We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buena Park, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Best Western”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed there 2 different times. The rooms are very nice and the restaurant is great. The first night was very noisy from the people above. Keep in mind that this is basically a welfare hotel. People come in from the outskirts and stay here to go to the local hospitals. They are rude, unfriendly, and act truly like they are entitled. I'm glad I'm not paying for them to stay in this nice hotel. Overall, we would stay there again. The staff is great. The food was wonderful at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Pick one on the top floor, so you don't have people with kids running around ALLLLLLL night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    180
    96
    23
    17
See reviews for
143
117
39
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in this hotel. Hotel and room were very clean. Great location. Staff was incredible and helped us with everything we needed. EX. we wanted an early morning cleanup and they accomodated us plus other requests we had. Even though there was construction going on outside, it did not interfere with anything. An overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_trip_planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time. I am glad our staff did a great job for you as we try to give every guest the experience that they deserve while staying at our hotel. I hope that if you are ever in the area again that you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We found the motel very nice, and the staff very helpful and knowelegeable with directions. They got me to Earthquake Park. The location was convient to AK Hwy 1 I would definately stay here again if I am ever back in Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoDavemontrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. I am very glasd that we helped to make your first night in Anchorage a wonderful one. I hope that the rest of your trip in our wonderful state was enjoyable. If you ever get back to Anchorage please come see us agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newkirk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The Golden Lion is recently remodeled. It was clean, comfortable, nice size rooms with all the aminities we needed. The location was very convenient for access to downtown, tourist attractions and the Seward and Parks highways. The staff was friendly and very helpful. A restaurant and lounge were available within the hotel. A laundry with 3 washers and 4 dryers was located next to the workout room. Very convenient for multitasking. The price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a survey for us. I am gald you enjoyed your stay with us and the ammenities our hotel offers. We are almost done with our exterior renovations and hope that our guest enjoy our new look. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Had no problems with reservations, the room and bathroom was clean. The only complaint was we had a room at the opposite end of the hallway from the elevator, made a long walk carrying heavy suitcases. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a survey on our behalf. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs and hope you come stay with us again. Just let us know that you would like to be close to the elevator and we will be happy to accomidate you.

Thank you agian for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I am a frequent guest at the BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel in Anchorage and can tell you that the staff treats you like you are family. The hotel is very clean and has recently up-date the exterior, interior and WIFI in the rooms. It is located close to down town and both military bases. I’ve been staying at the BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel for the past three years at least once a month on business and think it’s a great place to stay. Take the chance I know you’ll like it.

Room Tip: Simple just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolando Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to do a survey for us. We always look forward to having you stay with us again. We are glad you feel at home here and we are very thankful that you continue to choose to bring your buisness back to us. We know you have many choices in Anchorage and we appreciate that you continue to return.

Thank you again for your buisness,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikiski, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Other than having some complications on the booking end, it was a great place to stay. Unfortunately, I had to change the date of arrival and rather than call the 800 general booking number I called the hotel directly. Apparently a bunch of wires got crossed (an expression meaning that the situation of re-booking another date was not communicated properly).
Boy, that was a big hassle but eventually things got ironed out (a saying which means that my problem was solved).
The Golden Lion is very easy to find, right off of one of the main drags in Anchorage. It is close to a Denny's Restaurant that is open 24/7. It's got an all night fitness room. I enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: I would advise you that if you need to change your reservation to call the same people whom your res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
545 reviews
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 1000 E 36th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing