We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, with room for improvement”
Review of Ramada Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Anchorage
Ranked #40 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 16 April 2014

First off, the hotel staff was GREAT. Friendliness goes a long way with me and by the end of my sixth day at this place, the staff and I were like friends. As for the hotel itself, the room should've been looked over and not booked out until some things were repaired. There was a hole in the bathtub, the shower dial was upside down, the A/C unit wasn't firmly mounted to anything except for a makeshift plywood platform that "held" the unit no more than 4 inches from the mattress, and, the TV was something out of the 90s. The hotel did offer basic amenities like internet, small everyday items for purchase, a laundry room and shuttle service - emphasis on "basic".

Good people, and at the same time that can be said about just about everyone I encountered in Anchorage, but I was a little surprised by the standards at the hotel. But, downtown Anchorage is small so the location was a positive. My take-away, Anchorage in general, is a friendly city. Genuine people, honest attitudes and a lot of charm to it - for the those who are looking for beauty that's more than skin-deep. Bright lights, flashiness or pretension was seldom in Anchorage. It isn't a place you should be spending too much time in a hotel room, in other words.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Anchorage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our package booked this hotel for us and we just hoped for the best and did we ever luck out! The staff is very focused on service, there is an excellent little restaurant next door (if you like local culture, and I hope you do), and the value for the price is very good. Room was clean and well-appointed, there are more facilities than we had time to sample, and I liked how the hotel made an effort to ensure we didn't get lost or fall on the ice, LOL. Shuttles to the airport and the train, so they picked us up and dropped us off. One less detail to worry about. I recommend this place and I'd like to come back.

Room Tip: We were near the elevator and I was concerned, but even here, no noise problem.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The only problem we had was the room was too hot and the air conditioner didn't work very well. The thermostat was completely off, but the baseboard heaters were still on.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We booked this hotel because it wasn't exorbitantly expensive (Anchorage hotels are NOT cheap) and it had a shuttle operating for both train and airport.. It is quite close to the station but we had to wait a short while with our luggage as the shuttle was on the way in from the airport. Not a problem. We were able to walk to the station in the morning for our day trip to Seward (when returning the Park Connection coach dropped us off at the hotel). We were also able to walk to downtown Anchorage which was good. The hotel room was adequate - nothing to rave over. The restaurant was appalling - worst breakfast of our 7 week tour - they even cut the apples into quarters so you can't have a whole one. We ended up taking our own instant coffee in because theirs was so dreadful. We tried having dinner there one night but the only thing on the menu that looked reasonable we were told we would have to wait maybe several hours while they went out to buy broccoli! We left and found a nice Japanese restaurant not too far away.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.2 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.4 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 74 in Anchorage
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#51 of 74 in Anchorage
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#43 of 74 in Anchorage
135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Anchorage

Address: 115 E 3rd Ave, Barrow and 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: £55 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Motel
Anchorage Ramada
Ramada Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing