We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Bethel, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have stayed there a few times and the staff are always very accommodating and helpful. The airport shuttle is convenient and prompt. The downtown location is great for the price. Overall they have great service, a great location, and at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    82
    64
    22
    26
See reviews for
55
81
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The room was nice. We had construction on the street just below our window. They started at 7am making it impossible to sleep after that. The free hotel parking was a huge plus and I would choose this location again if I had business in downtown Anchorage. A continental buffet would have made the stay better. Going to a restaurant prior to starting business adds much more time to my morning. The people on the desk were very professional and courteous. They made me feel at home right away. Ginger said the internet was not good. I didn't use it so I can't talk about it. This hotel would be a toss up with the hotel we normally stay at in downtown Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank akmillwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Anchorage after two weeks of camping, so any bed would have been great but ours here was especially comfortable. Walls are very thin, as they are in older hotels. Rooms are musty and not updated but seemed clean. We chose it for price and location, plus the shuttle, all of which met our needs very well. The staff was very nice. Not luxury but it got the job done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mizlocated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a 2 nights stay at Guesthouse Anchorage Inn before our Alaska cruise. Location is in downtown area. Shopping mall and restaurants are at walking distance. Very disappointed that the hallway to the room was smelly. Carpet was dirty, old and torn. Thinking that our rooms' condition would be the same. It was a relief after getting into the room. Lucky that there was no bad smell and dirty bed comforter. The bed sheet and towel are cleaned and white. Room size is adequate. There are free WiFi and airport shuttle. Hotel in Anchorage is very pricey. i couldn't complain much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longyearbyen, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My friend and I had arrived to Anchorage in the beginning of this month with nowhere to stay (long story!) and every place we called was either fully booked or too expensive. This was the only place that gave us a decent price. A shuttle bus picked us up from the airport after about an hour and a half of us waiting around, but we didn't care at the time as we really just needed to crash somewhere for 2 nights.

When we arrived at the Inn, we were greeted by super friendly staff and our bags were taken up to our room, which ended up being right next to the elevator and right across the vending machine. The room was quite spacious and the beds were okay. However, having said that, I can't imagine that this would be comfortable for more than 2-3 days. During the night, we could hear everything going on in the hallway, next door and in the parking lot, so we couldn't get that much sleep. At some point, someone pounded on our door at 3 am and scared us half to death. In the morning, we could hear everything the cleaning crew was up to in the other rooms as if it was happening in ours. I was a bit worried about us leaving our valuables in the room when we wanted to walk around the city that same day, so I padlocked everything and avoided using the safe. (I can be paranoid sometimes).

Breakfast was at a restaurant a few steps outside the Inn. We paid for it but got a 10% discount. The food was pretty good (yummy pancakes!). Other than that, what really stood out for us in this Inn was the great staff and their overall friendliness and the good location. I think this place is good for shorter stays (2-3 days). I don't think it would be too comfortable after that.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

First of all, let me say there was one helpful staff member who gave me directions to the hotel and that was nice. The location is good, the room is reasonably clean, and the restaurant is great with good service. However, I was in an upstairs room with no elevator. AND a small toddler. The steps were no small obstacle. Every time I got upstairs, my room key was demagnetized. I had to take said toddler and bags down the stairs to the desk and get the key remagnetized. I followed their directions and kept key away from phone, electronics but it still happened AT LEAST once a day. Unacceptable. They were very unapologetic. Also, the bed was uncomfortable. Bad pillows, bedding, and mattress. The TV remote would not work. The other guests were loud and had kids running around and jumping at all hours. Dogs barking, horns honking, very urban experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you have elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arkalaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were glad to have a refrigerator and the room was plenty large, but the bed was not comfortable at all.
The maid service needed to be upgraded to the making of the bed and the cleaning of the
coffee pot.
The floor felt like it needed to have the carpet cleaned and the elevator scared me at it sounded like someone hand turning a big wheel on a cable to lift it. Not kidding.
But all in all, it was a fair place to stay. The maintance man fixed the valve in the tub very quickly and that was nice.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#47 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Address: 321 East 5th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Days Inn Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska may be the last frontier, but the Guesthouse Anchorage Inn means 1st class comfort, service and convenience whether on a ski trip, business or shopping trips, our central location can't be beat... Just walking distance from the arena, convention center or theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Days Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Days Inn
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing