We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel presents itself as clean...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The hotel presents itself as clean, modern hotel, which on the first site has no flaws. The big downside is in the room: air flow over the entry can't be switched off and is NOISY disturbing your sleep. The reason why it is there in the 1st place wasn't explained to us, especially when windows can be opened. Our complaint was handled as followed: yes, the air flow makes noise, yes it cannot be turned off. We checked out in the morning shortening our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFH75x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2010

In town for a conference and this was a fine choice. Meeting space was fine and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful once I got here. (phone service not quite as good)

I will say that while it is obvious this was renovated, it looks to me like the Hilton a short walk away was also. You are just blocks from the mall and lots of restaurant options and the staff gave great tips on good local spots.

The room is clean and the not as loud as many other hotels I've stayed in. For the length of my stay (5 days) this is a fine choice.

Pro Tip - don't eat here. Food is good but overpriced, and the Moose's Tooth Pizza is worth a cab ride or decent walk to get to. Simon & Seafort's Sallon & Grill is a local favorite as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I stayed here two nights (well actually 1 1/2, since I arrived around midnight) before taking a cruise through Alaska.

The interior design of the hotel was modern and gave a brand new feel to the place. The rooms were spacious and well decorated. They were clean all the time. Also, the blinds worked perfectly well for the amount of "daylight" during night time.

As for the location, it's a little "off-centered", but still in walking distance to the "center" of the city. I was more disappointed with the city itself that has not much to do (if m flight would not of arrived at midnight, I would of stayed one night to go directly to the cruise).

As for the service, it was ok. I asked for a pair of scissors when we arrived so we could open one of our luggages that had a plastic loop placed for security purposes at the airport, and at the front desk they insisted to return them ASAP. We did not mind returning them, but due to the time of arrival (and thinking they should have at least one more pair) it would of been "nice" to return them in the morning.

Other than that, it is a nice hotel and if you must stay in Anchorage, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelJesperson, Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2010

Dear GSdM,
Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa and for saying you would recommend us to your friends.

The five’s you gave us on Cleanliness and Rooms are very much appreciated. I APPOLAGIZE that our Guest service agent when you checked in “insisted” you return the borrowed scissors asap. While it was nice to get them back, we should have asked that you return the scissors when you had a chance.

I agree with you that “…the city itself that has not much to do.” Many of the attractions for Alaska Travelers are outside of Anchorage Proper, yet many such as the Mat Sue Glacier, Portage Glacier and Portage Lake, along with several wildlife viewing excursions are within rage for a day trip. Additionally we have a Spa on site at the hotel that offers great views of Cook Inlet and mountains.

Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa! Should you visit Anchorage again please let me know when you are coming so that I may get you more detailed information on things to do while here.

Respectfully,
Michael Jesperson
Michael.Jesperson@sheratonanchorage.com
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Our family attended our daughter's wedding in Anchorage, Ak. and we stayed at the Sheraton for 5 nights. We also held the reception there.
We had planned the wedding for over one year and the staff at the Sheraton made everything perfect. Thank you Robin and Terra.
The rooms were comfortable and the food delicious. The staff made sure everything was taken care of so the bride and groom could just relax.
Thank you Sheraton for a wonderful dream come true!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennesseerob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I only spent one night at the hotel but it was an enjoyable stay. The room was fresh and more importantly clean. While, I hope that I never have to return to Alaska I did enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekurtstrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

A very average Sheraton. The lobby smells like smoke. You could tell that this was an older hotel that was redone. Everything about it is pretty average. The room was ok but nothing special. It isn't in the best part of Anchorage but then again Anchorage doesn't offer much, just a stopping off place after a flight on your way to Alaska adventures.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This is a nice place, it looks great and on our arrival the staff is friendly and helpful. The problem started when I asked about a shuttle to downtown on the phone with the operator, I was told there isn't one from the hotel but i could pay for one. When I asked the bellman he said there was and told me how to catch it, this was after we walked 28 blocks sight seeing.

Second problem is the noise, I know it isn't really the hotels fault but they put two room full of screaming kids across and next to us. they were up at 3am and would not shut up. The hotel was indifferent when I mentioned it to them at the desk the next morning. The family will be here a few more days.

This is a nice place, overpriced as most of them are but still ok. For that I won't say don't use them, just make sure to ask for rooms with no kids next door.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonDurrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,900 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#16 of 74 in Anchorage
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
710 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
616 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Anchorage Hotel

Address: 401 E 6th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2696
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#21 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £83 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Anchorage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel & Spa is luxury lodging with amenities like Ice Spa, Jade Restaurant, Steak & Seafood and 24,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're near Elmendorf AFB, Sullivan Arena, and Alaska Railroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel Alaska
Anchorage Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing