We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
US$189
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)
US$153
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$78
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$111
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Captain Cook(Anchorage)
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Voyager Inn(Anchorage)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
78
103
73
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
103
73
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mexican restaurantfree shuttlewalking distancegladly stay here againguest houseroom was cleancoffee machinedowntown hotelplace to staycable tvfew blocksclose to downtowntrain depotfree breakfastnice stayan older hotelshuttle service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Pretty average hotel. Only staying one night so just needed a budget type hotel. Had parking and good location for dropping our hire car off. Also on the pickup list for bus to cruise terminal at Whittier. Painful laundry system where you are on a list to use it. Got too late at night and the previous guest hadn't returned key by 11pm so requested to be on the start of the list the next morning but they wouldn't do that, so rang them at 7am and somebody else had just been given the key so had to wait until 9am they extended our check out until 12pm, so that helped. Also was unlucky and had rowdy guests next door who were yelling in the corridors until 3am.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We took train from Fairbanks and arrived 8 pm - I needed reasonably priced hotel with shuttle that will come to train station to pick us up and take us to Airport in the morning - and this hotel does it all!
The room was good and clean - refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker included. There was a Mexican Restaurant at the back of the hotel that stayed open late so we ate there. The hotel does not offer breakfast but there is a restaurant across the street for that.
Shuttle was fast, front desk lady was nice. About 9 blocks away from city center where all big restaurants are and it is safe to walk at night (that was what I was told.). It was good stay....really it was OK.

Room Tip: We asked the front to place us "quiet" section of the hotel - she did. I don't think we had anyone around us.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldprune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Everything is average at this hotel. I mean, realy. I have to write min of 200 symbols and I don't know what to say. Staff is average, condition of hotel and rooms is average. Location is okay, but could be better. Would I recomend it? Probably not. Though if you need to get there for 1 night but not more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skydancer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for the kind feedback. We appreciate you staying with us and hope we can Host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

arriving on late night, front desk ladies were so concentrated on text messaging and almost ignored us. Rooms were small, crowded, beds were not comfortable either. Bathroom were leaking water. The only benefit here is walking distance to downtown.

Room Tip: Go for Sheraton across the street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malamute X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced. We value your feedback and have shared your concerns with our management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here the night we flew into Anchorage and then headed out of town, so we weren't aiming for the nicest place in the world. We asked for a room with a King bed and got one with two doubles instead. I think the place used to be an old Days Inn, and seemed a little worn down. The bathroom, sinks, and beds were all clean, but it didn't look like anyone had dusted or vacuumed in the non-high traffic areas in a long time. The parking is a little difficult as they have limited parking around the back, but we were able to find a spot the two times we went out. One time when we went out there were some panhandlers that came by and asked someone else parking their car for some money. I didn't feel completely comfortable leaving my rental car back there, but at least I had insurance on the thing...and nothing happened. I'd say you'd be okay staying here for a night or if you were on a tighter budget, but I don't know about this for your only hotel in Alaska.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feudalord7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Anchorage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews