We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location, noisy nights...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Longyearbyen, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great staff, good location, noisy nights...”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My friend and I had arrived to Anchorage in the beginning of this month with nowhere to stay (long story!) and every place we called was either fully booked or too expensive. This was the only place that gave us a decent price. A shuttle bus picked us up from the airport after about an hour and a half of us waiting around, but we didn't care at the time as we really just needed to crash somewhere for 2 nights.

When we arrived at the Inn, we were greeted by super friendly staff and our bags were taken up to our room, which ended up being right next to the elevator and right across the vending machine. The room was quite spacious and the beds were okay. However, having said that, I can't imagine that this would be comfortable for more than 2-3 days. During the night, we could hear everything going on in the hallway, next door and in the parking lot, so we couldn't get that much sleep. At some point, someone pounded on our door at 3 am and scared us half to death. In the morning, we could hear everything the cleaning crew was up to in the other rooms as if it was happening in ours. I was a bit worried about us leaving our valuables in the room when we wanted to walk around the city that same day, so I padlocked everything and avoided using the safe. (I can be paranoid sometimes).

Breakfast was at a restaurant a few steps outside the Inn. We paid for it but got a 10% discount. The food was pretty good (yummy pancakes!). Other than that, what really stood out for us in this Inn was the great staff and their overall friendliness and the good location. I think this place is good for shorter stays (2-3 days). I don't think it would be too comfortable after that.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Anchorage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    86
    66
    22
    27
See reviews for
57
85
41
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First of all, let me say there was one helpful staff member who gave me directions to the hotel and that was nice. The location is good, the room is reasonably clean, and the restaurant is great with good service. However, I was in an upstairs room with no elevator. AND a small toddler. The steps were no small obstacle. Every time I got upstairs, my room key was demagnetized. I had to take said toddler and bags down the stairs to the desk and get the key remagnetized. I followed their directions and kept key away from phone, electronics but it still happened AT LEAST once a day. Unacceptable. They were very unapologetic. Also, the bed was uncomfortable. Bad pillows, bedding, and mattress. The TV remote would not work. The other guests were loud and had kids running around and jumping at all hours. Dogs barking, horns honking, very urban experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you have elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arkalaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. I will share your feedback with the team so we can work to improve to ensure our guests have a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were glad to have a refrigerator and the room was plenty large, but the bed was not comfortable at all.
The maid service needed to be upgraded to the making of the bed and the cleaning of the
coffee pot.
The floor felt like it needed to have the carpet cleaned and the elevator scared me at it sounded like someone hand turning a big wheel on a cable to lift it. Not kidding.
But all in all, it was a fair place to stay. The maintance man fixed the valve in the tub very quickly and that was nice.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 2 days ago
On behalf of the entire team at GuestHouse Anchorage Inn we apologize for the concerns you shared about your recent stay. I have addressed these issues with our team and I assure you we are working diligently to correct these problems. Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed here three separate occasions. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel is pet friendly. Very clean. Parking is provided in locations surrounding the motel. Breakfast is included across the street at a local restaurant. Walking distance of tourist attractions, Visitor Center. Hired time I had a room on the lye and it was a little noisy.

Room Tip: Not the alley, main building with elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking time to share about your recent stay with us! I'm glad you had a good experience and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Guesthouse is a former Days Inn. It's a convenient location, and has great shuttle to train and airport. We stayed in the tower, and we had an elevator. I did ask for a room that had not had dogs, because I am allergic. Great service. They call to make sure room is OK, they store luggage, even for 3 days while we went on excursion, and followed up on every request. Not 5 star, but they try hard and it is convenient. Bedding is pretty good. They just need to lose the old bedspreads which give it an aged look.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the tower with an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank csloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy W, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Please visit us again when you are in Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for one night. Parking is not really comfortable. You have to walk in cold and rain for parking. They don't have an elevator. We could hear noises from neighboring rooms all night and couldn't sleep at all. Not recommended. Do yourself a favor and choose a nice b&b or some other hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sktravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qb
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were looking for a place to stay before our early morning flight without paying too much and we were happy with our choice. It was great to have their shuttle pick us up from the train station (you have to call for it to pick you up) and then the shuttle to the airport was perfect. It's not a 5 star place and isn't trying to be but it was clean enough and the staff were efficient and pleasant. For the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank qbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
aviator hotel anchorage
aviator hotel anchorage
#45 of 73 in Anchorage
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#53 of 73 in Anchorage
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 73 in Anchorage
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Anchorage
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
1,468 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Address: 321 E 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2632 (Formerly Days Inn Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska may be the last frontier, but the Guesthouse Anchorage Inn means 1st class comfort, service and convenience whether on a ski trip, business or shopping trips, our central location can't be beat... Just walking distance from the arena, convention center or theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Days Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Days Inn
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing