We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour group hotel - ok, but copuld be better”
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Detroit, Michigan USA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tour group hotel - ok, but copuld be better”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of a Holland America Alaska land tour. Nothing special about the hotel - with tour groups constantly moving in and out. Accommodations were quite worn, with the restaurant below par. It will serve for a night, but keep your expectations low. The location is a positive in that it is close to some activities including the Anchorage Outdoor Market.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    219
    236
    125
    61
See reviews for
150
347
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent one night here in August 2014. We were on a Holland America cruise/tour that included Denali Park. Anchorage was our last stop before going back to the lower 48 and the hotel was part of the overall trip cost. The room was a handicapped room and was quite large but the furniture was old and worn. There appeared to be water stains on the tv stand and when we turned on the bathtub faucet a little lizard came out. The location of the hotel was good. There were lots of restaurants nearby but the streets appeared to be shabby like the hotel. The hotel restaurant was expensive but I knew that all restaurants were expensive in Alaska. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel dining room and the staff was exceptionally friendly. The food was just okay. Breakfast was buffet style or you could get a bagel and coffee at the Starbucks next to the restaurant. There were free local newspapers in the lobby but they were gone by the time we got there. This hotel is not one I would stay in if I was paying for it separately but I guess it was good enough for one night. The Holland America conglomerate owns the hotel and they should really upgrade the furnishings and décor.

Room Tip: Probably a room on a higher floor might be quieter. We were on the second floor opposite the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford DE
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here one night before joining group for land/sea cruise. Hotel is very old and needs a lot of work. Was very noisy with street noise. Very old tv with no flat screen like most up-to-date hotels. Had to wait until 7:30 am to order from menu which was very inconvenient since we had to meet our tour group at 8:00 am. Service was slow. Wi-fi very slow also.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

On the 11th floor, noise from the streets below is terrible. The sliding door on our balcony might as well be open as it is letting in so much road noise from G street.

We stayed 2 nights and would never come back.If you have a choice stay away from down town and the noise that comes from loud motorcycles and other vehicles.

I will say the location is close to everything down town but if you have a car I recommend you stay outside down town.

Room Tip: No solution to vehicle's driving by all night and day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryYYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here one night on the way to our cruise out of Seward. This is a very cramped downtown hotel that is showing its age. That said, the room was comfortable and had a nice view. I think there are probably nicer choices in town, but it was functional.

The breakfast buffet was disappointing. We wanted to order off the menu and the waiter never put the order in. We complained and the manager comped the meal. But if you stay here, I would recommend finding a better place to eat, as the buffet selections were nothing to get too excited about, and the atmosphere was that of a coffee shop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markw89311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stopped here as part of our land tour with Holland America. Having been to four other Westmarks in the last week, this was by far our least impressive. The room was bland, outdated, and dark. Even the televisions were the old type which seemed strange since the Westmarks in the dark corners of the Yukon and Denali all had HD flat screens. The food, as is typical in Anchorage, was expensive. However, on the bright side, the staff was cheerful and very helpful. In fact, after ten days in five Westmarks, I can honestly say that the chain hires delightful people. I don't know how they keep a smile on their face with all the tourists they have to deal with on a daily basis.

The hotel is in the middle of the city but close to a shopping mall. If you're tire of paying high prices for food and tips, you can walk a couple of blocks to the mall and eat at the food court where you have several choices (Mexican, Chinese, Sushi, etc.) The beds were comfortable enough, but since this is the most expensive of the Westmarks to stay at in Alaska, I'd probably skip it if it isn't a part of your package. I saw that the prices for it are well over $200 a night. I'm sure you can do better until they renovate (whenever that may be.) Wifi, like in most Alaska hotels, was very slow.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Westmark offers a decent room in a great location for a high price. We have visited Alaska 8 times, and stayed all over the state, usually in nice cabins/rental homes that cost about the same as this standard hotel room. Whatever the market will bear, as they say. If you look around Anchorage, you will find that this rate is in line with what others charge for similar accomodations, so you can't really fault Westmark. Just be prepared for a little "sticker shock" when booking a decent room in Alaska's biggest city.

The room was unspectacular, but very clean and suited our purposes for 1 night. The best feature is that it is directly across the street from Glacier Brewhouse, a MUST for dinner and/or drinks when in town. It's a very comfortable walk to Snow City Cafe (the BEST breakfast), and all the gift shops and boutiques. The staff is very professional and couteous.

Room Tip: Try to stay on one of the top floors. It will give you a nice view, and you'll be above the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndependentTravelAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Property: Westmark Anchorage
Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel
Westmark Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing