Denali. That way, you won’t need to get into it.
• Tip – laminate your Holland America printed luggage tags (that you can print from your computer before you leave home) and zip-tie them to your luggage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stop over hotel affiliated with Holland America. We were disappointed in the lack luster effort put into hotel. Very Blah decor and semi comfortable beds. Seems like one of the hotels that has a captive audience so they have stopped trying.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very good location in down town with all the shops and restaurants . Nice and comfortable with good breakfast and includes free WiFi.
The stuff was very welcoming and helpful.

We where disappointed that the hotel charged 12$ for one night parking in the hotel parking lot - something we think should have been free for customers of such hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the Ice machine in the floor, it is noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeevparush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fully booked, couldn't change rooms, needed a place to stay! Room 915 was a very nice large room with balcony but the odor was awful. This is a non smoking hotel but it sure smelled like stale musty cigarette smoke to us and worse. Thank goodness the weather was just cool so we kept the patio door open whenever we returned to the room. Management came and checked and commented, yes, they smelled it too and yes, they had other complaints. We were stuck. All they could do was spray it with a freshener.
All the other aspects of the hotel were very good. Really nice staff (even though they couldn't help us with the odor problem), nice restaurant with a very nice choice of breakfast items. Note: nothing complimentary though. We sure give 2 thumbs up to the fellows in charge of moving luggage. Such a mountain of luggage from all the cruise ship visitors! They worked all day and all night to keep things moving. The rooms were nice and clean. Wonder if the rest smelled?
Because we could get no satisfaction regarding the terrible odor, we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 915! This hotel (as well as the others nearby) had a lot of street noise and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Dabo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I don't have many complaints about the facility, and it is convenient to have a Holland America office at the hotel, but this place is not at all worth the obscene price they charged us which made it the most expensive hotel in Anchorage by a significant margin. The rooms are spacious and clean, but the décor is a bit old and not even close to the standard as the nicest hotel in Anchorage as their nightly price claims. If your trip is connected to Holland America, please note that there are numerous decent hotels within a few blocks of the office at the Westmark Anchorage and there is absolutely no need to stay at this hotel to gain any sort of convenience for the premium price their charges will imply. I assure you there are significantly better hotels in Anchorage that will give you a better experience for a cheaper rate, or a much better experience than this hotel if you want to spend the same amount as the Westmark charges.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
268 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
456 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 73 in Anchorage
377 reviews
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#38 of 73 in Anchorage
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Property: Westmark Anchorage
Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel
Westmark Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing