We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 July 2014

There's nothing really wrong with this Best Western property, but I expected more.

The location is quiet, the rooms are clean and average size. But some things were missing that I have come to expect as a road warrior...
* Service: When we arrived, the room wasn't ready. We were told we could wait on the second floor where there were tables. Some time later when we went to check to see if the room was available, we were told it had been available for a while. It wouldn't have taken much to let us know.
* Breakfast: Most BW properties offer some kind of free breakfast. This one chooses to have a restaurant with over-priced and underwhelming breakfast. We choose to move to the Holiday Inn Express on Spenard, and had a better (though admittedly not as many options) breakfast for free.
* Airport Shuttle: Though this location isn't far from the ANC airport, taxi service is the only option. (We had a free airport shuttle from the HI Express hotel).
* Lobby: Though not a big deal, this lobby was dirty and in disarray from a "renovation" project of unclear purpose.
* Curtains: In a place where it is pretty predictable that it won't get dark on summer nights, the curtains were significantly too short to block the light and darken the room for sleeping.

Overall, it is not a bad hotel. None of these are a big deal by themself, but they add up. I will be returning to ANC for business, and will choose the Holiday Inn Express as my default hotel because of free breakfast, complimentary shuttle and proximity to ANC airport, but may select this BW as a back-up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDocIsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for doing a review for us and I will pass along your comments. I apologize that we did not meet your needs. We do take your comments seriously and they will be addressed.
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel is clean and in a good location. stayed for one night. The room on the third floor contained comfortably 5 people including roll-away bed. Breakfast was on the second floor of the hotel in a restaurant and included three options (not something to write home about). friendly staff. more advantages of this hotel: check-out at 12:00 and there is an option to do laundry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Rav_Hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for doing a review for us. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our flight was delayed on the day and arrived at Anchorage around 12:30am in the early morning. The hotel is just several miles to the airport. When we arrive there, there is person on duty and we get into the room very fast. The beds are comfortable and room is clean. We just stayed one night and leave early in the morning. They do have a restaurant but we do not have a chance to try the restaurant there. Overall speaking, nice and clean hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 182Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you choose Best Western in the future for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed there at the start of our visit and several nights at the end. The hotel is being renovated but is showing its age. Staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly when we needed to split our reservation into two pieces. The location is very central for day trips out of the city. Compared to other places we looked at, the price was very reasonable. We would stay there again when we come back to Anchorage.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We appreciate your business and if you are ever in Anchorage we hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was the worst value hotel in any hotel that we've stayed in over the past year or longer. The price was horrific, but some things that are commonly expected in most hotels these days (free newspaper, free breakfast), were not included. In addition, the staff was not particularly friendly, the parking lot was full of puddles, nobody offered to help with the door when we struggled to enter the building, and then there's that horrific lion in the lobby instead of something welcoming. SKIP THIS ONE, for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review. I am sorry that our property did not meet your standards. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and we clearly did not do this in your case. You are right we do not have complimentary breakfast or newspaper but we do not advertise that we do. We have a full service restaurant with a full menu. As for the staff I will be passing along your comments and coaching them in the way that I expect guest to be treated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

While the hotel was across the street from the business I had to attend to, it is an older property with many facelifts over the years. The lobby area is quite small, the front desk staff is not bad, but not great. The room was quiet and appeared to be clean, but the bathtub/shower area was worn and the bed was very, very hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Gretchen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I hope you enjoyed your Alaska Vacation and we will look into the issues you had with the Wi Fi.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I booked this property though Alaska Air Vacations as part of a air, hotel, and car package. As one might guess, a summer trip to Alaska is not cheap and even sub-par hotels become very expensive. In this case though, the Hotel was very well appointed with a fridge, microwave, large flat screen TV, and free WiFi. On the negative side, the Hotel is a bit dated and could stand for a bit of renovation. Also, the WiFi was often sluggish but overall, an excellent value and the location was central for making my day trips. Would certainly recommend this property, esp. if you can get it at discount through a package deal as I did.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest thank you for doing a review for us. I will pass your comments along and address the issues you had.
Have a great day,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 E 36th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £74 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing