We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room availability”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Room availability”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived late from a long day of flying, to find out that due to a contract to Pilots, our king room suite had been given to a pilot with flight cancellations- even though we were a corporate client, paid, and confirmed 24 hours earlier for late arrival. We were told we would have to wait! The staff were friendly and apologetic, offered a meager breakfast voucher and a few $$ of one night. Got to our room finally to find two double beds and a very small room. Called the desk and we were told that was all they could do. As a Travel Professional - when my clients call to report these kinds of mishaps, I make a note to avoid using that property again. The Hotel Management should have arranged to move us to a suitable room in the morning or comped the whole night! As I said, the night Customer relations manager did what he could, but the entire management should have made other arrangements for the pilots.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelguru075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am so sorry that you had some difficulties on your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about them. I know that a flight to Anchorage can be very long and that you just want to get to your room and relax.

We do our very up-most to accommodate all of our guest requests, such as room type, floor selection, proximity to other rooms etc. But I am sure that you understand that we cannot assure each and every request.

I am happy to now that in bad situations our staff is “Friendly and apologetic” and that they are doing all they can. Please let me know what I can do to make this right for you. Please contact me by calling the hotel directly. I look Forward to hearing from you.

Again we appreciate you taking the time to let us know your experience.

Todd Capizzo
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    396
    260
    86
    67
See reviews for
187
351
112
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for only one night but the staff was great. Hotel was clean, beds were comfy and most importantly the black out curtains worked great. It was strange being somewhere where it was light until after 11. We are SPG Platinum so we were upgraded and got to be on club level and access the club. Which we have come to expect drinks and appetizers in the evening and light continental breakfast in the morning. Which it had appetizers in the evening but no alcoholic drinks. Which isn't a big deal because like I said it is a perk and something extra but a bit strange when you are used to it at other SPG hotels. We enjoyed the continental breakfast downstairs in the hotel and it was delicious! (the oatmeal, not so much) We had a great time and enjoyed all the staff. We hopefully will get a chance to visit Alaska again. My only tip is do not pay for club level as it is not worth the upgrade in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We agree that our black-our curtains are most welcome this time of year. It is true that we do not serve alcohol in the Club Lounge,however we do offer snacks and soft drinks 24 hours a day, a continental breakfast and appetizers in the evening. We hope to see you again in the future.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndonville, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The front desk staff at this hotel were the best. Very friendly and visited with us quite a bit and they were also extremely helpful when our shuttle to the airport fell through. They went above and beyond to find out why and to replace our travel with another option. The restaurant was nice with a beautiful breakfast buffet. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. I had to get some directions and they had a wifi center in the lobby, a sitting area in the lobby with a nice fireplace as well. Enjoyed some time in their bar & grill as well. Wished they had a pool and hot tub but you can't always have everything! The only down side we had is it is located on the outside of town near the train depot and when we had to walk everywhere I wished it was more centrally located downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mary,
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. We are delighted to hear that they fulfilled your expectations. I have shared this with my staff. Granted we do not have a pool, but I hope that you were able to get up to use our gym on the 15th floor with unparalleled views of the Chugiak Mountains. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Most of the chain hotels in downtown anchorage are clustered
Within a couple miles of each other. The Sheraton is a nice hotel with a bar, restaurant, simple gym and friendly staff. Got Starwood members there is a club level, it's simple but acceptable. Rooms were clean service was great.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your good comments with us especially about our service and the cleanliness of our rooms. Those thing are our top priority. I hope that you get a chance to visit us again soon.

Todd Capizzo
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not a bad location, just up 5th Street and within walking distance of downtown attractions like the mall, restaurants, etc. We redeemed 10,000 SPG points for a weekday stay in July. Not the newest or cleanest Sheraton we ever stayed at, but decent. We were told it is one of the more upscale places in Anchorage, and were happy overall. Rooms in the summer are over $300 per night which is a lot, but going rate I guess that time of year. Room was dated a bit, but clean and bed was comfortable and such. Would stay again if ever in Anchorage.

Room Tip: Higher floor room = better view of the waterfront a couple miles off in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. We particularly like to hear the thoughts and opinions of our SPG members.
Because of comments like yours, we are planning some updating and renovating very soon.
We hope that we will see you again sometime soon.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Oh, we could have stayed here our whole trip; it was sooo awesome! We got upgraded to a suite -room 1015 - with an awesome couch area and windows where you could see both the mountains and the water. Staff was incredibly nice and accommodating. Would love to come back!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaddyNie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We would love for you to come back also! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I agree that our views are some of the best in the world. I have shared your great comments with my team. I am glad that we had the opportunity to upgrade you so that you could take advantage of beautiful Alaska.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great location, terrific rooms and one of the best hotels in Anchorage. All the comforts are available in the room, from a fridge, coffee machine, microwave. Large comfortable beds and heavy curtains to block out the lights, as the is daylight until very late in Anchorage in the summer.Satelilite tv so that u can watch all your favourite stations.The only thing that bothered me was the noise of the machines outside my window - I though that it was the traffic from the streets until I looked out the window as saw the huge machines - must be from the air conditioning units of the whole building!

Room Tip: Be careful not to get the lower floors with a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd C, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We hope to see you again soon. I am especially pleased that you are happy with the room amenities such as the refrigerator, coffee machines and microwaves that we provide. We also agree that our blacks out curtains are very appreciated here in the Land of the Midnight Sun. Thank you for choosing us and I hope we can see you again.

Todd Capizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
456 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,780 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Anchorage Hotel

Property: Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Address: 401 E 6th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2696
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#21 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Anchorage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel & Spa is luxury lodging with amenities like Ice Spa, Jade Restaurant, Steak & Seafood and 24,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're near Elmendorf AFB, Sullivan Arena, and Alaska Railroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel Alaska
Anchorage Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing