We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Quartz Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Katherine C
I had a nice stay at GuestHouse Anchorage Inn. My room was nice and clean. I feel I had the best room on the corner! nice and quiet! I will stay again when I am back in Anchorage.
Thank you to all the staff at GuestHouse Inn. for making my stay absolutely excellent.

Room Tip: Room 224 Corner nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle L, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Ms. Katherine C,

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We're very proud of our guest rooms, friendly staff and great downtown location. We love to hear when our guests love them too. We always try to exceed expectations and can't wait for your return so we can make your stay even better. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Tammy Wanner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    94
    69
    23
    29
See reviews for
62
92
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soldotna, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

the room was clean but the coffer make did not work and the hair dryer was broken, staff not checking room items. barking dog left in room next door. bed was made every day but no trash pickup or cleaning of counters. pillows need to be replaced pretty flat.

Room Tip: not the best area lots of night activity in the parking lot. bring ear plugs for good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle L, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Mr. Ralph S.,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am deeply sorry to learn that your visit with us did not fulfill your expectations. It is disappointing to read about your experience as it is evident that we could have done a much better job in this regards. I hope reported any of these issues to a staff member so that it may be corrected prior to your departure. We hope that you will return to give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves and provide you with a favorable experience the next time you are in Anchorage.

Yours in Hospitality,

Tammy Wanner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We relocated to Anchorage early February 2014 and stayed at the GuestHouse for more than a month. Well, what I can say is that they really made us feel home. The service was excellent, the room was really clean, and the General Manager was very helpful and a genuinely kind and caring person. They provided us with a bigger room, just because we had many pieces of luggage, and they thought it would help us have more space. That was very kind of them. The staff always asked us how we are doing, since they were aware that we moved back to Alaska and we were searching for jobs and an apartment. We would like to particularly thank the General Manager and Darlene who practically asked us everyday how we were doing and any luck with our job search and apartment hunting. Even though I lived and worked in Alaska before, she suggested places for us to buy a car, names to contact to possibly find a decent apartment, and other suggestions that really helped us.

There is no doubt that you would feel at home if you decide to stay at the GuestHouse. They are really wonderful people. We moved out on March 24th, and we miss them. Since we live in Anchorage, and they are not far from us, we will be going back to visit. The only thing we can say is thank you from the bottom of our heart.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kono G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Ms. Kono G,

Thank you for your kind words and for calling out Darlene. I know that she'll be very excited that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you'll be soon be able to enjoy all that Anchorage has to offer not only visitors but area residence.

Darlene along with the entire team work very hard to make our hotel your home while visiting. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to the next time you walk through our doors.

Most Sincerely,

Tammy Wanner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This place has horrible parking, very limited and off site. Lot's of transients and parties in the halls and very noisy. A horrible experience at best.
The toilet wouldn't flush with anything but liquid in the tank. They just handed me a plunger. A plunger wasn't the correct solution.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am deeply concerned about the issues that you had on your recent stay here at our hotel and want to take this time to apologize for the experience with us. I was not aware of the issues you had experienced and had I been, I would have contacted you immediately. I would like the opportunity to discuss you concerns further as I do not have any information on your stay so that we can resolve what happened specifically that caused you to have a bad experience. I can be reached directly at 907-265-5141. Thank you again for bringing these issues to my attention as positive or negative, feedback will always help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Yes, the place is not that great but if you just need a place to lay your head, this place is more than enough. But the wonderful thing is the service and caring staff. We were at the airport and it was our first time in Alaska. We just thought to call the hotel to see if they do airport pick up. The answer was "will be there in 30 minutes". Great!!! In less than 30 minutes we were already exchanging pleasantries with the young and respectful driver. At the front desk, the lady manager was pleasant (so sorry, I forgot her name but she was there on 9/10/13 at around 5:00pm) and she even gave my sister a box of tissue seeing that she was sneezing (effect of change of weather). The place is conveniently located. It has kitchen and dining area. The mall is just walking distance. We always compare our hotel stay here with the other hotels we stayed in in Anchorage and Vancouver and we always consider our GuestHouse stay is far better than the other.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Please accept a huge thank you from all of us here at the GuestHouse Anchorage Inn! We were so happy to hear you had such a great experience. It means the world to us to hear when we have had a success. All comments are worth reading and learning from, even the good ones. Thank you again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

- Guesthouse Inn & Suites came up as a very affordable option in our quest to travel on a budget. You get what you pay for...this is aimed at people who need a long term place to stay. Even so, front desk personnel did not offer a simple hello or welcome or are you checking in today. The room was a mess and not ready. Apparently, there was a short line of other people who had to go back downstairs to the counter because their rooms were also not made up. It was as if the housekeeper got halfway through the rooms and decided to sabotage them. Rooms were checked off as cleaned but only had the sheets stripped on the floors, dirty towels on the floor and toilet seats up waiting to be cleaned. Worst first impression ever. The shuttle driver was the only saving grace on staff. She was friendly, apologized and even started helping to clean rooms so that everyone could get checked in.

- Because it's a long-term stay hotel, you take out your own trash to the trash rooms on each floor, make your own beds and get fresh towels from the front desk when you wish. A/C also did not work well.

- Parking passes are limited so we could not buy one. The guy at the front desk was unhelpful in offering options. You can park across the street along the curb where it is unmarked (everyone parked there). If you park at a street meter, be sure to get out there in the morning as soon as the clock starts ticking because the meter maids will be there sharp (I believe 0900) to start issuing tickets.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 808boom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Yes, the place can use and upgrade, esp. the carpeting. But the price and location were great, and the staff friendly. The bedding was clean. good place to stay if you do not plan staying in your room lots, which i wasn't.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 15 June 2017
Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Please visit us again when you are in Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
aviator hotel anchorage
aviator hotel anchorage
#45 of 73 in Anchorage
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#50 of 73 in Anchorage
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 73 in Anchorage
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anchorage
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Address: 321 E 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2632 (Formerly Days Inn Downtown)
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska may be the last frontier, but the Guesthouse Anchorage Inn means 1st class comfort, service and convenience whether on a ski trip, business or shopping trips, our central location can't be beat... Just walking distance from the arena, convention center or theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Days Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Days Inn
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing