We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I walked in without reservations & the clerk remembered me...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Anchorage
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    213
    203
    112
    48
See reviews for
127
282
90
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We found our room was clean but needed updating. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. After a 7.5 hour flight it did not have to have all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. Easy walk to Glacier Brewhouse and downtown. The sit down breakfast with $3 dollars off was good. We felt safe around the hotel, but Anchorage had its own feel not found in the rest of Alaska. Remember it's a city and not remote.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were looking for a hotel that was easy to find after travelling from Seward, had good car parking, was within walking distance of downtown and was positioned for an easy drive to the airport the next monrning and this hotel ticked all those boxes.
The reception staff were the highlight of this hotel as they were always polite and helpful with the dealings I had with them. It is very much an older style hotel with smallish rooms but it was clean and comfortable and everthing worked including the free WIFI. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the railway line and did not have any issue at all with train noise.
The hotel offers a free continental breakfast or $3 off a cooked breakfast. On the morning we had the free breakfast we were extremely disappointed that only disposal plates and cups were offered, this is the first time I have encountered this and I thought this was taking cost cutting a little bit too far and I could not get out of there quick enough.
The hotel does seem popular and I did hear reception tell more than 1 caller when I was checking in that they were booked out for the night. The price at $180 seemed reasonable for Anchorage standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
894 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is located near the main strip of shops, bars, and restaurants. Everything downtown is walkable in 15-20 minutes from this location.

The hotel is modest, clean, safe, and the rooms are nothing special but are comfortable. The price is good comparing the categories you have to select from in Anchorage. The lobby has a computer to use and the WIFI in the rooms works very well. The lobby has a small convenience item store for water, snacks, and washing powder for the laundry facilities. The rooms have an iron and board. The beds could give way a bit too much for me but I slept good. There is a train near the hotel but it does not run late or in the early morning.

The restaurant next door has a free continental breakfast or a paid menu. I ate there every morning and it was decent food.

The hotel staff were very helpful, kind, and warm. They are what make this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel has a relatively unpromising exterior and front lobby but the corridors and rooms have been updated not too long ago and our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful. Situated on the edge of Downtown it is easy to reach the shops, bars and sights of Anchorage on foot. The restaurant seems to be used by a lot of the locals, which is a good sign, and we enjoyed the food which we thought was of good quality and reasonably priced. We had a view of the mountains but were unable to open the window as we got the smell of the kitchens, but this was a relatively minor quibble. I do not recognize this hotel from the adverse comments posted by some others. I am fairly picky as far as food is concerned and revisited the restaurant later in the trip when staying at a Best Western nearer the airport which I had booked before the trip began. I much preferred this hotel to the one we used on our return journey.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms also look out over the kitchen extractors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is undeserving of the Ramada name. We were put here by our travel agent. The room was filthy, the light fixture was broken and any amenities non-existent. I understand that the location is good and that hotels in Anchorage are expensive, but this is a scuzzy motel, and absolutely not worth it. Hard to believe there is no other option. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#47 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#51 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.2 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Anchorage

Property: Ramada Anchorage
Address: 115 E 3rd Ave, Barrow and 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ramada Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Motel
Anchorage Ramada
Ramada Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing