We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First of all, let me say there was one helpful staff member who gave me directions to the hotel and that was nice. The location is good, the room is reasonably clean, and the restaurant is great with good service. However, I was in an upstairs room with no elevator. AND a small toddler. The steps were no small obstacle. Every time I got upstairs, my room key was demagnetized. I had to take said toddler and bags down the stairs to the desk and get the key remagnetized. I followed their directions and kept key away from phone, electronics but it still happened AT LEAST once a day. Unacceptable. They were very unapologetic. Also, the bed was uncomfortable. Bad pillows, bedding, and mattress. The TV remote would not work. The other guests were loud and had kids running around and jumping at all hours. Dogs barking, horns honking, very urban experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you have elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arkalaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. I will share your feedback with the team so we can work to improve to ensure our guests have a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were glad to have a refrigerator and the room was plenty large, but the bed was not comfortable at all.
The maid service needed to be upgraded to the making of the bed and the cleaning of the
coffee pot.
The floor felt like it needed to have the carpet cleaned and the elevator scared me at it sounded like someone hand turning a big wheel on a cable to lift it. Not kidding.
But all in all, it was a fair place to stay. The maintance man fixed the valve in the tub very quickly and that was nice.
Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

On behalf of the entire team at GuestHouse Anchorage Inn we apologize for the concerns you shared about your recent stay. I have addressed these issues with our team and I assure you we are working diligently to correct these problems. Thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed here three separate occasions. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel is pet friendly. Very clean. Parking is provided in locations surrounding the motel. Breakfast is included across the street at a local restaurant. Walking distance of tourist attractions, Visitor Center. Hired time I had a room on the lye and it was a little noisy.

Room Tip: Not the alley, main building with elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for taking time to share about your recent stay with us! I'm glad you had a good experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Guesthouse is a former Days Inn. It's a convenient location, and has great shuttle to train and airport. We stayed in the tower, and we had an elevator. I did ask for a room that had not had dogs, because I am allergic. Great service. They call to make sure room is OK, they store luggage, even for 3 days while we went on excursion, and followed up on every request. Not 5 star, but they try hard and it is convenient. Bedding is pretty good. They just need to lose the old bedspreads which give it an aged look.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the tower with an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank csloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Please visit us again when you are in Anchorage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for one night. Parking is not really comfortable. You have to walk in cold and rain for parking. They don't have an elevator. We could hear noises from neighboring rooms all night and couldn't sleep at all. Not recommended. Do yourself a favor and choose a nice b&b or some other hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sktravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced. We value your feedback and have shared your concerns with our management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were looking for a place to stay before our early morning flight without paying too much and we were happy with our choice. It was great to have their shuttle pick us up from the train station (you have to call for it to pick you up) and then the shuttle to the airport was perfect. It's not a 5 star place and isn't trying to be but it was clean enough and the staff were efficient and pleasant. For the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank qbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place is a disgrace to the guesthouse brand. After two nights of staying I woke up with bed bug bites. When I went to the office to complain, the idiot day manager told me right away "we don't have bed bugs." I replied well I didn't have them before I arrived and I didn't bite my self! She said pest control will check in the morning. Meanwhile I have to spend another night with these bugs. I will be contacting the Anchorage Health Department first thin in the morning. I will also be seeking a full refund!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supremelygifted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Mr. Supremelygifted,

Please accept my apologies that we were unable to provide you with the refund you requested.

As I advised you, we take bed bugs very seriously and take every precaution necessary to make sure that these uninvited pests are immediately eliminated prior to being reported. American Pest Management has helped us prevent these bugs with their monthly inspections of the Hotel, the installation of bed bug monitors and mattress and box spring encasements on the beds. These encasements prevent the bed bugs from making our bed their home.

I understand that you wanted immediate satisfaction in the form of a refund, but as I advised I cannot do so with out the room being inspected by the professionals, American Pest Management. Once they confirmed directly with you that the room was clean of the pests you were advised that no refund would be provided.

Thank you for your understanding.

Most Sincerely,

Tammy Wanner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.9 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#46 of 74 in Anchorage
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#52 of 74 in Anchorage
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#25 of 74 in Anchorage
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage

Address: 321 E 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2632 (Formerly Days Inn Downtown)
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £58 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska may be the last frontier, but the Guesthouse Anchorage Inn means 1st class comfort, service and convenience whether on a ski trip, business or shopping trips, our central location can't be beat... Just walking distance from the arena, convention center or theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Days Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Days Inn
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing