We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and convenent to downtown.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Voyager Inn
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Gasquet, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value and convenent to downtown.”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Price was fair considering the cost of others in the downdown area. Facility is all non-smoking but you can smell the smoke from the bar/restaurant below when you ride the elevator. Not a big deal since it does not reach the room. Facility is worn down a bit but clean and roomy. Very convenient to downtown shopping district and attractions and the Hertz rental car place is right accross the street. We rented a car for one day (quite spendy) but were able to just take it back and park it in the garage later that night and not worry about finding or paying for street or lot parking. Was worth the extra cash to get to sightsee a bit and drive out to the Native Heritage Center (a must see). Make sure to buy the travel discount book. We used it several times and it payed for itself. LOL I sound like a commercial for them. I did lose mine and they have no means to re-issue the book, so don't lose it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terriccha46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    100
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
51
103
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Large room, very comfortable bed, updated bathroom, small kitchenette, fast free internet, but breakfast bar was pretty sad - a couple of pastries, muffins, orange juice and a broken down coffee/hot water machine. Lots of parking across the street. Very friendly front desk service when I checked in.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ctkitty555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We have just returned form our Alaska vacation which finished off with 2 nights at this hotel. The hotel is located very central to downtown Anchorage within minutes drive of the Alaska Railroad station ($5.00 taxi ride only because we didn't feel like pulling our suitcases uphill but it is only a few blocks to walk). The hotel also provides free shuttle to the airport on the hour (about 10-15 minute drive). Hotel staff were very friendly our housekeeper was very cheerful. The room was very large (almost like a bachelor suite) and included kitchenette with microwave and fridge. The bathroom was modern and very clean. We were on the second floor overlooking the street and found it to be very quiet. We did not notice any noise at all. Pastries, coffee and juice were complimentary in the small lobby each morning until 0900 and there were numerous restaurants and cafés within a few blocks of easy walking. There is a fine dining restaurant on site for dinner however we did not go there. Wifi was included and we had rapid connection in our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We loved this place. The rooms were huge and included a kitchenette which we would have made good use of had we stayed longer. The floor to ceiling window let in plenty of natural light and the curtains blocked out the midnight sun as required.

This is easily the best value in Anchorage, especially during the peak summer season when prices are ridiculously high across the whole city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The room was clean and comfortable. It was located downtown off of 5th and K. A little close to busy roads and will be noisy if patio doors left open. We did enjoy our stay. We tried to stay another night but they were sold out. We got a good price for a Sunday, but the rates jumped 50% for the next night. Interesting how that works. We would stay again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricovaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We arrived early but as our room was ready we were allowed access. We stayed 3 nights and found the room very clean and spacious, however it was an accessible room. The staff were friendly and attentive. On our final day we could leave our luggage in their storage area until late in the evening when we took the free airport shuttle. The hotel was ideally located for renting bikes and close to the coastal trail as well as being in easy walking distance of downtown. There was a modest breakfast available. Reasonably priced laundry facilities existed on the first floor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oldtravellerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

If you are like me and look for the best value for the money, you can't go wrong by staying at the Rodeway Inn Anchorage. When planning my 4 night Alaska vacation, I did a lot of research and was not pleased with the high prices of accomodation in Anchorage. I was surprised that one has to pay in excess of $100 (for the 4th of July weekend) for hotels/motels that would normally cost $60 - $80 in other parts of the country. Having said that, of all the hotels I researched, the Rodeway Inn had the best rating for the price (I paid $150), and I was very happy with what I got. The rooms are huge for a hotel of this price range and the location is perfect. The other, larger hotels are closer to the raiway station and the "core" of downtown, but we are only talking about a couple of small city blocks. We had a car and parked on the street. I was pleased to learn that the hotel has a $10 a day deal with the parking lot next door, but the meter parking outside was sufficient for us. As other posts have indicated, the continental breakfast is basically non-existent, but this just gives you a reason to go to the Snow City Cafe which is a block and a half away and an awesome place to dine with the locals.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank okakun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,672 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
354 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
500 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Property: The Voyager Inn
Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2027 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Voyager Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms and suites await your stay at The Voyager Inn. Located in the heart of Downtown Anchorage, The Voyager Inn is just steps away from the city’s best shops, parks, restaurants and cultural attractions. Guests will enjoy complimentary onsite parking, free Wi-Fi and access to the Athletic Clubs at the neighboring Hotel Captain Cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage
The Voyager Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing