We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommend for peace and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Klawock, United States
1 review
“Recommend for peace and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Good place to stay, restraunt in the same building, quiet and peaceful at night...Polite staff....Traveling for medical, so this place in centrally located to all the hospitals. They have a quaint menu in the restraunt, could add a little more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    158
    90
    20
    15
See reviews for
122
96
38
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Pass, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I liked everything about this hotel but one thing: 60 watt bulbs in the lamps. The staff was wonderful, the room comfy and clean, and lots of upgrades and redecorating are underway. But those 60 watt bulbs just don't cut it. I had a room with two queen beds and a large gap between the beds with a narrow night stand. I had to push the bed right up to the night stand and bring another lamp over before I had enough light to read by. There were four lamps plus a wall lamp in the room, and even with all of them on, the room was far too dim.

Anyone staying on the far side of either bed was out of luck. When I asked about a stronger bulb, I was told the lamps are rated for 60 watt only. Well, those mini fluorescent bulbs rated at 100 watts would do the job without the heat of a 60 watt incandescent, the lamp would be fin, and use less electricity.

Other than that, I'd recommend this hotel. It was located in midtown and close to where I needed to be.

Room Tip: Bring your own reading light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I had never stayed at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised how nice it was. We stayed in a newly remodeled room on the third floor. The mattresses were new and comfortable. Room was clean and quiet. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast at the in hotel restaurant and the food was good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwEetMarieSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
463 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is clean and I felt safe. The hotel looks old and staff are not bad, but not very helpful either. The location is fine but not the best. There is plenty of parking and its right off the main highway. The lobby looks good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeWiseMen1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The fact that this hotel is close to the airport makes it a great pick for late arrivals. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were most impressed with the restaurant in the hotel. The breakfasts were delicious and being in the hotel made it very convenient. We'll definitely be booking another stay when we return to Anchorage next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonnes_Travel_Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Although i don't think this is a new hotel by any means, the rooms are clean and comfortable with good Internet access as well. Its in a convenient location that is not too far from the airport or anywhere you may want to get to in Anchorage. They also have some interesting wildlife decor in the lobby that we took some fun pictures with!

There is a little restaurant on the second floor that really surprised and impressed me. We went up there to get breakfast and I was expecting the standard blah-blah pancakes and small bacon strips burnt to a crisp. When my food came out the pancakes were perfectly cooked and browned and had some nice thick bacon strips cooked just the way I requested them! It was actually on par with a Cracker Barrel breakfast. Even the coffee was really good.

I would recommend this hotel, and we are heading back for another overnight stay next year on our next trip to Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotts_Travel_Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
633 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is why Best Western is so popular. Standard was above average for a BW hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and the bed comfortable. Breakfast facility was a little disappointing with a voucher system where I wasnt quite sure what I was allowed to order.
Would stay again next time I'm in Anchorage.

Room Tip: Its quite a way from downtown area so if you are planning on shopping, restaurants etc would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaturesMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing