We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Anchorage and decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Downtown Anchorage and decent”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I normally don't review chains because they tend to be predictable. The Sheraton Anchorage however deserves comment. I hadn't stayed here in a number of years so what seems new to me may not be so new. However, when you walk in the front door you are welcomed by a nicely appointed lobby. There is a gas fireplace that is lit and welcoming. They have a nice business room with computers/printers etc. available for use just off the lobby. The bars offer inexpensive wine tastings with a good selection of decent wines available to taste. You get a small taste for $5 which is nice because you can sample a couple before ordering a glass. The rooms are normal although the bathrooms are a bit cramped. The beds are exceptionally comfortable and that is of course the primary reason you stay in a hotel - right? Easy parking is available. This is a worthy hotel in downtown Anchorage.

Room Tip: If you can manage an upgrade to the SPG club floor try to do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloften028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Traveloften028,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review from your visit. I am so glad you had a nice visit. I appreciate your complimenting us on our well-appointed lobby, exceptionally comfortable beds and convenient, easy parking. I am pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy our exceptional wine offerings during our daily Sheraton Social Hour. Thank you for commenting on the value and exceptional selection. All of us at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa are committed to providing exceptional guest service in a clean/well maintained facility. It's gratifying to read your review. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to the team.

We look forward to serving as your hosts again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    397
    261
    88
    67
See reviews for
187
353
113
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wasington
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

One thing right off the bat - the neighborhood feels very unsafe. If you walk anywhere, do it as a group especially if you're a woman. There are alot of homeless/transient in the area, and we were definitely not happy that front desk staff and security seemed to think it fine that these folks would come in and hang out in the lobby and near the rear entrance. The front desk staff, especially at night, seem more interested in their I-phones then what's going on in their hotel.
The hotel itself is ok, although in our room, the remote had to be replaced, the phone worked only periodically, the direct spa dial gives you some weird ATT connection, and although the material says there is a pay-per-view in the room, the front desk informed us "Oh yah, we don't have that anymore" Perhaps management might want to update their in-room information, which we had to call to find out where it was. (In a desk drawer) Most hotels put this info where you can see it immediately.
On the upside - the bed is excellent, and very comfortable. The maid service is very friendly. We do not however recommend room-service. Not one in our party had a good meal - two had to be sent back, and one arrived luke-warm.
The biggest plus this hotel has, is the view of the mountains on the east side. Simple spectacular, and the one 5 star feature.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view - the higher up, the better. (East facing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainerRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear RainerRock,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to post a review of your visit. I am very disappointed that some of the aspects off your stay were less than favorable. All of us at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa are committed to providing exceptional service in a clean and well maintained environment.

I will be sure to share your comments and experience (in an educational and constructive manner) with our entire service team. Our ultimate goal is to improve from each learning opportunity presented.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly so that I may gather some more specific details about your visit. I realize that you are busy, but hope that you might find the time to discuss your stay with me so that we are best able to improve from your experience.

My direct line at the hotel is 907-343-3143, or you may email me at jon.kranock@sheratonanchorage.com.

Thank you so much for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soldotna, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Managed to get a room here during Alaska Junior Olympics 2013. Room was clean, well-priced and the staff was absolutely awesome. Breakfast at the hotel was sufficient for our purposes and we slept well both nights. Thank you Sheraton!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roserph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Roserph,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from you recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad we were able to accommodate (rescue) you. It made me happy to read that you had such a nice stay. Thank you for commenting on how clean your room was, and our "awesome" staff.

I hope you enjoyed the Alaska Junior Olympics competition. Come visit again soon!

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I just stayed at the Sheraton for 9 days and I am very happy to call it home away from home. The exercise room is very nice and awesome view. The breakfast is probably one of the best in town and the staff is for sure the best in town.

The location is perfect and close to everything without being in the middle of it.

So between the staff, facilities and food I would not think of staying anyplace else.

Hope that helps,
Mike

Room Tip: There is no pool, sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Mike D,

Thank you for making us your home away from home when in Anchorage, and for posting a review from your last visit on TripAdvisor. I am so very happy that you enjoy our hotel and have had such positive experiences staying with us. Thanks too for commenting on our amazing fitness center, how tasty our food is, and our convenient location. All of us at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa are committed to providing exceptional service in a clean and well maintained environment. It's nice to hear back from guests that we are doing a good job.

I will be sure to share your comments/compliments with our entire team.

We look forward to serving as your hosts again very soon.

Thank you again for your patronage and loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed here just before my Alaskan cruise. This hotel is very convenient to most places. We walked to a lot of the downtown attractions. The views of the mountains are great. The rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Gunnermax,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review from your visit. I am so glad you had a nice visit. Thanks for commenting about our clean & spacious guest rooms, the amazing views and how conveniently located our hotel is. All of us at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa are committed to providing exceptional guest service in a clean/well maintained facility. It's gratifying to read your review. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to the team.

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Alaska and had a great time on the cruise.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I spent 4 nights here in March 2013 for a trade show (also held in the hotel convention center). Service is excellent here, at check in as well as in the restaurants. The rooms are larger than most and feature views of Anchorage and the surrounding mountains. This is my go to property in winter time as the rates are reasonable and everything you need is under one roof. Covered parking is also available.

The main downtown area is walkable in summer but in winter you will have to drive. There are not a lot of restaurants in walking distance, so be prepared for that.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentwoodBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear BrentwoodBear,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review from your visit on TripAdvisor. I am so glad you found our service exceptional, and location convenient. Thanks too for commenting on the amazing views. All of us at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa are committed to providing exceptional guest service and a clean, well maintained property for our guests.

We look forward to serving as your hosts again very soon.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel got amazing reviews, but we weren't terribly impressed. It certainly wasn't a bad experience; it's just as if the reviewers rave on as if this is a five-star resort. It's a nice hotel at best. I'm pretty sure it's the best hotel in Anchorage, though.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Laremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review from your visit on TripAdvisor. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Anchorage. We appreciate your describing our hotel as nice and for statement about your being pretty sure it's the nicest hotel in Anchorage.

We look forward to serving as your hosts again soon.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
456 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,791 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Anchorage Hotel

Property: Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Address: 401 E 6th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2696
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#21 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Anchorage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel & Spa is luxury lodging with amenities like Ice Spa, Jade Restaurant, Steak & Seafood and 24,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're near Elmendorf AFB, Sullivan Arena, and Alaska Railroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel Alaska
Anchorage Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing