We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service, OK Hotel”
Review of Ramada Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Anchorage
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
892 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service, OK Hotel”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is located near the main strip of shops, bars, and restaurants. Everything downtown is walkable in 15-20 minutes from this location.

The hotel is modest, clean, safe, and the rooms are nothing special but are comfortable. The price is good comparing the categories you have to select from in Anchorage. The lobby has a computer to use and the WIFI in the rooms works very well. The lobby has a small convenience item store for water, snacks, and washing powder for the laundry facilities. The rooms have an iron and board. The beds could give way a bit too much for me but I slept good. There is a train near the hotel but it does not run late or in the early morning.

The restaurant next door has a free continental breakfast or a paid menu. I ate there every morning and it was decent food.

The hotel staff were very helpful, kind, and warm. They are what make this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    215
    208
    113
    49
See reviews for
129
284
92
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel has a relatively unpromising exterior and front lobby but the corridors and rooms have been updated not too long ago and our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful. Situated on the edge of Downtown it is easy to reach the shops, bars and sights of Anchorage on foot. The restaurant seems to be used by a lot of the locals, which is a good sign, and we enjoyed the food which we thought was of good quality and reasonably priced. We had a view of the mountains but were unable to open the window as we got the smell of the kitchens, but this was a relatively minor quibble. I do not recognize this hotel from the adverse comments posted by some others. I am fairly picky as far as food is concerned and revisited the restaurant later in the trip when staying at a Best Western nearer the airport which I had booked before the trip began. I much preferred this hotel to the one we used on our return journey.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms also look out over the kitchen extractors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is undeserving of the Ramada name. We were put here by our travel agent. The room was filthy, the light fixture was broken and any amenities non-existent. I understand that the location is good and that hotels in Anchorage are expensive, but this is a scuzzy motel, and absolutely not worth it. Hard to believe there is no other option. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Bear Rocks, Pa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Do not stay in this hotel. We stayed here due to its close proximity to the Alaska RR Station. That is its only redeeming value. We understand Ramada isn't an upscale hotel, but it is name-brand and should have been decent for one night. Airport shuttle was prompt; however, the van had no discernible markings indicating its origin. After passing us three times, we happen to flag the driver and asked him who he was. He was friendly enough, but then jumped out of the van to man the front desk. Hmmm. The lobby was filled with angry-looking people...never a good sign. The driver/ front desk guy recommended the restaurant attached to hotel, but it was worse than awful (overcooked food with HAIR in it, horrible service). The hotel room was filthy, worn and in desperate need of updating. The door to the balcony was shaky. The balcony with "city view" was equally filthy with an ugly perspective of what appeared to be section-8 housing. Do not walk this area at night. The tourist section of Anchorage is a few blocks away, but return before nightfall. I would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearRocksHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here through a Hotwire deal and were very pleased. Free shuttle from the airport with a courteous, informative driver. Rooms were not fancy but quite spacious and very clean. Linens are not top notch but beds were comfortable. Bathroom had been updated recently. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Easy walk to all of downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEMOTTE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Ramada was very clean, freshly painted, and had beautiful hanging baskets everywhere. The staff upon check-in were friendly and efficient. Their drivers were courteous, informative and very cheerful. On our last day, I had forgotten my walking stick in our room upon check-out. Our driver took us to the train station and evidently overheard our conversation, went back to the Inn and brought the walking stick to me as we waited to board the train. Thoughtfulness beyond words. Good location for walking to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is what you expect from the Ramada chain, however I can't say enough about the service at this hotel. They provide an airport pickup which was greatly appreciated as we arrived after dark and in the pouring rain! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, giving us a room on a quiet hall away from louder guests. There was no heat in the room so the night staff brought us a portable heater from their office! The breakfast was nice with make-your-own waffles, etc. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a quiet hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huggabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.2 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#29 of 73 in Anchorage
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
aviator hotel anchorage
aviator hotel anchorage
#44 of 73 in Anchorage
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#52 of 73 in Anchorage
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Anchorage

Property: Ramada Anchorage
Address: 115 E 3rd Ave, Barrow and 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Motel
Anchorage Ramada
Ramada Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing