We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Work as a pilot in Denali National Park every summer. Booked a 2 night stay at the Sheraton in Anchorage to celebrate a birthday. Overall, an excellent experience. The desk staff was friendly and helpful...he even upgraded our room to a nice suite. All the cool places in downtown are within walking distance. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradJBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for you kind comments. We hope that you can visit us again sometime soon. We have posted your comments where the team can enjoy them also .We are so happy that you were able to enjoy downtown Anchorage, Happy Flying!

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    381
    248
    84
    66
See reviews for
180
335
112
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
310 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We really liked this hotel. It's in a perfect location and you can easily walk into the main part of town. The beds are really comfy, the rooms are quiet and the staff is friendly. The only suggestion would be for the hotel to do a better job with the black-out curtains. In the summer it's light until late at night and sunlight comes through the sides and middle of the curtains so the room is pretty lite up (believe me...we messed with them but didn't get it to work). Overall though, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylGlendaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience. We Alaskans cherish the sunlight when we have it but I understand it can become bothersome when you are trying to sleep. We do have special black out curtains, but if they are not effective enough, then that is something that we need to address right away. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Todd Capizzo
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I am a Starwood devotee but also have Marriott loyalty, so when choosing between the two hotels for a two night stay in Anchorage, it would have been nice to know that the Sheraton is about a mile away from all of the restaurants in town.
My wife and I got our exercise on this trip.

The hotel is fine however the rooms are somewhat small (single vanity in bath and barely enough room to walk past bed) and the tv kept resetting back to the SPG channel which was annoying.

In summer in Alaska with 22 hours of daylight, better blackout blinds would have been nice as we had a constant glow of light from the sides.

The lounge was packed full of families during our stay, so most of the snacks were gone whenever we stopped by. I always find it strange how people use the lounge as a replacement for meals. The coffee is pretty bad, but I think the locals go for weak coffee anyway (even Snow City's coffee was pretty weak).

Generally I cannot recommend this place to stay. If you are choosing between the Marriott or Sheraton like I was, definitely go for the Marriott which is about a block from the city center. And I've come to realize that full service Marriott's are more equivalent to the quality of the Westin line, where the Sheraton brand is a step down.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jmdidday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. I hope that I can address some of your issues.
While we are on the “other side” of the downtown area, we are less than one block from at least 5 different bars & restaurants and within 2 to 3 blocks of many many more. We are actually the closest hotel to the Anchorage Museum of History & Art and to the largest mall in the downtown area. We are always glad to give directions and recommendations
While we do provide black out curtains if they are not working up to your expectations, that is something that I want to address with my housekeeping staff.
We so much appreciate you giving us the opportunity to take your comments and use them to make the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel & Spa a better place for you to stay.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
510 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for one night.

Location: Excellent. Nearly everything was close by.

Parking: $10/day in open lots

Building: Nice spacious lobby with two very different entrances. Has a large restaurant on one side. Elevators to the Club floor required a five-digit code.

Rooms: Normal rooms - badly need upgrading. Need more outlets, especially near the headboard. Bathroom can also use an upgrade.

Staff: Nice & professional.

Billing: Even though we have SPG Platinum, they charged us for internet, requiring us to call to get it removed. Tacky!

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKG109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments on your time with us. We are so glad that you were pleased with our location, building and above all our staff.
You will be happy to know that thanks to comments like yours we are in the process of making many upgrades to our guest rooms.
I am sorry that you had an issue with your billing. I hope that it was quickly and easily resolved. If it is not resolved or there is anything at all that I can do for you, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton. Staff was very friendly/helpful. Concierge helped us plan an awesome train/whale watching excursion.

Meals at the restaurant were good. Price was what I would expect for location/hotel.

The only thing that was a negative for us was location. We had to take a cab to get anywhere.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your great comments about our hotel and our staff. I have made sure to share it with them. I am so excited that the staff was able to make such a great adventure as Whale Watching happen for you.
I am sorry that you felt a little isolated, but we are less than one block from several bars & restaurants and only 2 or 3 from many more. We are also the closest hotel in town to the Anchorage Museum of History & Art and to the 5th Avenue Mall.

Todd Capizzo
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for one night as we had a medical emergency and had to leave early. front desk was most accommodating as we expected to have to pay for two nights. Wonderful hotel. Our room was fine and we did not experience what others said about the room. we were conveniently located just a few blocks from downtown. that was perfect for us.
our breakfast was exceptional. fresh fruit, delicious breads, cheese blintzes, and a fresh omelet station.
the staff were professional and friendly. we enjoyed our conversations with the very friendly staff. we would stay there again.
the concierge service was extremely helpful and planned a perfect day for us. we loved the fresh lemon/fruit water in the lobby and the lovely apples.
we hope to make another trip to Alaska and would only stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: just ask for a room with a mountain view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deblam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Deblam,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing feedback from your visit. So sorry you had to leave early, I hope the situation was resolved and all is well. We appreciate the exceptional rating and comments about our accommodating staff, convenient location, and the little extras (infused water in the lobby & complimentary apples at the front desk).

We hope you do get the chance to make another trip to Alaska soon. We would be thrilled to serve as your hosts again.

Take care.

Jon Kranock - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is located in a good location for most everything you would need on a trip. The lobby area was nice, the bar area served some good food and the rooms were adequate size. I did find this particular Sheraton needed some updating. One of the drawers in the rooms' dresser was broke and the bathroom tile needed some hard scrubbing. The rest of the room was fine and the continental breakfast was more than adequate. Overall it was clean but did need some renovation and upgrades.

Room Tip: This location is great for getting in and out of town. It is located on a major street but I did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Chantz52,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review from your visit. We appreciate your commenting on our convenient location, nice bar and good food. I am sorry that you had some challenges in your guest room. I was hoping you might reach out to me to share the number of the room you stayed in. I want to make sure the issues you mentioned have been addressed.

I can be reached at jon.kranock@sheratonanchorage.com or via phone at 907-343-3143.

Thanks so much for the feedback. We hope to serve as your hosts again soon.

Take care.

Jon Kranock - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#14 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Anchorage Hotel

Property: Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Address: 401 E 6th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2696
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#21 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Anchorage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel & Spa is luxury lodging with amenities like Ice Spa, Jade Restaurant, Steak & Seafood and 24,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're near Elmendorf AFB, Sullivan Arena, and Alaska Railroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel Alaska
Anchorage Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing