We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I spend my first Night in Anchorage at this hotel. I Got picked up (free shuttle for hotel guests) 15 min after arrival, the guy driving the shuttle was takling about Anchorage, all the sights in Alaska etc. which was great. The hotel is a bit old and doesn't look like Much, it is a bit away from downtown but area is okay and easy walkinacces to everything, the receptionists seemed a bit careless (busy texting on phone instead of taking Care of arriving guests), but it was okay, the hotelrooms are Nice and clean. I wouldn't mind staying here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masalo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    86
    64
    22
    26
See reviews for
57
81
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I can't believe how much I paid to stay here for one night. The room we had was rundown and gross. DO NOT STAY HERE. Sheets were clean but there were tears in the blanket. The water backed up in the shower. There were sketchy people loitering outside until late into the night. And after not sleeping very well, I awoke to having maintenance people painting outside our room at 9AM. I would NOT recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Yael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Frederick, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We chose this hotel for the price and its free shuttle from the train and free shuttle to airport.

The hotel has no street presence, and the lobby is completely unimpressive. The staff is efficient but not terribly friendly ( do not take their breakfast recommendation! Do some research as excellent and cheaper places are within a few blocks). Free parking is welcomed; we always found a spot. I think they have 3 parking areas.

Small area with tables, chairs, free coffee and hot water, microwave, and vending machine (no breakfast is served). Slow elevator and tired hallway carpet and wallpaper. We were seriously questioning our choice until we got inside our room. Despite the older bathroom (stained but clean fixtures), the room gave a much better impression. Excellent wifi, mwo, coffee maker, refrig. Shampoo and soap but no conditioner or lotion.

Very nice location - best part of this hotel. Quick shuttle to train. 10 min. shuttle to airport. Easy walking distance to Anc Museum and touristy area of 4th Avenue.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flannery52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent a night in the room closest to reception. Not recommended for a good nights sleep - there was a gap under the door and we could hear nearly every conversation in the reception area. We eventually put a towel across the door to muffle the noise. That said, the bed was comfortable and the room big enough, if somewhat cosy. At the end of the day, it would be an OK place to stay for a night if you got a quieter room.

Room Tip: Get a room away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GentlemanAuditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST MILFORD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The outside of this hotel looks very new & inviting. The inside is another story. The room I had needs serious attention. The coffee pot and/or the multi outlet plug it was attached to was sketchy, as in it turned itself on & off various times. I unplugged it :) The bath faucet leaked and the wallpaper is peeling. The room itself was clean but noisy, being right on 5th Ave. The bed was OK but the comforter had a mystery stain on it. There is no breakfast offered, but there is a cafe across the street. The best part is the front desk staff & the free shuttle and driver.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvbeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We only stayed here 1 night before going to Whittier for our Alaska cruise, to be honest we arrived around midnight and left at 8am the next day so we didn't even spend 12 hours.

However for what we paid, it was worth it. We only needed a bed to sleep in and a place to shower and it had both, got up and wandered across the road for breakfast came back and got the shuttle to the Alaska Railroad and that was it.

If I went back i would stay in the same place, not sure I would recommend it for an extended stay but it did the job without issue and was well priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalesAU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petawawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The staff, driver and reception, are the best things about this hotel. The shuttle is on their schedule, not yours so budget extra time for this. Checkin was slow because they input all the info from your id. The rooms are smelly and dated. Bathroom is 2 x 5 with sink outside the bathroom. Hotel was very noisy, quiet 5-6 a.m. and then the seagulls start squawking (can't help that). Air con smelled like burning rubber. Booked by a family member based on price. Pay the extra, squish your family into a room at the Sheraton or whatever. This would do for a night for some. Don't stay here if you have allergies. We paid $89/night I think.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a nice hotel and skip this hostel type experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neigele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
aviator hotel anchorage
aviator hotel anchorage
#48 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#54 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Address: 321 E 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2632 (Formerly Days Inn Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska may be the last frontier, but the Guesthouse Anchorage Inn means 1st class comfort, service and convenience whether on a ski trip, business or shopping trips, our central location can't be beat... Just walking distance from the arena, convention center or theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Days Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Days Inn
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing