We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Lakeshore Inn & Suites(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ship Creek(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Grand Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$200
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$144
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
US$67
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dimond Center Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Captain Cook(Anchorage)
US$185
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
146
198
102
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
198
102
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskseward hwyon site restaurantprovidence hospitalmoose's toothrefrigerator and microwaveroom was cleanshower headenjoyed my stayrecommend this hotel to anyoneconvenient locationnice place to staywould stay here againfirst floorcomplimentary breakfastone night stayclose to downtown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Friendly staff, large rooms, and very convenient freeway access. Arthur at the front desk was very nice and helpful. We stayed there twice during our visit because Anchorage was our base. Stayed in two different rooms. Our flight was late at night, so when I talked to Arthur he let us stays few more hours after the checkout time that gave us few more hours of rest.
Good internet access and laundry room in the same building. Staff is very helpful if you ask questions about the places to eat, directions, or tourist attractions.

Cons: Rooms do have a musty old smell. Condition of the bathroom is not that good. The first room we stayed in the shower was not in a good shape and second room's bathroom sink knob was really really hard to use. We were there only for one night the second time so we managed.

I would recommend this hotel for the location and value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whoami18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Nice staff, large rooms, easy freeway access but still quiet. Was warned about smoking and had to sign a no smoking promise but my room smelled like smoke. Shower had mildew, yuck. Good internet access. Plenty of room for 3 adults with extra restrooms down the hall by the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Janna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Room size was good, and staff were very helpful. Some issues that we had: (1)Room airconditioner was not effective since the curtain was covering the vents of the airconditioner. Result was that the curtain was billowing and we could not pull it aside since that would make the room too bright to sleep in the bright evening sun! (2)The carpet was very sticky near the dresser and it is NOT the maids fault since they wear shoes all the time and would not have known that the previous guest had spilt something. (3) Breakfast quality was poor, especially the rubbery pancakes and the half cooked sausage. Considering the fact that this was NOT a free breakfast and we were paying very good money for this, the least they could do was cook well? (4) Hotel entrance/exit was a problem. It looked as though we could exit from an area just beyond the front porch and we stopped in time otherwise we would have dropped from a curb. The hotel should have some barrier at that spot since we later saw other vehicles going bang-clunk-oops and damaging their undercarriage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Chan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Older motel and adequate nice sized rooms with no fluffs. Staff were nice but not the most pleasant. No hot water, so expect a luke warm shower. Sink and bathroom are off of the main room which is nice. There are better places in Anchorage for the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Best Western Golden Lion, one night when we arrived in Anchorage and one night just before flying out. We had very comfortable & clean rooms, the staff was very friendly and helpful and we also loved the convenient location between the airport and downtown. We did enjoy dinner there the night we were flying home and the food was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calleskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews