We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alex Hotel - yuck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alex Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Alex Hotel - yuck”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

It seems this place is now known as the Alex Hotel. When you first walk in the lobby the place REEKS. We didn't notice the smell in the halls or in the room, just in the lobby. We didn't take advantage of the complimentary breakfast because we couldn't stand being anywhere near the lobby. The front desk guy was RUDE and acted like we were annoying him by trying to check in. The airport shuttle driver was nice. The room was basically clean, but there were stains on the bathroom wall and there was no way to adjust the room temperature. The pillows were half the size of normal pillows and the bed was SO uncomfortable! Like sleeping on the floor. Would have been more comfortable overall to sleep in the car at the airport parking.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ak_roamer_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona S, Director of Sales at Alex Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are very concerned about this negative review. We have a newly renovated lobby that has many exits which always supply the lobby with fresh air. Our breakfast room is just adjacent to our lobby and I am wondering if perhaps someone had accidentally burned a make-it-yourself Belgian waffle causing this odor.
We have had a meeting with our front desk staff to address the proper way to speak with our guests. We are very sorry for this inappropriate behavior.
Our 122 guest rooms have been completely renovated in 2013 and do not have any stains on our bathroom walls. Our pillows are normal size hotel pillows and our beds are brand new pillow-top mattresses. We have many guests who absolutely love our hotel. They tell us this on a daily basis. We take great pride in offering nice accommodations and feel this review is quite undeserved. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    33
    27
    17
    20
See reviews for
31
34
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My family and I enjoyed the stay at the Quality Suites in Anchorage. The room was very comfortable with a living room and bedroom. Also, the free breakfast was good, it helped us start the day off right. The location was convinient also. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona S, Director of Sales at Alex Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aniak, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I live in Alaska and I have stayed in many hotels in anchorage. the pics the show are only of the better part of the hotel ask them to take pics of room 2330 in the old building!!! yuk-- a homeless person wouldn't stay here!! what false advertising! I decided to get the king room cause the photo showed a great room. not- they put me in a trashed torn carpet room. with no alarm clock a toilet that doesn't stop running a tub that keeps dripping. poor bedding. don't go spend a few more dollars and go some where else!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms here are not what are pictured!!! maybe 2 or three of them you pay the same as the person in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona S, Director of Sales at Alex Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Room 2330 was one of five rooms that had not yet been renovated before our busy summer season arrived. We completely agree that the room was below our normal standards and what our guests expect from a hotel. All of our rooms have now been completely renovated with new carpeting and paint just to name a few. Bathrooms have been repaired and all rooms have alarm clocks. We are very sorry about the shabby conditions that you had to stay in. All of our 122 guest rooms are not completely renovated. We are so sorry that you had a bad experience and would appreciate the chance to show you our much nicer guest rooms. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Toano, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for a night after a late arrival at the Anchorage Airport. This is a solid choice for a short term stay - pretty standard Quality Inn. The breakfast buffet was good - had hot food choices as well as continental breakfast type choices. Our room was quite spacious although the decor is overdue for an upgrade. Everything was clean and comfortable though. We got a good rate by paying in advance. One negative was the lack of air conditioning - even though the "temperature control switch" seemed to indicate that cooling was an option. They were very accommodating with their shuttle services - not only airport service but also took us downtown and back - driver was very pleasant/friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building. The "annex" seemed somewhat run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClintonB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.1 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 73 in Anchorage
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.2 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#50 of 73 in Anchorage
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Hotel & Suites

Property: Alex Hotel & Suites
Address: 4615 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-3235 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alex Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex Hotel & Suites features 123 oversized guest rooms with an excellent location. Just 5 minutes from the airport and directly across the street from the world's largest seaplane base: Lake Hood and Lake Spenard, we offer the most important amenities. Free 24-hour airport shuttle, complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi throughout the hotel. All rooms have air conditioning. We welcome you to Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alex Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Anchorage
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Quality Inn
Alex Hotel & Suites Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing